Ratings based on 18 verified reviews

3.3 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 31-May-2018 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Jan-2019 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from West Virginia, USA

Wonderful experience!

Posted 02-Apr-2018
The hotel was extremely accommodating with our schedule, starting with a pickup from Spriggs-Payne Airport. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delightful and dinner at the outdoor bar was a great place to enjoy the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Apr-2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Thanks for the review. We are grateful that you had a wonderful stay. Hope you can stay with us during your next visit. Warm Regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

My 1-week Stay at Palm Spring Resort

Posted 24-Jan-2018
Pros: The food is good and easy to enjoy cost it's something you must have eaten before. And the room is spacious
Cons: The ATM facility should be fixed and working 24/7. POS payment service should work for card holders
Location: Beach is not too far away. pool side is nice and busy on weekends with many beautiful Liberian ladies around
Generally OK was my experience. Not premier hotel but I like the food and you can get lunch or dinner delivered to your room at no charge. the hotel room for double bed is very spacious and well kept. Room service is good. I like the view of the pool areas from my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Feb-2018 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, We highly appreciate your review. Hope you can stay with us during your next visit. Warm Regards,
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

The room services is horrible.

Posted 07-Dec-2017
The room service is horrible even to get a fruit salade delivered to your room you have to call 4 times the restaurant and they will deliver it after hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Dec-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thanks for the Review. I am sorry you had such bad experience, I have shared your review with our team and we are making sure to correct this. I am positive that the next time you stay with us, you will have a better experience. Thanks
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Terrible

Posted 05-Nov-2017
Terrible very bad, the customer service is crap, only two waiters are good (Berlin and Latania)
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, We take our customer feedback very seriously . We am terribly sorry for the bad service you received. We will make sure to take necessary actions to ensure that this is not repeated. I am sure that your next visit will be very successful. Thank you for the review.
4 out of 5
by Raj

Disapoointed

Posted 06-Oct-2017 on Hotels
Room was ok, service staff is not very friendly. Definitely not 4 stars
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2017
Dear Raj, Kindly accept my apology for such service received. We take our customers' review very seriously and we are sorry that we did not meet your service approval. We will work on the service and make sure that the next time you have a better service. Thanks for the review
2 out of 5
by Scott

Very tired hotel. Paint falling off the walls.

Posted 01-Jul-2017 on Hotels
Worms in the shower. Rat was in the souvenir shop, Hot water didn't work: power kept giving off.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2017
Thanks for your review sir, we take pride in keeping our rooms clean and we are sorry for the bad experience you had at our hotel. Our showers are clean daily with harsh chemicals and we have pest control coming in twice a month, so we are going to investigate the matter and do what we can to make sure this does not happen again. We are presently using generators that are changed over twice a day: Morning time around 9 am and in the Evening 6 pm for two minutes. During the time of your stay, we were installing the city power (Liberia Electricity Corporation lines) so this is why you had power outage. Sorry for the inconvenience. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience and we hope to serve you better in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Posted 08-Mar-2017
The room and service was fine but there were no towels. There were no elevators and my room was on the 4th floor. At checkout they tried to have me pay over 1,000 dollars after my wife had already paid through Expedia. My bill that was paid was over $700.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Dubai, UAE

Never do the same mistake

Posted 17-Feb-2017 on Orbitz
It was a real mistake doing my booking with this hotel, services and tge general weather of the rooms are totally ZERO
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Needs remodeling

Posted 11-Feb-2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Remodel
Location: Not centrally located.
We do not understand the rave reviews but it was adaq