Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from CA California

Nice hotel.

Posted 02-Sep-2016
Nice walkway in back of the hotel. Hotel smelled like marijuana, though they have a strict no smoking policy. Very minimal breakfast options.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Sep-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking some time to share your experience with us. Please accept my apology about the smoke odor you smelled. You are correct as we do have a strict no smoking policy. Our staff will be informed to be proactive to make sure guests are not smoking on the premises. Overall, I am glad you were able to have a decent stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from me

Prejudice mess

Posted 30-Aug-2016
Went in to a smoker room and they charged me 250 because it smelled like weed I'm an RN and the lady at the desk looked me up and down and refused my refund DONT EVER STAY HERE!
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Salem OR

Safe and quiet

Posted 28-Aug-2016
View of marina out my window was an unexpected pleasure. Skimpy breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Sep-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I'm disappointed our grab-and-go breakfast was not to your liking, but it is pleasing to know you enjoyed the view and your stay. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Reno, NV

Good location for Oak

Posted 11-Aug-2016
Cons: Cleaner floors, more food choices
Beds were firm, clean. Breakfast options minimal, good coffee. Desk person was fine, but not much to say.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your experience. I am disappointed your floor was not clean to standards and you found our grab-and-go breakfast lacking in choices. Our staff will be made aware on making sure cleaning issues do not fall through the cracks. Overall, it is great to know you were well accommodated and received excellent customer service. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

average experience

Posted 01-Aug-2016
the property was located next to a nice marina. the grab and go breakfast is a joke. staff was inept when it came to making and having enough coffee. tell them u out need coffee and they vacuum instead. front desk staff at times got a little "attitude" room was fine. Kitchen dated
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Aug-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the staff had an attitude. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast. In response to your feedback, I am going to speak to all staff members to ensure the breakfast and coffee is full at all times during the hours of operation. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 31-Jul-2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Supposed to have a non smoking room, but the whole hotel was smoking. Everything I owned smelled like a dirty ashtray.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Aug-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that all of your belongings smelled like smoke from being placed into a smoking room. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Monterey CA

Nice hotel at the Marina

Posted 18-Jul-2016
Pros: Nice quiet location on the Marina, nice room and they take dogs.
Cons: Their advertising for one. And not honoring the details of their reservations,
Location: It's a cute little town full of Victorians and good food. Close to Berkeley, San Francisco and Oakland's Cinatown.
Checked in and was given a room on the fourth floor which turned out to be the smoking floor. My confirmation receipt indicated non smoking. Asked for a different floor and was told that the hotel was booked. I said I reserved a non smoking room and they would have to find something for me. I was told that rooms were released on a "first come first served" basis and a non smoking room was not available. I said that was unacceptable, so they took a half hour and found me a room on a non smoking floor. Maid service is available only if you stay there eight days or more, so no one comes to clean the room, empty the trash or give you fresh towels. You have to give your used towels to the front desk to get fresh. The ad says free breakfast which was granola bars and juice. It also advertises full kitchen, there was a sink, microwave, stovetop and fridge but no cutlery, dishes, glasses, pans etc. Turns out you have to go to the front desk to get those as well. Too many trips to the front desk so we made do with grabbing towels from the maid's cart, made our own beds and left 3 days of trash in a large plastic bag. The wifi was so weak we had to purchase the upgrade to work on our tablets.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were placed in a smoking room. Although you booked a non-smoking room, this is just a preference and not a guarantee. Unfortunately we do not provide housekeeping for any stay less than 8 nights and do a towel swap at the front desk. You are able to book a housekeeping plus package on our website which provides housekeeping everyday. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 15-Jul-2016
Lady working in front is very rude. Seems like she hates her job! Not helpful at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The service issues you described are regrettable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I will be retraining our front desk staff to ensure that we are providing each guest with professional and prompt customer service. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Los Angeles

Nice, on the Marina...

Posted 13-Jul-2016
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: More channels on TV.
Location: Went to San Francisco, Oakland, Piedmont, Berkeley, Sausalito. Easy access to freeways.
Great time...easy to find. Loved the room on 3rd floor overlooking the boats in the Marina. Easy checkin. Great bed firmness. Shower was perfect, instant hot water. Kitchen was nice size. Nice to have a full fridge in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Teri - Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and found us to be a great value. We hope to see you again soon.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 04-Jul-2016
It has parking and you cross to San Francisco in minutes!
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our complimentary parking and that our location was conveniently located to San Francisco. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.