Ratings based on 79 verified reviews

3.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 10 Nov 2019
God location. Good rooms. Toilets were adequate, price was very reasonable for Parnell, Auckland. Very good cafes closeby, bars, bistros close to busses to town, awesome modern cathedral and old wooden cathedral closeby.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 19 Sep 2019
Didn't like that the rooms were too small and the showers were not the best as people could look under the bottom of the doors and it was very non warming as I was asked a million and one questions then went up to the room and there was nothing to say welcome to your room
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 15 Jul 2019 on Hotels
Older building and could use a few updates, but not bad for one or couple of nights stay.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

I would Highly Recommend

Posted 26 Mar 2019 on Hotels
Perfect place to rest and regroup before my flight home.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 8 Mar 2019 on Wotif
great staff, great location, a beautiful outdoor area.
Comment from Hotel Management
13 Mar 2019 by Denish, Hotel Management
Thanks for giving us perfect score. Hope to see you again. Denish, Rooms Manager
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 7 Mar 2019 on Wotif
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 2 Jan 2019
The hotel need to be demolish , it to old and it a bad spot to have a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
6 Jan 2019 by Denish, Hotel Management
Thanks Dear,for your review. We are upgrading our rooms, facilities and services very soon. Please do visit next time to have pleasant stay. Denish , Rooms Manager
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from gold coast

Posted 18 Nov 2018
OMG i was in for a shock. That photo does not show you the ramshakle place that it is nor the dirt, nor the smells it was an experience. But cheap. But I think they should have paid me to stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
6 Jan 2019 by Denish, Hotel Management
Thanks Margaret,for your review. We are upgrading our rooms, facilities and services very soon. Please do visit next time to have pleasant stay. Denish , Rooms Manager
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Free wi-fi was best thing here.

Posted 6 Jun 2018 on Hotels
Honestly, I did not enjoy my stay here. I checked into a spacious room but it was giving me the creeps that I asked to be relocated to another room. Which was all the way in the back of the house, still creeped out, I asked if they can just put me in a dorm. I didn't care if I overpaid on the room. I was put in a dorm room with three males- was told it was a co-ed. I didn't care if it was co-ed but the fact that one of the men there made it known that he was upset at me being in the room by making these constant huffing sounds and being absolutely LOUD about everything he was doing. It was uncomfortable but I did not want to inconvenience the front desk anymore. In the morning, I overhead a conversation between a female guest and front desk reception stating that she paid to be in an all female dorm but why was a man put in there. I wonder if this was what happened with me as well. ***If you are trying to get some rest without headphones, good luck. You can hear everything from the dorm rooms, especially people on mobile conversations sitting on the stair well. The single rooms are worn down. This place is in dire need of a refresh. My first room's closet looked as if something crawled its way out of the ceiling. It was extremely cold and no proper place to plug in the heater. The local area is great. Lots of restaurants and galleries to enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
9 Jul 2018 by Denish, Hotel Management
Thanks Liliane, for your time to review about city garden lodge. We are in process of upgrading our facilities and services. We hope to see you again soon. So, we can assist you in better way. Denish Tamakuwala, Rooms Manager
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Houston

Posted 22 May 2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
24 May 2018 by Denish, Hotel Management
Thanks Anton. See you next time