Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5out of 5
by LaDeirdre from Lilburn,Ga

Posted 11-May-2016 on Hotels
Popped in to check on my college student and spent the night. Room was very clean and fresh. Only negative is the tub was poorly repaired and the bottom had plenty of wiggle. Otherwise front desk staff and breakfast lady were friendly and helpful, very professional. Will stay here again.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 28-Apr-2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
04-May-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept our apologies that you stay was not completely satisfactory. Let me assure you that we are always improving our hotel and I hope we get another chance to earn your business. Sincerely, Don Neuberg Quality Inn Lagrange, GA
5out of 5
by Charles from Atlanta

Couple retreat

Posted 20-Apr-2016 on Hotels
Room was great location was good food was great and WiFi. Good place to rest
Comment from Hotel Management
04-May-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Charles:) Thank you for leaving us a feedback and rating us 5 star. Regards, Don Neuberg Quality Inn Lagrange, GA
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from laf. la.

Room is a little small but ok for a quick stay .

Posted 18-Apr-2016 on Orbitz
Room was clean but needed a little work done on it . Staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-May-2016 by Don Neuberg, Hotel Management
Dear Thomas, Thank you for staying with us and leaving us a feedback. I hope we will see you again!
3out of 5
by Julia

Posted 17-Mar-2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
04-May-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Julia, Thank you for staying with us. Let me assure you that we take guest comments seriously and will look into the issues you faced. Sincerely, Don Neuberg Quality Inn Lagrange, GA
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from d

Nice iutside, not so much inside

Posted 13-Mar-2016
Both trash cans packed full at breakfast, juice machine didn't work. Room was clean, daytime workers were standing around chatting on phones.late night staff at check in very nice and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-May-2016 by Don Neuberg, Hotel Management
Dear, Please accept our apologies for the shortcoming we had during your stay with us. We are currently under renovation and are updating our guest rooms. I hope we get to serve you again. Sincerely, Don Neuberg
4out of 5
by Michael

Great Hotel for short visit.

Posted 17-Feb-2016 on Hotels
It was overall a 4. I rarely give anything a five. So for the price the room was nice and clean. Bed linens clean, bathroom clean. These are the things that will make or break my stay. The overall appearance was very nice. Will stay again if I pass that way.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Mar-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Michael, Thank you for your awesome review! We are pleased that everything was up to standard. We hope to see you again soon!
4out of 5
by Stephanie from Taylors SC

Stop along the way

Posted 13-Feb-2016 on Hotels
We arrived around 11 pm after a long drive. We were greeted by a friendly smile and chocolate chip cookies which was nice. The room was okay (bathroom floor had not been cleaned well and the water pressure was low)but we left early the next morning and it was fine. Hot breakfast was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Mar-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Stephanie, Thank you very much for your feedback. It is our goal to always greet our guest with a smile and memorable experience. We would like to apologize that the floor was not up to par and it has been addressed. We are glad that you, like so many other guest enjoy our hot breakfast. Hope to see you soon!
2out of 5
by Amanda from Macon, Ga

Posted 08-Feb-2016 on Hotels
The room was extremely small. You had to move the desk chair to even get through to the bathroom. When giving my son a bath I shut the door only to realize that a dirty towel was left on the back of it hanging. The door when closed had gaps between it and the frame, which I'm sure bugs let themselves in and out as they please. They were "updating" the lower level and did not have an elevator. I was not informed of this until checking in.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Mar-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Amanda, Thank you for your feedback. All of our rooms are standard hotel size. We do apologize that a towel was left in your room. This issue has been addressed and taken care of. As seen online, we do not have elevators and i'm sorry if you missed this when booking but if you had a special request, we would have honored it. Also, yes a few of our rooms were being updated but this did not interfere with our guest stay.
3out of 5
by Chelsea from North Carolina

Posted 31-Dec-2015 on Hotels
Other than being outdated, it was a nice stay for the price. Breakfast bar was decent as well. Very quiet and not many ppl around. I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Jan-2016 by Quality Guest Relation, Hotel Management
Dear Chelsea, Thanks for being our guest. We look forward to seeing you again.