Ratings based on 194 verified reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 16 Sep 2019
We stayed in the Sportsman Lodge which was reminiscent of a poorly constructed 60s motel. Not at all worth the price. However, the breakfast was spectacular.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 14 Sep 2019
Beautiful setting by the Tay.Would like to spend more time there!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 9 Sep 2019
Situation in lovely treed grounds above river Tay.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 7 Sep 2019
The service! And such kind people. The place looks like you stepped back in time. We loved our time there. My emails were always answered promptly and my room was perfect. A view of the river and manor house. Tammy Ps. You have to book dinner!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 29 Aug 2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 20 Aug 2019 on Hotels
Stayed in the sportsman lodge, beautiful scenery and so quiet. Lovely nights sleep. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Wenham. MA USA

Posted 20 Aug 2019
Lovely old estate. Great fishing. Great food. Friendly personal service.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Not great stay very tired room

Posted 19 Aug 2019 on Hotels
Arrived at hotel at 2pm to check in met by friendly lady st the desk. We were in room 20 the furthest room from reception a twin as last room available for that night! Room was clean but very tired and didn’t feel pleasant at all. Bathroom was clean. Housekeeping came to room and gave us a bottle of warm white wine which was supposed to be in room on arrival. Don’t know what we were supposed to do with it!!! No wine bucket and no glasses so not worth having!! Actually saw them lying in housekeeping cupboard!! The beds need replacing the mattresses were extremely poor and we had a terrible sleep. Clean linen but the throw on the end seemed old and we put them on the floor. Breakfast good choice but lack of staff! Had to sit on edge of dining chair as I think I would have gone through it. Such a shame as it’s in a fab location! If we had been there for a romantic getaway it would have been terrible! Don’t think we will go back unless guaranteed a significantly better room.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18 Aug 2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Good Country house hotel with excellent food

Posted 18 Aug 2019 on Hotels
Very nice short stay. We had dinner on the first night - excellent meal: a fixed price selection with a series of small mid courses with a very high quality and good value. One minor complaint was that we were advised that it was formal dining so I brought a jacket only to find a few diners show up in t shirts. Don’t mind the t shirts but I wouldn’t have brought a jacket! Maybe have two dining rooms?.. anyway very good overall and lots of great fishing apparently from the fishermen holidaying there.