Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Monterey CA

Nice hotel at the Marina

Posted 18-Jul-2016
Pros: Nice quiet location on the Marina, nice room and they take dogs.
Cons: Their advertising for one. And not honoring the details of their reservations,
Location: It's a cute little town full of Victorians and good food. Close to Berkeley, San Francisco and Oakland's Cinatown.
Checked in and was given a room on the fourth floor which turned out to be the smoking floor. My confirmation receipt indicated non smoking. Asked for a different floor and was told that the hotel was booked. I said I reserved a non smoking room and they would have to find something for me. I was told that rooms were released on a "first come first served" basis and a non smoking room was not available. I said that was unacceptable, so they took a half hour and found me a room on a non smoking floor. Maid service is available only if you stay there eight days or more, so no one comes to clean the room, empty the trash or give you fresh towels. You have to give your used towels to the front desk to get fresh. The ad says free breakfast which was granola bars and juice. It also advertises full kitchen, there was a sink, microwave, stovetop and fridge but no cutlery, dishes, glasses, pans etc. Turns out you have to go to the front desk to get those as well. Too many trips to the front desk so we made do with grabbing towels from the maid's cart, made our own beds and left 3 days of trash in a large plastic bag. The wifi was so weak we had to purchase the upgrade to work on our tablets.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were placed in a smoking room. Although you booked a non-smoking room, this is just a preference and not a guarantee. Unfortunately we do not provide housekeeping for any stay less than 8 nights and do a towel swap at the front desk. You are able to book a housekeeping plus package on our website which provides housekeeping everyday. Thank you for your feedback regarding the breakfast Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 15-Jul-2016
Lady working in front is very rude. Seems like she hates her job! Not helpful at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The service issues you described are regrettable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I will be retraining our front desk staff to ensure that we are providing each guest with professional and prompt customer service. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Los Angeles

Nice, on the Marina...

Posted 13-Jul-2016
Pros: Location, price.
Cons: More channels on TV.
Location: Went to San Francisco, Oakland, Piedmont, Berkeley, Sausalito. Easy access to freeways.
Great time...easy to find. Loved the room on 3rd floor overlooking the boats in the Marina. Easy checkin. Great bed firmness. Shower was perfect, instant hot water. Kitchen was nice size. Nice to have a full fridge in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Teri - Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen and found us to be a great value. We hope to see you again soon.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 04-Jul-2016
It has parking and you cross to San Francisco in minutes!
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jul-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our complimentary parking and that our location was conveniently located to San Francisco. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 12-Jun-2016
We checked into our hotel and they had given our none smoking room away so the room smelt horrable. The staff did nothing to help us out. Other than that it was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jun-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your non-smoking room smelled of cigarettes. This is unacceptable and I will be meeting with our team to ensure this doesn't happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Camarillo, Ca

Nice hotel in a safe area. Nice for families.

Posted 24-May-2016
The quality of the rooms are good and the staff is helpful, but if you're looking to have a good breakfast to start your day off, than this is not the place to stay. The breakfast spread is the weakest I've seen to date.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-May-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that our grab-and-go breakfast was not to your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our corporate office. Still, I am glad to read that you had a great stay overall and enjoyed our friendly customer service. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Central Valley, CA

It was fine for rating but not anything above.

Posted 21-May-2016
Pros: It was a decent area with close to Target shopping center and eating areas. It is clean and room is neat and tidy.
Cons: Have a restroom in the lobby and someone at front desk. Don't charge a $100 deposit, if prepaid stay through Expedia.
Location: Close to Target shopping area and eating areas. It is near a great location.
There is no restroom in the lobby, so you have to wait to check-in to access the one in your room. There was no one at front desk, had to speak out to get their attention. Seems the front desk also does the laundry because the laundry room is next to front desk. If you prepaid stay through Expedia, then you are asked for a $100 deposit. This is ridiculous because if you prepay and still have to leave deposit, seems odd. This is not a motel but a hotel. The walls are thin and can hear the flush of the toilet of the next room. It was a decent area with close to Target shopping center and eating areas. It is clean and room is neat and tidy.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-May-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. I will make sure to share your comments with our front desk staff to ensure we are providing each guest with professional and prompt customer service. I will also review our billing procedures with our front desk staff. Still, I am glad to read that you had a satisfactory stay overall and enjoyed our convenient location. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Diamond Bar

Close to Alameda Landing

Posted 19-May-2016
Good location but smoking is allowed and apparently pets as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-May-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues you experienced. We are a pet friendly hotel and we will be converting to an entirely nonsmoking property during our next renovation. Still, I am glad to read that you had a positive stay overall and enjoyed our convenient location. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Close to stores and public transportation.

Posted 03-May-2016
Excellent location for public transportation and I felt very safe in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-May-2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I'm so pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs with a comfortable stay and a convenient location. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4out of 5
by SHANNOn

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 26-Apr-2016 on Hotels