Ratings based on 71 verified reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller from South Dakota

Unfriendly and distant

Posted 3 Nov 2010
The hotel looks nice enough, but it is a distance to town. This would not have been an issue if the little restaurant down the street were open in the evenings. It is wonderful and the best food we had in Italy, but since tourist season is waning, they now close after lunch. We were told the hotel does not provide shuttle service on the weekends. A taxi is about 20 Euros into Florence, but the bus is convenient. Our small twin room was on four levels--pretty dangerous in the dark. The levels are irregular as well, and naturally I had a nasty fall. The front desk staff did a nice job with English. The Wi-Fi is available for purchase and is only available in the lobby. The restaurant, with wonderful table settings and haute service, was not great. They restricted the menu to the same two choices for three of the five nights we were there. After having it the first night, we went elsewhere, rather than eathing the same meal day after day. There was no lift. Ultimately, we would have been happier elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Kent, UK

Florence

Posted 30 Oct 2010 on Hotels
The hotel is just outside Florence, which is what I wanted so that I saw a little bit of the surrounding area. The hotel has a shuttle service at set times in and out of the city and as a lone traveller this was the best thing about the hotel. The driver was excellent, very polite and made very helpful suggestions about what I might see, how to get into the Uffizi etc. It was worth staying in the hotel for him alone. The hotel restaurent was good and the staff happy to explain local dishes. They warmed up by night 3. Maybe it's the reputation of Brits abroad or jaded staff at the end of the season, but they seemed frosty when I arrived after a 10 hour journey.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Bogota, Colombia

Good hotel if you are driving

Posted 9 Sep 2010 on Hotels
We chose this hotel because it was close to the highway and offered free parking. We took the local bus into Florence, which was fine although the schedule was hard to figure out. Returning at night took a little figuring out. The hotel offers shuttle service into the city, although not on Sundays and in general it seems to be very limited service. The WIFI in the room did not work and there was a charge for it. We had to take the computer into the lobby. The breakfast buffet was fairly dismal. No fresh fruit and the staff was clearing away the dirty dishes throwing the silverware into plastic buckets during our breakfast. Not exactly a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Naples

Pleasant surprise

Posted 19 Oct 2009 on Hotels
Great small hotel in a renovated XVI century villa. Quaint and romantic. Well located near the highway and NOT in the bustle of the city. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Antonio made us feel right at home as did the dining staff and Domenico, the shuttle driver. Rooms always left very clean. Breakfast fresh and plentiful. I'd return to this hotel ANYTIME!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from sunrise

Great room for the money

Posted 1 Oct 2009 on Hotels
Hotel is very beautiful It is almost up in the hilly certosa region. The hotel is very spacious and has a very big pool and surronding. Its the best place to see.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Bournemouth

Excellent and Beautiful, fantastic location

Posted 1 Aug 2009
We travelled to Firenze for our friends wedding and decided to stay out of the city and at a hotel with a pool. We were not disapointed with our choice in anyway, the hotels location was perfect and the amenities were too. The staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. The pool area with bar is clean and very pleasant to relax and enjoy the Tuscan sun. We hired a car as we flew into Pisa, the hotel was easy to find a Firenze just a 15 min drive. The hotel is near to the Autostrada so if you wish to explore Tuscany this is an ideal place to stay. Our friends who stayed in Firenze were all so jealous when they came up to our hotel for an afternoon swim, it is a perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle and the still hot air of the city, and relax in its perfectly kept gardens and breezy warm tuscan countryside. You will no doubt enjoy this hotel, it will make your stay in Tuscany perfect as it did ours.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Texas

A Wonderful Retreat Near Florence

Posted 5 Jul 2009
Stayed 3 nights ~ Charming! Very beautiful grounds. We had extra luggage b/c cruising, also. They changed our room to 'ground' floor in main building with a nice patio. A HUGE room per European sizing. Staff helped with all baggage & refused a tip! Room had a nice patio for early morning reading. Excellent free shuttle, 10-15 minutes to Florence; dropped us near the Duomo. Staff reserved us tickets to Academia. Restaurant is expensive for dinner, wonderful for free breakfast.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Miami, Florida

Good location/ average rooms/ fair price

Posted 24 Jun 2009
Great rural location. Convenient free shuttle to center of Florence. 30 minutes away. Rooms have a awkard set-up , Double bed on mezzanine with very steep escalator. Beds are really uncomfortable. Rooms are private with bathroom . Breakfast is OK. Good for Families, business/ money saving travelers
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from London

OK but not brilliant

Posted 4 Jun 2009
Pros: free pick up from airport (although they hadn't acknowledged my email so I wasn't sure I was going to get it). Free shutle to town (between 8 and 11am and again at 5 and 6pm) Nice swimming pool. Nice gardens. Cons: my room was on the ground floor and a bit dark (looking out onto a wall); no wi-fi reception in the room; shower so small you had to have the door open. (I asked to change rooms but the hotel was full.) Horrible food (i.e. breakfasts with no fresh fruit or salad, only processed meat, cheese, and eggs. When I arrived, I found out that the restuarant didn't open till 8pm, so I got a sandwich that was frankly inedible. As such, I chose not to use it for dinner.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Moscow, Russia

Very good quality for price

Posted 13 May 2009
10 minutes drive from Florence downtown. Nice green big territory with swimming pool. Internet in lobby for extra charge. Service is good. Internal restaurant is nice but expensive and food is not very good. If you turn right from hotel gates and go 5 min. up the hill, you will find nice and cheap village style restaurant. They have own shuttle to downtown and bus stop 300 meters from hotel, but I have not used them.