Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Willards, MD

Newly Renovated In-town Gem

Posted 22-Aug-2016
Our room was clean and comfortable and recently renovated with a local woodsy theme. The friendly staff shared menus from local restaurants all within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Aug-2016 by glenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the great review. I have a great front desk staff here to help make your stay enjoyable. We hope you had a great time while in the Black Hills area.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Minnesota

Ok hotel, nice being downtown

Posted 07-Aug-2016
Beds were very hard, breakfast juice machine was broken so juice was unavailable. Clean hotel, ok stay for the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Aug-2016 by glenda, Hotel Management
We are so sorry the juice machine was broken! Things always happen on the weekend it seems. We did go buy juice at the store but not in time while you were having breakfast. We do hope you had a wonderful time in the Black Hills. We do appreciate you staying with us.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 05-Aug-2016
Great staff, convenient location. Good jump off point for the Black Hills.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Aug-2016 by glenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you staying with us and we are happy to hear you had a great stay. We are in a great location for all the attractions and activities in the hills. Hope to see you again in the future.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Phoenix

Good Hotel in the middle of town

Posted 31-Jul-2016
Pros: Location, comfort and clean. Management nice.
Cons: Older property but clean and comfortable with the exception of the bathroom wall creaking at night.
Location: Near Mount Rushmore, Caves, sightseeing and Crazy Horse. Lots of history.
Check in was easy and the manager was friendly and helpful. The rooms were small and dated but clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom wall for unknown reasons creaked at night. Access easy to get in from two sides. Security door worked. There was a parade and lots going on right in the middle of town for gold rush days. Nice of them to throw a parade for me. I was surprised I got a room at this time. Had to take time to watch the parade. Breakfast was good. First time I saw someone , an adult, come to breakfast in PJ's. Glad he wore them. We all want to do that. I would stay here again. People are friendly in this town.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Aug-2016 by Glenda, Hotel Management
That you so much for sharing your experience. We appreciate you staying with us and are so glad you had fun in our little town. The parade is so much fun and so many people and businesses participate. We are so happy to hear you had a great stay. We hope you had a wonderful time in the Black Hills and we see you again in the future.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Indiana

Worth the money

Posted 26-Jun-2016
I really enjoyed my stay here. Custer is a nice little town to stay in and this place was while older was clean and comfortable. The parking wasn't great. Small lot. The dryer broke when I was using it. Can't fault the hotel though. Things do break from time to time. Overall it was pleasant.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Jun-2016 by Glenda, Hotel Management
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We are so sorry about the dryer! Things break and its never a good time. We do hope you had a great time in the Black Hills and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sydney Australia

Great location

Posted 15-May-2016
We stayed here for 2 nights using it as a base to go to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument and Little Big Horn. The hotel is situated right in the town and a close walk to many good restaurants. The breakfast was good and the room was also, very comfortable beds. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful overall a very good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jun-2016 by Glenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our goal is for our guests to have a great stay. I have a great staff and I will pass your comments on to them. Thank you again for staying with us.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Broken room heaters and unpleasant breakfast.

Posted 07-May-2016
Pros: staffs
Cons: Look at the details under my experience
Location: Location was okay.. Not very far from mount rushmore and custer state park
Staffs were very courteous and pleasant to talk with. The problem was the rooms. Rooms and bathrooms definitely need updates. We reached there at 1 AM after a long day on the road. We all got stuffy nose and throat pain because the heater did not work. Well it looked like it was working when we switched on but it was only blowing cold air all the time. It was a terrible experience. To add tot the pain, the breakfast in the morning was far from being called a breakfast. Frozen waffles and some saggy pastries. I know you cannot expect a continental breakfast at a $60 hotel but at least it should be eatable.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Jun-2016 by glenda, Hotel Management
I am so sorry that there were issues with your stay. We try to provide a variety of items at breakfast, like watermelon and a hot dish and yogurt. I will speak with the breakfast supervisor to see how we can improve our breakfast. I hope you notified the front desk regarding your heater. We would have switched you rooms immediately. I do hope you had a great time while in the Black Hills.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from SC

Older facility

Posted 08-Sep-2015
Pros: Well maintained and clean, hotel staff very accommodating.
Cons: Breakfast needs to be relocated to a larger room. More toasters needed. Need a different counter for heating foods, not just one to serve the food.
This hotel is not for the upscale crowd. If you need a bed with a limited breakfast for an inexpensive price, this is it. Traveling across country, this hotel had no mildew in the bathroom, clean mattresses, and free soap and shampoo. It is an older place that could use new carpet and a bigger lobby. The breakfast was in a tiny room, not meant to more than 10 people. A limited choice of breakfast foods, but there was something for everyone. We ate breakfast in our room. Only complaint, my husband found a stack of Sturgis Biker week newsprint in the breakfast room with very inappropriate pictures; something that is not appropriate for a place where families are staying. He closed after page three and made sure it went in the trash outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Sep-2015 by gmk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. we welcome all feedback and comments. We appreciate you staying with us. I am so sorry about the Sturgis magazines still being around. That is definitely unacceptable after the Sturgis rally. I hope you brought that to the attention of the front desk so all leftover magazines could be thrown away. Our breakfast area is small and we would love to have a bigger area to serve our guests! We hope you had a great time in the Black Hills and hope to see you again in the future.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Indiana

Posted 02-Aug-2015
Staff very friendly and helpful in recommending things to do in the area. I noticed that I was not the only ones that they were helping, so believe it is something they expect from their employees. Nothing fancy about the room, but it accomplished what we needed (a place to stay). Breakfast was just okay and the area was small.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Aug-2015 by gmk, Hotel Management
thank you for sharing your experience. We love to get great feedback and I will pass your comments on to my staff. They love the area and we love living in the Black Hills. We appreciate you staying with us and hope you had a great time. We hope to see you again in the future.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Iowa

Nice hotel centrally located

Posted 27-Jul-2015
Pros: The staff was helpful and friendly, it had a good selection for breakfast.
Cons: Needs some cosmetics, newer beds, parking is a problem but can't be fixed because of the hotels location.
Location: Right in the middle of Custer and walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
The hotel is clean and located in the center of town. The beds were very firm and need upgraded and the parking is not good for pickups or long vehicles.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jul-2015 by gkittinger, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us at the Econolodge. Yes, the parking can be a challenge. I will pass on your comments regarding the beds. we hope you had a great time while in the Black Hills.