Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
28% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Virginia Beach, VA

Cost too much

Posted 11-Jan-2017
Pros: The room was nice and clean.
Cons: The refrigerator needed to be cleaned. There was mold on the inside of it.
There was no info on addl price for my pets. I ended up paying twice the amount pf the original stay. I could have gone to another hotel that already had the pet fees included. I won't make the mistake of staying at this hotel or any Howard Johnsons again. The fees should be included in the price. Not addl.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jan-2017 by Jack Randeria, Hotel Management
thanks for staying with us and working on pet fees. Expedia pays only for the room charges. Incidenttal charges like pet fees, extra rollway bed, long distance calls etc are treated as incidental charges which are to be borne by the guests normally in practice in business. We will definitely try to keep the refrigerator clean inside and around the area.we regret the incovienance yoy had during your stay.
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Virginia Beach

Posted 07-Dec-2016
The front desk staff is very friendly. Check in was quick and the location is in a safe neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Dec-2016 by JACK RANDERIA, Hotel Management
thanks for your valued feedback .we try to make the guests stay as comfortable as possible.
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Virginia Beach

Posted 04-Dec-2016
I just stayed here during my days off from work. Room was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Dec-2016 by JACK RANDERIA, Hotel Management
thanks for your valued feedback.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Alabama

Bugs

Posted 02-Dec-2016
Hard beds. Towels smelt like cig smoke even though the room was no smoking. Roaches everywhere. First room we got, the smoke detector batteries was low so it was beeping. Told the last up front and she said maintenance couldn't be there to fix it till morning. I told her we couldn't sleep with it alarming and she got mad and said they didn't even any more rooms available but I informed her that I could see 4 rooms next to that one with no one in it. She finally changed us to another one. Breakfast was boring. Just toast, bagels, danishes, and 2 cereals. Will never book again.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Do not recommend

Posted 27-Nov-2016
Pros: Close to the base
Cons: Needs updated, needs properly cleaned and sprayed for bugs
Location: Close to restaurants and the base
Hotel was cheap. Our room was infested with roaches. We killed a few large roaches and about 20 baby roaches. We talked to the staff and they moved us to a new room on the 2nd floor. The new room was much cleaner and roach free. Although the staff was friendly and moved us to a new room. I would not stay here again due to the fact there were roaches all over the dresser and nightstands.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 21-Nov-2016 on Hotels
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

The room was filthy.No hot water

Posted 14-Nov-2016
This hotel is the nastiest I have stayed in in years. When we arrived, the clerk brought clean (extremely dirty and stained) sheets. When we went to the manager the next morning, we found that he didn't seem to care that nothing as done. I have a sweater that is ruined from putting it in the tub (huge leak), here was no hot water (I wouldn't have eaten anything in there anyway), and the manager refused to refund or comp a night at another hotel in the chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Nov-2016 by Jack - Manager, Hotel Management
Madam, In this case,I personally took care with you and the refund was immediately given .you have to call expedia(hotel.com)your travelling agent, since we have issued refund to them as it was pre-paid by you to them.regets for the inconvienance you had during your stay.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Virginia beach, Virginia

Very poor hotel

Posted 13-Nov-2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The guy at the front desk was very nice, everything else was very poor
Cons: The room smell and the place just was dirty, carpet filthy , towels had hair on them
Location: Nothing
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Nov-2016 by Jack - Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. we will hard on the issues you had. we are renovating the rooms as well as hotel.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Virginia beach

great place friendly staff

Posted 12-Nov-2016 on Hotels
very clean and nice hotel , great staff
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Nov-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. we work hard to keep the guest happy.Thanks for choosing us.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great hotel friendly staff

Posted 11-Nov-2016 on Hotels
great stay jack the manager was great .
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Nov-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank for your feedback we work hard to make the guest happy. Thanks for choosing us.