Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 21-Aug-2017
No hot water, no advertised breakfast buffet, no privacy in bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Aug-2017 by Vada, Hotel Management
We are very sorry for the troubles encountered during your stay. We appreciate you feedback on the design of our new bathroom doors as this is valuable to our design team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from kansas

Posted 17-Aug-2017
Very friendly staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Aug-2017 by Vada, Hotel Management
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
1 out of 5
by gary

Posted 23-May-2017 on Hotels
When we got there the place was under demolition and had no water so they did not have a room. We were called at home and did not get the info.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Jun-2017
Good Afternoon, I am so sorry we were unable to accommodate your reservation and that our message did not reach you in a timely manner! We had an unexpected issue the day of your arrival with our boiler and we did not realize our hot water wasn't properly working until much later in the day. We hope to see you again in your future travels to Grand Rapids, and I am again so sorry for the inconveniences with your travels. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Lindsay Front Office Supervisor
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Dallas, TX

Do not stay here!!!

Posted 14-May-2017
The shuttle wasn't running but they did pay for the taxi ride. Only the top 2 floors were open, only one entrance, and one elavator were available. There was no breakfast just a basket with breakfast bars, despite the fact that one of the TV channels kindly invited guest to join them for breakfast. There was a lot of construction going on but of the 8 lights in the main room only 1 worked. The big beautiful pool in the pictures was closed. The fitness center,that was one of the reason I booked a room there, was also closed. The staff was extremely positive but I'm sure they got a lot of complaints from the guess. My advice is to avoid booking a room there until construction is completed. I actually wonder why the are still booking rooms give the amount of work going on there.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jun-2017 by Ashleigh, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize for the lack of amenities you were expecting I understand it can be difficult to arrange other accommodations for such amenities like the fitness center. We strive to provide our guests with clean and comfortable working rooms and I deeply apologize that your room was not up to ours, or your, standard. We are working very hard to get this hotel up to these standards and I hope you will stay with us when we are finished. Thank you again, Ashleigh Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by Alexis

Close this Hotel

Posted 12-May-2017 on Hotels
Hotel should be closed during renovation. Pool closed, dust everywhere, no heat in room or halls. Gave us air mattress when no double available on the only remodeled floor. Me and husband slept on it 2 nites. Gave bed to kids-one competing in sports event. Hotel gave us space heater when heat couldn't be fixed. We had already moved once from a really dust filled room on another floor. So much construction dust in this hotel!! Don't stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Jun-2017
Good Afternoon, I am so sorry for the inconveniences and unexpected issues with your rooms during your stay. Our property has since shut down in order to complete our renovation in a timely manner for our guests. I do also hope our compensation to your reservations were found satisfactory after the complications with your rooms and I hope that you're able to stay with us again once our renovation is complete. Thank you and have a wonderful rest of your day! Lindsay Front Office Supervisor
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Indiana

Convenient location

Posted 12-May-2017
This hotel was under remodeling so the mess was understandable, however not having a refrigerator in the room in today's market for hotels (not a motel mind you) is unheard of. The fan in the bathroom you could not turn off so getting a good nights sleep didn't happen. The door to the room you had to use your shoulder to get it open. Perhaps once the remodeling is completed it will get better. The location is great looks like a lot of access to whatever you might need
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Under construction!

Posted 11-May-2017 on Hotels
I found out that they were under construction when I walked into the front lobby. The smell was horrible from the carpet and flooring being ripped up. On my way down to get the rest of my luggage, I was stuck in the elevator and had to force the doors open. The room was freshly renovated so it was the only highlight but the smell still lingered. The night was cold and the thermostat didn't work. I decided to check out early after only one night. I wasn't surprised that on my way down to check out the elevator locked me and another guest in until the doors finally opened. Then me and all my bags walked down 5 floors. Never again!
2 out of 5
by Michael

Construction Construction

Posted 10-May-2017 on Hotels
We were in town for volleyball tournament and had booked a few month in advance. The hotel was going through a major renovation that wasn't mentioned at the time we booked the hotel. Everything in the area was sold out, so we were unable to change hotels. We did have nice new room, but the rest of the place was a disaster due to construction. Side note - somehow the hotel overbooked for the weekend, and a couple of families were relocated to another property, despite having guaranteed reservations.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jun-2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you were able to stay in a new room, however, I do apologize for the areas you encountered outside of your guest hallway. We have since closed the hotel to finish our renovation. Unfortunately we had to close rooms this particular weekend due to the scope of our renovation project. I do hope you were not terribly inconvenienced. Sincerely, Ashleigh Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by sandra

Posted 10-May-2017 on Hotels
Booked and paid for several guaranteed double rooms. Show up and they say they don't have enough rooms for us, let alone doubles for everyone. Also under construction.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from london

It was misleading advertised and sold

Posted 06-May-2017
It was like a building site, the whole hotel. The reception area had plastic up, the corridors and common parts looked unfinished or simply dilapidated. It was worse than basic. This is a last resort but consider camping first.