Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Miranda NSW

Couldn't have been better

Posted 02-Feb-2016
Pros: Pretty much everything, the staff make this place even better. Nice and quiet too.
Location: The boat club is right across the road, shops and cafes and restaurants are all within walking distance.
We stayed for 3 nights in the pool view room and loved every second of it. The staff at the resort were absolutely THE best ever. Friendly, helpful and very welcoming. The rooms are clean and very spacious. The resort is close to everything you could think of. The staff organised our tour of Fraser Island for us where we were picked up and dropped off at the door. How could you ask for anything more. We will be back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Feb-2016 by Regina, Hotel Management
Wow - thank you Leona & Anthon,y for the great review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and that you got to visit Fraser Island - a unique place and a real adventure. We hope you do get the chance to stay with us again - we look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest regards, Robyn & Regina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from hannover

Super Hotel in

Posted 29-Nov-2015
Gute Aufteilung der Zimmer. In der Küche ist alles vorhanden was man braucht. (Leider kein Grill auf dem Balkon vorhanden). Tiefgaragenparkplatz ist vorhanden.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Dec-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Vielen Dank für die Bewertung - Ihre freundlichen Kommentare werden sehr geschätzt. Wir bemühen uns, unseren Gästen alles für einen angenehmen Aufenthalt benötigen. Für zukünftige referecence - wir bieten Sie BBQ in einigen Wohnungen - bitte fragen Sie beim nächsten Mal, und wir werden in der Lage sein, Sie zu unterstützen. Wir hoffen, dass Sie den Rest Ihres Aufenthaltes in Australien genossen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Robyn und Regina
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveller

Posted 08-Nov-2015 on Hotels
The apartment we stayed in was very spacious and clean, however we couldn't get the washing machine to work and the bedroom was very light (the blinds did not join so made it very hard to sleep past sunrise). We found the reception to be very helpful but found it very frustrating that this was usually closed when we would have wanted to speak to them after being out for the day etc. The hotel is a taxi ride from the main esplanade but has the marina and boat club nearby (for an older crowd). I would suggest having a car to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jan-2016 by Regina, Hotel Management
Thank you Anonymous, for the review. We always get very a positive response regarding the size and cleanliness of our apartments and our location is popular due to it's proximity to the marina. It is unfortunate that you were not able to see us as often as you would have liked - the reception operates for 9 hours per day on weekdays and between 6 and 8 hours per day on weekends. You are right, the sun rises very early in the tropics - we do have 'block out' blinds however, unfortunately, it takes a little getting used to.We hope you have the chance to stay with us again. Thanks again for the review. Regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Brisbane

Beautiful Resort

Posted 04-Oct-2015
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: The blinds need to be a better quality.Too much light which made it hard to sleep.
Location: We enjoyed whale watching.The beaches are beautiful and we enjoyed some of the resturants.
We enjoyed our stay at the Akama.The pool was well kept and the kids loved swimming in it.We loved our roomy apartment.The big doors to the balcony let lots of air in and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony.The view was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Oct-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Hi Rachelle - thank you for the great review. We are pleased you had the opportunity to spend some time with the Humpbacks and that the kids had fun in the heated pool. We hope you have the chance to visit us again. Regards, Chris, Henriette & Regina
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Walking distance to Boat Harbour and beach

Posted 11-Sep-2015 on Wotif
Wonderful, just what the doctor ordered, spacious inside and outside, overlooking the pool, very relaxing. Everything you needed, might stay for longer next time. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the lovely review. Great to read that you intend to stay with us again and for longer next time. We try to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay as relaxing as possible. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

fantastic apartment and great service

Posted 10-Sep-2015 on Wotif
Pros: perfect
Location: whale cruises. cycle ride all the way along the esplanade for a day is great-very flat-apartments can arrange the bike hire.
would recommend this to anyone staying in Hervey bay-close to the boats, very relaxed
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Sep-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the great review - we were thrilled to read that you had a relaxing break and that you were happy with the accommodation and the location. Hope you have the chance to visit us again in the future. Regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Comfortable hotel close to Urangan Boat Harbour

Posted 08-Sep-2015
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Urangan is the starting point for the famous Hervey Bay whale-watching tours but also a great location for partly-shaded foreshore walks
Our stay at Akama was first class: pleasant and helpful staff and the location meant it was a few minutes walk to the boat harbour restaurants and a very enjoyable 15 minute walk to more restaurants near the Urangan pier.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Sep-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Thank you for the very kind review. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have had an enjoyable visit and that the location and facilities met their expectations. We hope you have the chance to stay with us again. Kind regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from NZ

Can't wait to go back.

Posted 05-Sep-2015
Pros: Comfy beds, modern well equiped kitchen. Spacious deck, nice furniture, Sound system so we could listen to our own music, clean and modern.
Cons: Parking spaces are rather tight- wouldn't want to have a large vehicle.
Location: Boat harbour for whale watching opportunities, restaurants, easy walk to the pier and along the foreshore.
Great location, excellent facilities. Bed was fantastic, gorgeous views, high standard of furnishings and comfort. Modern, spacious and clean. Free Wifi is a bonus and much enjoyed by our son. Can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Sep-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Wow - thanks Wendy - great review. So pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again. Best wishes and kind regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller from Melbourne, VIC

Excellent facilities and lovely quiet location

Posted 01-Sep-2015
Pros: Great location, close to the airport, staff and service was fantastic
Location: Akama is situated very close to the jetty where the whale watching tours take off from. The office has a full range of day trips available to book.
We only stayed at Akama for 3 nights but ended wishing it was more. The staff were more than helpful, even though we arrived outside of the reception opening hours. The apartment was fantastic - modern, clean and spacious, with a lovely balcony. All the necessary items were provided - full size fridge, dishwasher, laundry facilities, and even capsule coffee machines available from reception. My only very small gripe was the shower - the water pressure wasn't great.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Sep-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
Hello Jude - thanks for the very kind review. Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay - we hope you have the chance to head up our way again. Regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Disappointing room, disappointing service

Posted 19-Aug-2015 on Hotels
The rooms are spacious and fairly comfortable. The reception has extremely limited hours and their attitude is poor. We had a "garden view" room which turned out to be a ground floor room facing a few shrubs along the public sidewalk. We left our blinds closed during our entire stay because pedestrians could look directly into our room. The managers charged me $6 for one phone call, saying that's the minimum amount they can put on a charge card (the one call was to a taxi, because we had an early departure and reception was not open). The place is not bad, I just didn't like how they handled things. We have a 3 week trip in Australia and everywhere people have been pleasant and accommodating, but these people are petty. One other problem: the wifi stopped working the second night.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Oct-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
So disappointed to read your comments and feel it necessary to address some points you have raised. We operate the front desk for 10 - 12 hours per week day and average 6 - 8 hours per day on the weekend (no resort in Hervey Bay offers 24 hour reception). We are contactable 24 hours per day by phone to address any issues guests may have. We have attempted to email you on numerous occasions however, we have not been successful. Regards, Chris, Henriette and Regina
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Oct-2015 by Regina, Hotel Management
So disappointed to read your comments and feel it necessary to address some points you have raised. We operate the front desk for 10 - 12 hours per week day and average 6 - 8 hours per day on the weekend (no resort in Hervey Bay offers 24 hour reception). We are contactable 24 hours per day by phone to address any issues guests may have. We have attempted to email you on numerous occasions however, we have not been successful. Regards, Chris, Henriette & Regina