Ratings based on 3,998 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Direct bij Times Quare

Posted 20-Feb-2017
Minpunt is dat je bijna €25 per dag moet bijbetalen voor zogenaamd faciliteiten. Ook de gereserveerde taxi vraagt bijbetaling vanwege tunnel tol maar liefst €20.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from new york

Doesn't look like picture

Posted 16-Feb-2017
The hotel doesn't look the way the picture shows. Do not be fooled. The room was tiny and the furniture was outdated. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. The elevator was tiny and so was the bed. Ive gotten bigger rooms for the money I spent on This hotel. Not impressed
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Feb-2017 by Edward M, Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We are very sorry that the room size was not up to your standards. As with many New York Hotels, some of the rooms are on the smaller side because of the age of the buildings. Were you able to talk to the front desk about seeing some other rooms or inquiring about upgrade options? We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel Mela!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Salt Lake City, Utah

Great hotel close to Times Square

Posted 15-Feb-2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, location
Had a great stay and the hotel and staff were very nice. About two blocks from Times Square but far enough away that it was quiet. We took the red eye in and the hotel staff let us check our bags with them even though check in wasn't until 3. Room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was nice. Definitely better then where I had stayed last time I was in New York. Would definitely stay there again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Feb-2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again and all the best!
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Convenient location to everything in NYC

Posted 15-Feb-2017
Staff accommodated every need! Clean room! And good location with reasonable price!
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Feb-2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average. We do hope and trust that your future travel plans to NYC do include Hotel Mela so we can truly demonstrate what a great hotel this is! Thanks again and all the best!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from R

Posted 12-Feb-2017
Muy bien situado buen personal y la habitación estupenda
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Feb-2017 by John S. , Hotel Management
Hola Sergio, Muchas gracias por su reciente estancia en Hotel Mela y por tomarse el tiempo para compartir su experiencia con la comunidad en línea. Estamos encantados de que nos proporcionó una experiencia perfecta y superó sus expectativas en todas las áreas. Esperamos y confiamos en que esta experiencia te hace un huésped leal de Hotel Mela cuando tus viajes te lleven a Nueva York. Gracias de nuevo por sus comentarios y le deseamos lo mejor!
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Worst hotel in midtown. Period.

Posted 11-Feb-2017
I travel to midtown frequently and have stayed at many hotels. This is the absolute worst experience I've had as a customer. Will never make that mistake again.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Feb-2017 by John S. , Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. It's truly unfortunate that you did not take this opportunity to provide constructive and specific feedback as to how we can improve. We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel Mela!
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice location, period

Posted 10-Feb-2017
The corridors smell marihuana hotel staff have to take responsibility and put out people who smoke, is really disgusting that smell inside a hotel, the location was great but the service won't , and by the way they charge to much for room cleaning
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Feb-2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We do our best to investigate whenever there is a complaint about smoking. We charge a penalty fee of $330 to any guest that is caught smoking. There are incidents where we are not able to find out who is smoking until the guest has already checked out. I do understand how this can compromise the enjoyment of your visit. We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Mela! Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Kitchener

Great hotel great location service was perfect!

Posted 09-Feb-2017
Highly recommend this great hotel which could not be more centrally located to Time Square and the theatre district!
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Feb-2017 by Edward M., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. we are very pleased that you found the location to be to your standards. Times Square is a great area to visit because there is so much to do in addition to it being centrally located in the city. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again and all the best!
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 06-Feb-2017
Great experience, clean room, comfortable, excellent location.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Feb-2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again and all the best!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Clean hotel in a great location.

Posted 06-Feb-2017
This is my second visit and I loved it more than the first.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Feb-2017 by Edward M, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. We are thrilled that we provided a PERFECT experience and exceeded your expectations in all areas. We are thrilled that you loved this stay even more than the first! We will be sure to pass this message along to all of our team members. We do hope and trust this experience makes you a loyal guest of Hotel Mela whenever your travels bring you to NYC. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best!