Ratings based on 51 verified reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Solihull, West Midlands.

Posted 27 Aug 2019
A beautiful county house well decorated rooms, excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff and owners. Loved it 5 star.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

A Charming Country Hideaway

Posted 8 Jul 2019 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at Dunkery Beacon Country House. This is a small and friendly country house our hosts looked after us very well. The hotel is very charming. The bedroom was clean and tidy with fresh décor and all of the facilities that you would expect (television, tea and coffee making, toiletries). The views over the Exmoor Hills were stunning. The hotel was in a very quiet location close to Minehead and access to the hotel was along quiet winding country lanes. The dining facilities were excellent with fresh décor and modern furniture. We took breakfast and dinner in the hotel and the food was to a very high standard and award winning. The chef support local produce suppliers. We chose this hotel because it was provided easy access to the West Somerset Steam Railway and Dunster Castle. We would definitely return and would recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 2 May 2019
Former hunting lodge, converted to a small hotel with restaurant. The conversion provides good spaces for its new role while retaining the original character. The furnishings, artwork and 'pickup and read / look / play with' resources were all excellent and fitted the hotel's style. The attention and service from the owners was excellent and the food was superb.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

A great find .

Posted 23 Apr 2019 on Hotels
A beautiful house in a beautiful setting . The views from our bedroom were spectacular . Our hosts were warm and welcoming . The bedroom was full of character with every thing you would expect to find in a good hotel room . The meals were well presented . Jane and her staff were attentive without being intrusive . We just loved it and look forward to making a return visit .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Glos.

Comfortable country hotel in Exmoor.

Posted 13 Sep 2018
Pros: Good en suite bedroom, comfortable. We had dinner one evening, which was excellent, as were cooked breakfasts. Maps and guides available for walks.
Cons: Not much!
Location: It is in a small village a few miles from Minehead. Well placed for walking on Exmoor, visiting Dunster and the West Somerset Railway.
Friendly proprietors made us feel very welcome. Hotel aims to give the personal touch and succeeds.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 30 May 2018
Lovely hotel in wonderful countryside, so peaceful and pretty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller

Posted 11 Oct 2017
Too busy to do this. What are you going to do for me
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Cornwall

Lovely hotel with nice attention to detail

Posted 9 Oct 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, attention to visitors needs, comfort of rooms and public areas.
Cons: A later finish to breakfast time.
Location: The countryside around the hotel is stunning and it is not far to Exmoor and the Exe valley.
Our room was very comfortable with lovely views over Dunkery Beacon. The furniture in the room was interesting and well made and the hotel as a whole was very well furnished clean and comfortable. The shampoos and soaps supplied were of much higher quality than usual and the breakfast was great. We normally stay in chain hotels but the difference in comfort and service at this hotel was well worth the extra cost. Our reviews usually highlight the shortcomings of hotels and restaurants but we can only give Dunkery Beacon House a top rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by a verified traveller from UK

A lovely hotel, comfortable and friendly staff.

Posted 23 Aug 2017
Pros: The comfort and relaxed manner with the staff, the food and the accommodation.
Location: In the country a small village with a shop, difficult for us to find at first but soon got used to narrow curving lanes. Good walking country .
Had a twin room with a sitting room very comfortable. When we had a problem of finding a place the staff helped us out with maps and instructions. Advised us on different walks to try out. Wonderful area for walking. Menu not huge but very pleasant, all cooked from fresh local food. The whole experience was wonderful, it brought back memories of when I lived in Somerset 40 years ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by a verified traveller from Bristol

A real gem

Posted 10 Jul 2017
Pros: The attention to detail and looking at everything through the client's eyes. Jane and John could not do enough for their guests. Great food and wine
Cons: Well, I'm struggling here!
Location: Quiet location with numerous walking and biking routes to everything in the Dunkery Beacon area and close to Dunster, Porlock, Minehead and the coast
A perfect, long weekend retreat in Exmoor at a charming property with comfortable and very clean rooms. will definitely be heading back there.