Ratings based on 1,236 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller from London

Great location for shopping, quite location

Posted 18-Jul-2017
Pros: Modern, clean, quiet.
Cons: My only are for improvement would be the "Gym" its not - a couple of exercise machines in a tiny outside room with no air con .
Location: Shopping, eating, access to public transport -- good central location
Nice compact modern / boutique hotel, clean & quiet rooms, friendly staff. Nice touches with chocolates every day in the room, complimentary fruit, wine, juice etc every day in reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Jul-2017 by María Rosa Castillo, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, We'd like to thank you for sharing your opinions about your stay at Balmes Hotel. We pride ourselves in being considered as an 'oasis' in the heart of Barcelona’s shopping district. We are grateful for your appreciation of the modernity of our hotel and overall standard of the rooms. We shall forward your compliments regarding our team, with thanks. Thank you for your views concerning our fitness centre, equipped with cardio machine, exercise bikes and a steam shower. We regret to see that it did not quite meet your expectations. All of the team really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on many more occasions. Best wishes, María Rosa Castillo, General manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Lovely hotel, staff are welcoming and attentive

Posted 10-Jul-2017
Lovely hotel, staff are welcoming and attentive. Rooms are stylish and clean, good air conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2017 by María Rosa Castillo, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for such a nice review about your stay at the Balmes Hotel in Barcelona We are very pleased to hear your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness, comfort and service at the hotel as well as having a cool room to come back to which is a plus during a hot summer in our city. The satisfaction of our customers during their stay among us is very gratifying for our whole team and encourages us to uphold the high standards we set ourselves. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. With my best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Montreal, qc

Balmes Barcelona

Posted 07-Jul-2017
Central location. Walk 20 minutes to Sagrada Familia. Hotel is modern and clean. Staff is super friendly and accomodating. Any problems are fixed immediately and efficiently. It was a lovely stay. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Jul-2017 by María Rosa Castillo, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Many thanks for your charming review about your stay at Balmes hotel, in Barcelona. We're glad you appreciated our central location near Passeig de Gràcia and Rambla Catalunya, famous shopping areas. Your compliments to the team will be transmitted to the whole staff. We're happy to read you plan to return. We look forward to welcoming you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Small but nice!

Posted 03-Jul-2017
Pros: Modern, renovated, good wifi.
Cons: lots of noise from other rooms and hallway
Location: Great location. 15min walk from Ramblas.
Great location, fully renovated. Ideal for a city trip. Rooms/Bathrooms are small but clean and functional. Pool is VERY small but cosy bar serves you nice drinks before heading for dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Jul-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Modern.

Posted 12-Jun-2017
Extremely modern with nice touches of luxury. Would recommend. Beautiful city. Just be aware of knife crime and pick pocketing.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jun-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests’ overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Mercedes García, Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel. Rooms are just as they are in pictures

Posted 04-Jun-2017
Thought the hotel appears to be doing some renovations, it was nice, clean and I believe was in a great location to shopping, dining and transportation. Only a few short blocks from metro and a bust stop across the street. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jun-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests' overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Ottawa

Helpful Staff, great location and good value

Posted 31-May-2017
We found the staff to be extremely helpful checking us in, telling us about facilities around the hotel. The hotel was siutated in a safe, convenient area..busy but not crazy biusy, .easy to reach the sites via metro and easy walking distance to La Pedrera. The hotel even had a pool in the middle of Barcelona which was a bonus we didn't expect. Room, bed, bathroom were all very nice and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Jun-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Balmes hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. Thank you for pointing out the beauty and comfort of our newly refurbished accommodations designed to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible with design furniture and the latest technology, being fully aware that an attractive accommodation plays a key role to our guests’ overall holiday experience, we are therefore very pleased to read that you were satisfied with yours. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great location

Posted 30-May-2017
Lovely hotel. Clean and comfortable and in a great location. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Had a single room which was more than adequate. Free bottle of water in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Jun-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Balmes hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it to be clean and comfortable at all times. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great stay!

Posted 29-May-2017
The location is amazing, the hotel is great and the staff are brilliant.
Comment from Hotel Management
30-May-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Balmes. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. Thank you for referencing so many of our team members and for the location, we are delighted to know you enjoyed the area.Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New York

Terrible Experience at this Hotel

Posted 22-May-2017
My husband and I arrived at the hotel around 8am after a red-eye flight. At that time, I learned that I accidentally booked a room with a single bed rather than a double bed for 5 nights. The front desk was unsympathetic to my situation and informed me that they were fully booked and their sister hotels were also fully booked. I went on their website and saw that they had at least five rooms available, which I pointed out to them. Eventually, they agreed to let us sleep in the single bed on the first night. They wouldn't provide a roll-away bed or extra blankets. After much back and forth, they finally agreed to move us on the second night to a room with a double bed at $50 EURO extra per night. I asked them for a breakdown for price per night on an invoice. They would not provide one. After leaving feedback with the hotel, I got an email from the Rooms Division Director which confirmed that the hotel was "ALMOST" fully booked meaning they had rooms available but didn't want to give them to us. They didn't apologize for my bad experience and once again wouldn't give us an invoice. As the other reviewers mentioned, there is very loud construction in this hotel. The morning that we were going to check out, we woke up to very loud drill right into the wall of our room. We were very glad to be done with them. This hotel is really nothing special - very minimal with poor lighting/space. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-May-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Balmes Hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Regarding the invoice, we apologize if you haven’t receive one yet but as I explained yesterday, you reserve a room though Expedia which was already prepaid, therefore, Expedia has to provide you with an invoice and not the hotel. In any case, we are sure they will send it to you shortly since we already email them regarding this matter. As per the size of the rooms we regret your disappointment however we would like to point out that we have different room categories at disposal and all accommodations are thoroughly described on our website. You reserved a single room and that day we were fully booked and ,we do not provide rollaway beds since there is no space to fit it in a single room. We are however happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation the following day. For coming occasions, we would like to offer you a personalized booking guidance through our front desk agents, to make sure you make a reservation for the accommodation that best meets your needs and wishes. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Sincerely, Mercedes Garcia Rooms Division Director