Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from nyc

Like it Last Year, Disappointed This Year

Posted 01-Oct-2017
Cons: Entertainment, Dining options, TV maintenance
Location: Saw small cruise ships boarding right on the beach, but didn't use them so can't comment.
Had a great stay here last year, but what a difference a year makes. PROS: Was given early check-in, and the room was quite clean, AC worked well, beds were rather comfortable, and the minibar was refreshed daily. CONS: The TV didn't work all week, so was a bit of a bummer having no entertainment in the room. Despite what I'd been told by the hotel before flying down, there was some damage from the recent hurricanes. Half the beach was a complete disaster area, littered with tons of rocks and seaweed. Though a backhoe and some workers were trying to deal with things, they'll probably be working on it for a while. Also, a beach hut had been blown to bits. Even the half of the beach that was seaweed-free still had lots of rocks in the sea, so getting in/out was somewhat perilous. The hotel was mostly empty, so none of the restaurants were open daily, only alternating days. And the only entertainment provided was a singer or two on the plaza some days. Worst was that both of us came down with seriously upset stomachs numerous times. I don't know whether this was due to poor food quality/handling, or whether there was some sort of bacteria in the sea brought in by all the hurricanes, but it certainly put a damper on our holiday. Bottom Line: Don't Go During Hurricane Season!!! But I can't see myself returning at all!
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Oct-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation and for taking time to share your experience with us. Allow us to express our apologies for the inconvenients that you had during your stay, at Be Live Collection Canoa, one of our main priorities is to ensure our guest’s satisfactions, reason why we have followed up your case with the corresponding departments, to prevent similar situations in the future and to solve those cases. We assure you that we are already working on these points to improve them. Best regards, General Manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from NY

By far one of the worst resorts I've stayed at

Posted 16-Sep-2017
By far one of the worst resorts I've stays . AC unit didn't work , multiple calls to the office made , they said they looked at it and I was fixed AC was still not functional . My mom's room was flooded due to rain and lack of filtering systems . Her luggage and personal items damaged. Just an apology . The worst customer service in the industry .
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Sep-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation and for taking time to share your experience with us. Allow us to express our apologies for the inconvenients that you had during your stay, at Be Live Collection Canoa, one of our main priorities is to ensure our guest’s satisfactions, reason why we have followed up your case with the corresponding departments, to prevent similar situations in the future and to solve those cases. We assure you that we are already working on these points to improve them. Best regards, General Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice location to the beach

Posted 23-Aug-2017
Swim up pool bar closed everything closed early the main bar turned into a coffee bar limited top shelf alcohol and you paid for it... hotel is dated Stayed before in 2016 and had a blast so I came back this will be my last trip
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Aug-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest: Thank you for staying at our hotel for your vacation and for writing your comment about our hotel. We feel very sad about the aspects that have not been to your liking and we apologize for these inconveniences that you have notified us, we assure you that we will work on these points to improve it, and not to have repetitions. Best regards, General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from South Carolina

Birthday trip gone wrong

Posted 10-Aug-2017
Pros: No
After we checked in we walked to our room .We got to the room and the keys did not work. I walked back to the lobby so they get fix the keys. We finally get in the room & guess what its horrible. The light was falling out of the wall. The bedding had stains all over it, the shower was disgusting, it was made with concrete blocks & mold was everywhere. Do not get me wrong I knew to expect some mold but this was not acceptable. I actually had a breakdown & was ready to go back home on the FIRST DAY. To say the least I was not happy we went to the front desk & asked to upgrade the room & that I wanted to see the next room first before paying. He had the bellman take us to see that room. The room was definitely a upgrade so we took it. However after upgrading we discovered that our air did not work properly & that the toilet would not flush. We yet again went back to the lobby to see if they could fix this. He told us that they water was not working and they had been working out it, he informed me that someone would come look at the air, no one every came. The maid the next morning had someone come fix our toilet cause it was actually broke. And We finally got towel. To say the least I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and if you do go UPGRADE EVERYTHING. the food is a different subject.Also please be aware reservations end at 2:45 which is before check in so be prepared to eat at the buffet. The hotel does not have wash clothes. Also we found ants in the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Aug-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest: We thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your vacation and for taking time to share your experience with us. Allow us to express our apologies for the inconvenients that you had during your stay, at Be Live Collection Canoa, one of our main priorities is to ensure our guest’s satisfactions, reason why we have followed up your case with the corresponding departments, to prevent similar situations in the future. We assure you that we are already working on these points to improve them. Best regards, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Caribbean

Fantastic!

