Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 02-Sep-2017
Staff was great, location was perfect, and the room itself was spectacular. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has travel plans to Budapest.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Sep-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace and taking your time to review your stay. Delighted to see that your experience was a memorable one and you had a great city brake while staying with us. Thank you for your kind recommendation, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Washington, DC

Beautiful boutique hotel right in the inner city.

Posted 26-Aug-2017
The hotel was fantastic and the staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. Two great restaurants and bars within the hotel and an abundance of restaurants, nightlife, sightseeing and tourist attractions all within a few minutes walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Sep-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Your kind feedback is highly appreciated. I'm happy to read that the great service, the location and our unique Buddha-Bar Restaurant and Lounge lived up to your refined taste and we had a chance to contribute to a memorable city break. Hope you will consider to stay with us again whenever your plan brings you back to our beautiful city. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from israel

Great location, nice staff.

Posted 25-Aug-2017
Overall great hotel. Only negative thing was not clean for 5 star hotel. I put sheets on floor as the were dirty and the cleaning staff put it back on bed I knew this as i saw dirt stains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

GOOD LOCATION

Posted 23-Aug-2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Decor and lighting
Stayed for 5 nights. The hotel is an old building made worse by the gloomy black and red decor. Poor lighting in the corridoors spcially outside the lift areas. Breakfast was at an extra charge and at 20 Euros per person per day is a bit expensive for the selection of food available!. Room was comfortable and clean. The location is very good for visiting most of the tourist sites and there is plenty of places to eat. The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times during our stay. There is no mirror in the bed room and you had to go in the bathroom or close the bathrrom door and use it as a mirror from outside!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from New York, NY

Great location! Chic surroundings!

Posted 17-Aug-2017
Hotel was outstanding in all respects. Rooms are beautifully designed and bathrooms have cool automated toilets. Lebanese Restaurant served a delicious lunch at a great value. Location is ideal for sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Scotland

In the city close to all transport

Posted 31-Jul-2017
The hotel is decorated in very dark colours and this made the room a bit dull. However, the room was nice if not a bit strange. And there was ample lighting. The bed was in a mezzanine area whilst the rest was downstairs. Each day we were given a complimentary bottle of water but everything else was at a charge. I would have expected the coffee to be free in a 5 star rated hotel. The location was central and was a few minutes from buses, tour buses and metro. Tram line was 5-7 mins walk. Umpteen restaurants and cafes nearby. We ate out except for one night we had dinner in the Lebanese restaurant- a bit pricey but I expected that. Food was delicious though.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Aug-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Ann, Appreciate your time and efforts to share your detailed feedback on Expedia page. Glad to hear that all in all you had a great stay with us, however I am sorry to note that the hotel interior design was a bit darker than you expected. We are operating a unique hotel with Asian influenced design. The dark red-black-gold colors together with the dim lighting and with the chill-out Buddha-Bar music are the essential elements of the Buddha-Bar concept. I was surprised to read your opinion about the coffee, for your kind information all of our rooms are equipped with Nespresso coffee machines and we provide this service on a complimentary base for all of our guests. Again thank you very much for your comments and we hope to have the chance of welcoming you back to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Fantastic hotel close to the main sights

Posted 25-Jul-2017
Pros: The hotel met all my expectations and then also surpassed them.
Cons: Nothing the hotel has done a great job.
Location: The hotel has lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and is within walking distance of all the major sites.
This is the best 5* hotel I have stayed at this year. The room was absolutely beautiful it had recently been redecorated and the way it was set up was not like your average 5* hotel room. The bed was on a raised area from the living area below accessed by stairs and there were 2 bathrooms. This gave the room the feeling of space meant that my girlfriend and I never felt on top of each other. The bed was very comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The hotel supplied a number of free things in the room (such as large bottle of water), which was a nice touch, as well as the paid minibar. In addition the facilities of the hotel such as the bar were excellent and we enjoyed a nice evening with a couple of drinks in the bar. The staff were very helpful and attentive and there were more than enough to deal with all the guests and in fact the were so attentive we felt that we were the only guests staying. As for location of the hotel it really is excellent and we were able to walk to the major sites very easily.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Aug-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for the fantastic feedback posted on Expedia page, I am very glad that you had a pleasant stay that from the beginning to the end was exceptional. Delighted to read of your appreciation for the hotels services and facilities. Thank you for highlighting the prime location of our building, the unique design and high tech facilities of the room and the great amenities we offer. Again let me thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest in the near future. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from london

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted 09-Jul-2017
Pros: Everything, honestly could not fault it
Location: Within walking distance of all major sites, staff provided a map and recommended some places to visit, which was great.
This hotel was great, loved the location and the breakfast, also enjoyed lunch In the Buddha Bar restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were so comfortable, really liked our room. Breakfast was a great selection, loved the Hungarian sparkling wine, a nice addition!
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you very much for choosing the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace and sharing your great review with the Expedia community. I am happy to hear that you had a great time with us especially highlighting the central location, our lavish buffet breakfast service and the special Asian dishes served in our world famous Buddha-Bar Restaurant. It is nice to hear that our team went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one, I will definitely share your kind comments among them. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our property. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Very bad condition and smells bad

Posted 05-Jul-2017
Staff were rude Management were clueless Rooms were in bad shape Service was slow and bad
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Mazen, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to note that your experience was not fully exceeded your expectations and let us apologize for any issues you have had during your stay. We aim to provide a reliable quality and a perfect service, therefore we appreciate all guest feedback both positives and also less satisfied opinions. I regret to see that the maintenance condition of your room was not reaching the level we expect from a 5 star property. Our Chief Engineer was immediately informed and the mentioned issues have been already corrected. After receiving numerous positive feedback about the kind and professional service of our team I’m quite disappointed to read your opinion about your general impression. Again, we really appreciate your sincerity in sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 04-Jul-2017
Best highlight was the toilet. Room service OK. Bad service from one member staff out of 3. Lebanese restaurant better than the oriental restaurant. Decent location. Bad experience with locals
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Appreciate your time and efforts to share your comments on Expedia platform. I regret to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as we all expected, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. I'm glad that the hotel's very central location together with the special technical options offered by the Japanese toilet seats and the great service of our Roomservice team lived up to your refined taste. Regarding your note on the service level of our team let me inform you that this is certainly not indicative of the high level of service for we are known and which we strive to deliver each and every guest that walks through our door. As you can read so many very positive reviews already listed on public forums, I hope you agree your stay was far from typical. The Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace always aims to deliver the utmost in service and convenience. It appears we were not able to satisfy you on this trip. We hope despite your actual experience you will let us take another chance and we will have the chance to welcome you back for an improved stay. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager