Ratings based on 893 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Liverpool, nr. England

Hotel near to Centre of Berlin

Posted 08-Aug-2017
Pros: Location, comfort
Cons: Attitude of staff
Location: Near to mainline and local rail stations, the Zoo, lots of places to eat and drink, and good quality shopping area for those who like that sort of thi
Arrived late evening, male receptionist started to sign me in when German speaking guests interrupted to ask about local restaurants. I said "excuse me", I'm waiting to be signed in and get my key. The receptionist apologised. The rest of the stay was good, little interaction with staff, apart from asking directions from one receptionist who seemed to direct me the wrong way. English needs to be improved for some of them. Breakfasts were good value and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice, comfortable

Posted 05-Jun-2017
I would recommend this hotel. Helpful staff, clean, good hotel. My single room was perfect. Not in such a central area but not too far and close to good buses and metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveller

Cheap and clean in a good location

Posted 04-Jun-2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful
Location: Just south of Tiergarten, close to Kurf'damm and Potsdamer Platz.
Stayed for two nights in late May. It was a very late booking so I ended up in a room with 2 bunk beds which didn't bother me at all. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Else

Decent hotel at a good price on a quiet street

Posted 19-May-2017 on Hotels
Hotel Luetzow is located on a quiet street within walking distance of the Zoo, KaDeWe and the Tiergarten. A block away is a stop for the 200 bus, which takes you to Potsdamer Platz, Brandenburg Gate and Alexander Platz. There's also a landing for a sightseeing boat at the end of the street. The hotel is quite small, the rooms are adequate in size and include a small kitchenette. There is no A/C, which was not an issue in May, as the area is quiet enough to leave the window open. It might be less comfortable in July/August, though. Breakfast was not included in the prize, but a perfectly fine buffet breakfast could be purchased for an additional € 9.50. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by Niamh

Disappointing stay

Posted 27-Apr-2017 on Hotels
I found our stay at Hotel Lutzow disappointing. The kitchenette was one of the key reasons that we decided to stay here, as myself and my sister are both ceoliacs and although Berlin was advertised as a gluten free city we struggled to find food that catered for us. The fridge kept freezing everything inside no matter what the setting was and the kitchenette did not come with any crockery or pots to use, except two teacups, saucers and teaspoons. The shower was slow to drain so we had to wait a few minutes between showers and the receptionist seemed to be annoyed any time we asked her a question about the locality.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-May-2017
Dear Niamh, Thank you very much for the dedicated time to share your feedback. We are sorry that you were not satisfied by our room and our service. We apologize for the inconveniences caused. Since we have a kitchenette in all of our rooms, we hope for your understanding that we cannot provide kitchen interior and accessories for every single room at the arrival. We would reach our technical and human limits if we had to clean all kitchenettes plus interior every day. Furthermore we do inform our guest at the booking about the supplement. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. With kind regards, Nadja Jung
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Chicago

Good value hotel in a quiet neighborhood

Posted 14-Apr-2017
Pros: Price, location, comfort
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Berlin zoo, Wittenberg place (shopping) and close to bus lines and U-bahn.
The hotel is centrally located, only about a 10 minute walk to Zoologischer Garten (the Berlin Zoo), which is a major U and S bahn stop. Additionally it is only a few minutes walk from a bus line that goes directly to museum island and other tourist sights, and about a 5 minute walk from Wittenberg Place, a major shopping area. Despite being centrally located, the surrounding neighborhood is quiet. The rooms are small by American standards but I found it quite comfortable and clean; it also had a refrigerator and microwave, good water pressure. The front desk staff is friendly and speaks English. There is an optional breakfast in the morning for 10 euros.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Apr-2017 by Nadja Jung, Hotel Management
Dear Paul, Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and the location of our Hotel Lützow. It is very important for us that our guests feel well taken care of. We offer two types of breakfast. The normal breakfast for € 9,50 and the small breakfast for € 4,50. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon. With kind regards, Nadja Jung
4 out of 5
by ANI

Posted 12-Apr-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Apr-2017
Dear ANI, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. With kind regards, Nadja Jung
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Calgary, Canada

Nice Hotel in a quiet location

Posted 12-Apr-2017
We really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel. For what we wanted to see and do we felt it had good location to the trains. The staff were wonderful in answering our questions and offered suggestions. They also were great at storing our luggage while we toured Berlin.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Apr-2017 by Nadja Jung, Hotel Management
Dear Cyndie, Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Lützow and that you liked our staff. It is very important for us that our guests feel like being in good hands. We hope to see you again very soon. With kind regards, Nadja Jung
4 out of 5
by Susan

quiet hotel, good for easy visit to city sights

Posted 10-Apr-2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately local building site downgraded the look of the area, but obviously temporarily. City map to take available at the front desk; detailed local map (cafes, shops etc) would have been useful. Although there was a kitchenette there was an extra charge for crockery, utentsils etc. However, friendly staff, travel tickets available
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Apr-2017
Dear Susan, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions and for the good review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. It is very important for us that our guests feel like being in good hands. We hope to see you agin. With kind regards, Nadja Jung
4 out of 5
by Diane

Good for the price.

Posted 10-Apr-2017 on Hotels
It is situated about a 5 minute walk to the KaDeWe department store and walking distance to Zoologischer Garten train station. The room was like a student bedsit and although worn in places was clean and everything worked. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a shampoo/ wash gel and lotion supplied. I had good WiFi signal and the mini kitchen was handy. There are no pans, plates or cutlery so you have to pay 15 Euros if you want to use the kitchen. This gets you a tub with all the kitchen essentials, right down to wash up liquid. Overall it had everything I wanted for a short stay in Berlin.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Apr-2017
Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for the good review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at our Hotel Lützow. With kind regards, Nadja Jung