Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Bad WIFI and single pane windows in noisy city.

Posted 22-Sep-2016
The advertised "free WIFI" was a money grab: it was intentionally horribly slow to force you to pay extra and upgrade to a "highspeed Internet" service. Street noise was very audible because the room had single pane windows, not noise protection windows, even though facing a busy street. Overall something one might expect from a 2 star or 3 star hotel in a city such as London. This hotel is rated (and priced) 4 stars and has thus not met my expectations because of the two issues mentioned above. Especially the "free Internet" raises questions about business ethics and honesty.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Sep-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time on writing us a feedback following your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear that we have not met your expectations on some aspects of your stay particularly the noise, should you be staying with us again in the future, please do let us know and we can allocate you to a quieter area. With regards to your comments on the WiFi, we did have some technical issues few days back and this has now been rectified. It is never our intention 'force' our guest to pay the high speed services and we are deeply sorry that you felt that way. I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more favourable impression of our hotel. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from ck

Bra hotell nära shopping

Posted 19-Sep-2016
Det här är ett hotell med närhet till många restaurangen och endast 10 min promenad till Oxfordstreet. Perfekt läge om man gillar shopping! Hotellets skick var helt okej. Letar man efter det lilla extra ska man nog välja ett annat hotell, men om man enbart är ute efter ett helt okej hotell så kan jag rekommendera detta. Vi åkte absolut inte därifrån missnöjda.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Sep-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Hello ck, Thank you for taking the time on writing us a feedback following your recent stay. I am pleased to hear your positive comments on some aspects of your stay. I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Muy buena

Posted 07-Sep-2016
La habitación muy pequeña y no caben ni las maletas, ideal para personas de trabajo que van solas con una maleta, no para personas que venimos de viaje de placer muchos días
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Sep-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, so sorry that we have let you down with regards to the room size, sadly as this is the structure of the hotel, this would be something that we are unable to change. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Israel

Excellent location, not a Holiday Inn standards

Posted 30-Aug-2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Move out from this building
Excellent location! The rooms are very small and not comfortable for a stay of a couple. Very minimalist fittings. The hotel building looks very uninviting and not suitable to the standards of the Holiday Inn chain. At breakfast, no vegetables at all and there is no possibility of a low-calorie meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Aug-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Hello Ran, We appreciate you taking the time on providing us a feedback following your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that we have let you down on some aspects of your stay. I will address your feedback to the relevant departments and will certainly take your feedback on board as we continue to enhance our product and services. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 29-Aug-2016
Das Hotel ist wie beschrieben. Es liegt fußläufig zu U-Bahn, Bus (3Min), Regent's Park und Mdme Toussauds (15 min) gelegen in einer ruhigen Seitenstraße, mehrere Supermärkte in 3 Min. erreichbar (und rund um die Uhr offen). Ruhiges, kleines Zimmer, gemütliche Betten (wir hatten Twin, d.h. jeder ein eigenes Bett und eine eigene Decke), und jeder hatte zwei Kissen. Wir hatten im Zimmer alles was wir brauchten bzw. konnten an der Rezeption den Rest bekommen (z.B. Adapter für Stecker). Allerdings war das Zimmer nicht so schick wie auf den Fotos, vielleicht hatten wir ein älteres erwischt. Es war jedenfalls sauber, das Bad (mit Wanne) ok, der Teppich im Zimmer in gutem Zustand. Wir hatten den tristen Blick in den Hinterhof, aber umso ruhiger war es, und man ist ja nicht in London um aus dem Zimmerfenster zu schauen... Also super für einen Städtetrip. Das Personal war sehr nett und hilfsbereit.
Comment from Hotel Management
01-Sep-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We really appreciate you taking the time on writing us a feedback following your recent stay. Your comments has been shared to the rest of the team and we are pleased that you had a great stay. We hope to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Bs.As

Muy buena ubicación. Habitaciones espaciosas

Posted 13-Aug-2016
Pros: Ubicación y habitaciónes
Cons: Los colchones
Location: Esta muy cerca de Regent Park y de Oxford Street para hacer shopping. Estación de metro a 2 cuadras
Muy rápido el check in y habitaciones cómodas. El único problema es que tuve que quejarme dos veces por el ruido que hacía el frigobar que la primera noche me despertó a las 6 de la mañana y la segunda a las 5¡ después no tuve ningún inconveniente. Staff muy amable. Consejo: cambiar los colchones, son muy duros ¡
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Aug-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Hello Marga, We appreciate you taking the time on sharing your recent experience with us. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay especially the location and spacious room but so sorry to hear that you have been disturb by the level of noise from the mini bar and uncomfortable mattress , I will pass on your feedback along with your reservation details to the relevant managers to ensure this will get checked and made good. Marga, again thank you for the feedback and please accept our sincere apologies for not achieving a 10/10 during your stay. We hope that we will have the chance to provide you a better experience on your next stay with us. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 12-Jul-2016
Toilet flushing did not work. Called twice but they didn't fix it so ended up using public toilet
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Jul-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are so sorry for the issue you had experience during your stay with us. We are aware of the situation and I can assure you that this has been fixed and we have also followed up with the team to avoid re occurrence of such issues in the future. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Israel

Nice hotel - good location

Posted 07-Jul-2016
Very good located. Room compact, well organized, and clean. I have no idea about the breakfast. The bar is small. The concierge doesn't have enough information. Metro station is nearby. Shopping street (OXFORD) is in near walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Jul-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Hello JOKO, We thank you for your feedback, I was pleased to hear that you have enjoyed some aspects of your stay especially the location and cleanliness of the room but I was disappointed to hear the comment with regards to our concierge, I can assure you that this is not indicative of our usual level of service. But we will definitely follow up with the team. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 07-Jul-2016
Very good location, room cleanness is okay No place for microwave oven, and the hotel staff registered my name wrongly.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2016 by Apple Radam, Hotel Management
Hello Edward, Thank you for your feedback, so sorry for the issue you had encountered during your stay with us. Guest details from Expedia and any other third party bookings come through to our system automatically, we do not change these details unless advised by the guests at check-in. We hope this did not put you off to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Apple Radam - Guest Relations Executive
3out of 5
by Choon-il

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 27-Jun-2016 on Hotels