Posted 09-Aug-2017
We've had a great time at this hotel! The staff was really friendly! At the reception desk they spoke good enough English. All other staff was always smiling and working hard. The rooms were fine, we stayed in block 9, which was conveniently located close to the pool/beach and restaurant. The buffet restaurant was excellent, lots of choices of fresh foods. Everything we tasted was delicious. We also live in the Caribbean so we know how hard is it to keep everything clean and fresh in high temperatures, but we did not see any cockroach or rat. The waiting time in the restaurant or bar was never long. The property is very beautiful and well maintained, and the kids loved all the different ducks and birds at the bridges. The entertainment at night was fun, the kids loved the minidisco with Sugardy and dancing afterwards. We've only been to the theater once, because it started at 10 pm, which was a bit too late for our kids, but we loved the Dominican dances, very professional! If there's anything that could be improved, I'd advise the hotel to clean the pool more often (especially in the afternoon) and remove the garbage around the pool to avoid the bees coming for your drink (bring or buy a thermos!). For future guests: try to avoid the well-spoken 'lifestyle vacation' salesguys, they are luring you into a sales meeting with very pushy sales people. Overall we had a fantastic time and we'd love to come back someday!
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Aug-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for spending your holiday in the Be Live Canoe collection and also thanks for your evaluation. We are very happy that you have spent a good holiday with us and that you also enjoy our facilities and services, as you have expressed in the points you have specified. We hope you will not hesitate to choose us when you decide to take your next vacation. Best regards, General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from pflugerville tx

Nice enthusiastic staff...good hotel

Posted 02-Aug-2017
Nice hotel..Wi-Fi sketchy at best. You have to pay for Wi-Fi connect because you only get about an hour a day of free Wi-Fi and sometimes none at all. Even with pay Wifi connection is bad. My only bad experience with this hotel was in the last day when I went to ck out..someone at front desk gave me a hard time about leaving pool towels in my room. Made me go back to room to get them only to find someone had already picked them up...he.then proceeded to argue with me about how room service was not scheduled to clean my room and he.couldn't understand how towel where not in room. I told him to ck my luggage because it sounded like he was accusing me of stealing towel. He then proceed to.gossip with staff member in spanish like I didnt understand. I let him know that I spoke spanish and that it was rude of him to speak of a guest in front of that guest.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Aug-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest: We appreciate your preference in our hotel to spend your vacation and for taking a moment of your valuable time to let us know about your stay. At the same time we want to extend our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have explained you had during your stay. We assure that we have taken very into account your comment and they have been Forwarded to the concerned departments to take corrective measures on these case and don't have repetitions of this type again. We inform you that this type of situation is not part of our daily operation, so we will work immediately with our staff about your case. We apologize again, and thank you for bringing these points to our knowledge because only this way we can improve every day to guarantee all our guests a holiday to the reach of your expectations and it can be unforgettable. We would likeTo have the honor to serve you in another oportunity and provide you with our services that has already been improved and in this way to change your perception about us. Best regards, General Manger.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from NY/CT

Enjoyable stay

Posted 27-Jul-2017
Really enjoyed our stay. always had activities going on, drinks were great and so was the food. the room was spacious and clean. the staff was friendly and put on great shows. Many European travelers and not so much of the local DR seen. You will have to leave the resort for quite a ways to see the actual town.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jul-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We would like to express our gratitude for your preference in our hotel for the enjoyment of your holidays. We really appreciate your comments and it is a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful time with us. Our team will be more than honored to receive you to provide you another stay at Be Live Collection Canoa. Best regards, General Manager.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

terrible

Posted 24-Jul-2017
this is a very terrible hotel and staff included don't even bother staying in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Aug-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear guest: Thank you for taking time to share your experiences with us and for choosing us as your destination to spend your vacation. About your comments, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. We assure you that our goal is always to work to achieve more and more the satisfaction of our guests, so your comment will be taken into account to improve our service. Best regards, General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Puerto Rico

Not at all how you see it on the pictures...

Posted 19-Jul-2017
Beautiful beach... but, Smelly rooms, old furniture, bees everywhere, dirty bars, ir you are young and looking for parties and night life you wont find it there. The hotel just doesn't have that new and clean look than I am used to see, if you are ok with that, then you won't have any problems. I really recomend Saona Island, it was great! And Coco Bongo was amazing!
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Jul-2017 by Direccion del hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Iris: Thank you for staying in our hotel to spend your vacation and for writing your comment about us. We are happy to know that some of our services have been to your liking as mentioned in your comment, this is our highest priority. At the same time we feel very sad about the aspects that have not been to your liking and we apologize for these inconveniences that you have notified us, we assure you that we will work on these points to improve these situations, and not have repetitions of other cases like this. Best regards, General Manager.
3 out of 5
by Wojciech

Great location, but hotel needs good manager

Posted 17-Jul-2017 on Hotels
Hotel very dirty, main restaurant is the worst they haven't got enough glasses, plates, cutleries, waiters do not serve clients, when I asked about vine waiter has to grab glass from dirty table then hand washed it and then served me vine. Personnel to busy being on facebook to see customers. Room never have been cleaned properly. Beach was nice but also needs cleaning. There was always about 5-7 people from staff next to beach bar, they didn't do anything all day around - they could clean beach, sort sunbeds in this time. Good sides: nice pools, good mojito in beach bar, beautiful beach nice garden.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2017 by Community manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest: Thank you for staying in our hotel to spend your vacation and for writing your comment about us. We are happy to know that you liked some aspects of our hotel as our pools, beach and garden. At the same time we feel very sad about the aspects that have not been to your liking and we apologize for these inconveniences that you have notified us, we assure you that we are immediately working on this aspect to improve these situations, and not have repetitions of other cases like this. Best regards, General Manager.