This is a beautifully decorated riad...a true haven of calm in the heart of a tumultuous medina.
HOWEVER, many of the rooms are situated in a way that exposes them to the noise (and eyes) of other guests. We felt badly eating our breakfast immediately next to a window where other guests were potentially sleeping.
The first room we were in did not have properly closing window covers and other guests and staff could see in. We could also hear other guests coming and going from the big (loud) front door all night and morning long. This also meant that they could hear us. This is obviously less than an ideal situation. As a result we asked to change rooms. We were told the only other room available would require a substantial upcharge. We agreed, what other choice did we have? When we moved into the new room we could not understand why this was such a better room..merely because it was on the second floor where it was quieter? It didnt even have a proper shower. Isn't quiet and privacy included in the lower price rooms? It seemed like a bait and switch scam to us.
Also, to add insult to injury the manager told us laundry service for "smalls" was gratis. They charged us 30euro for a nightgown.
The medina is stocked full of beautiful riads. We'll stay elsewhere next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Apr-2019 by General Manager, Pure Riads, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the room you had selected.
Having booked through Expedia you were aware that we have different room categories and rates. To suggest this is a switch scam is somewhat odd, given that you can verify room rates directly online. When other rooms are booked we can of course only offer available rooms.
Most guests do not feel insulted when being told which laundry items are free of charge. Your laundry charge was for 24 items, in addition to the free ones.