Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from leeds

Lovely

Posted 13-Oct-2016
Location: Short drive to park and ride
Lovely but restaurant menu was a bit disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Nov-2016 by Christophe , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel. I am pleased you had a lovely stay. I am sorry to learn that you weren't taken by the menu in the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to our head Chef. We do also have a bar menu which guests can use for dinner too. This may be of interest to you for your next visit, should you decide to return. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Lovely place, welcoming

Posted 08-Sep-2016 on Hotels
Stayed here a few years ago and really enjoyed so decided to book again. Great welcome in reception, friendly and welcoming. I stayed in old wing this time (last time new wing was very nice), rooms look a little tired and door has big gap underneath so you can hear everything in corridor. Food and beer good, nice relaxing place. Spa needs a facelift looks tired and needs a little money spent on it... Overall I would still recommend this hotel but Q Hotels please spend a little money on upgrading it as next time the review would be harsher!
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Sep-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us here at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel. I am pleased overall you had a lovely stay and found the team to be welcoming. You may be pleased to know we are due to commence some soft refurbishments throughout the hotel this year. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Aug-2016 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights to break journey north and see Yorkshire. Hotel was ok but not outstanding. Very much a golfers hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Sep-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I hope you had an enjoyable stay with us and had the opportunity to visit the lovely city of York and Harrogate. I hope to welcome you back to Aldwark Manor again in the future. Yours sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 08-Aug-2016
Very disappointed with standard of breakfast on both mornings.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Aug-2016 by Christophe Gitton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I will look into the issues with breakfast and ensure standards are kept high. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Derby

Lovely setting

Posted 05-Aug-2016
Pros: We really enjoyed the golf course and the breakfast was great.
Cons: The only thing that could be improved of the things we experienced would be the bathroom facilities in the room. The shower did not work.
Location: The hotel is conveniently located and there is a great local pub which serves excellent food. It is also close to York.
The hotel is in a lovely location with great facilities on offer although we only took advantage of the the golf course. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was clean and quietly located in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Aug-2016 by Christophe Gitton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding the bathroom facilities, we have taken guest feedback on board and are carrying out soft refurbishments throughout the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Harrogate

Nice staff, but hotel needs some improvement...

Posted 26-Jul-2016
We recently stayed at Aldwark Manor folowing a 25th Anniversary party. The grounds are lovely and the hotel looks great on approach. Check in was fine, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. As we were travelling with our 4 month old child, we planned to check in and then go for a swim before getting ready for the evening. We immediately found a few issues with the room. The room temperature was astronomical. The room was also very very small and we struggled to even get the push chair in the room so that we could close the door. The windows in the room were wide open, so the hotel.obviously knew the room was hot, but opening the windows had filled the room with flies and spiders. There was a travel cot set up next to the bed, but there was no mattress. Instead, there was just a sheet wrapped around the collapsible hard Base of the cot. We immediately had to ask for cushions to fashion a Base for the cot, a fan to try and cool down the room and a hairdryer (as it was missing). The room itself was tired and the bathroom needed replacing. The enamelast on the bath was all chippeday and there was no surface space in the bathroom at all. Definitely not as spacious and modernised as the website would lead you to believe. Room aside, the rest of the the hotel seems in good condition. The pool area was good and the bar comfortable. Staff were again very polite and helpful. We did encounter some accessibility issues as stairs block the entrance to the spa area.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Aug-2016 by Christophe Gitton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with regards to the room and cot. Our family rooms are quite spacious and there should have been plenty of room for a pushchair, I am sorry that you had difficulties with this. your constructive comments have been taken on board and I will liaise with the teams concerned. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon and we can look at finding a more suitable room to meet your requirements. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
4out of 5
by Michael from Dorset

Posted 28-Jun-2016 on Hotels
On the whole good, staff friendly and helpful. Bathroom needs more attention to cleanliness, very dirty near glass shower screen.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We have plans in place for some soft refurbishments throughout the hotel. Hopefully, should you wish to return to Aldwark Manor in the future, you will be able to see the difference. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
5out of 5
by Thomas from Brussels

Back again, for Zen at the Manor

Posted 17-May-2016 on Hotels
very enjoyable stay, as always in one of our favourite UK retreats. the serenity, style and staff friendliness contribue to the overall feeling of relaxation. Ideal location in the countryside with a golf course en suite and the leisure centre gets it just right with its amenities. One small thing - the overall elegance of the manor is slightly compromised by the more modern style of the restaurant. Fine for breakfast bit for that complete eating out experience it would be more appropriate to transfer the restaurant (dinner) to one (or two) of the rooms adjoing the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Jun-2016 by Christophe Gitton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your comments, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your constructive feedback. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the staff. We will certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from West Yorkshire

Great hotel in beautiful setting

Posted 24-Apr-2016
Pros: Most of the staff are very welcoming and seem happy at their work The bedroom is clean and roomy and the temperature is at a pleasant level .
Cons: The hot food area nowhere near large enough
Location: There is a lovely pub in the village that has good food and cheery staff.Places of interest nearby are Ampleforth Abbey, Coxwold and Dutch House,Cryke
Second visit to this hotel . Reception staff always welcoming and helpful . The breakfast had plenty of choice both hot and cold food. Unfortunately the hot food area was too small. The bacon was in a not very large dish and as soon as the waiter brought the dish from the kitchen it was emptied by guests waiting for it, The waiter spent all his time going back and forth - and didn't look too happy about it. The guests turning up at the table with no bacon and other guests telling them the waiter was bringing more soon , didn't seem too pleased but it might have helped if the waiter had apologised for the wait and not look as though he was doing job he didn't want to do, There was a large container for scrambled egg which would have been better used for bacon.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Apr-2016 by Christophe Gitton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us here at Aldwark Manor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the staff to be very helpful. Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast service, I will ensure they are addressed. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Yours Sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from County Durham

Lovely location

Posted 28-Mar-2016
This hotel is in a lovely location, very secluded and with beautiful scenery. The food we had in the restaurant was brilliant and not overly expensive. The pool area could do with some attention in areas to make it even better including getting loungers which are not flat on the floor as it was extremely different to get in them/ out of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Mar-2016 by Christophe Gitton, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and constructive feedback. This is extremely valuable to us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours sincerely, Christophe Christophe Gitton General Manager