Terrible Experience at this Hotel
My husband and I arrived at the hotel around 8am after a red-eye flight. At that time, I learned that I accidentally booked a room with a single bed rather than a double bed for 5 nights. The front desk was unsympathetic to my situation and informed me that they were fully booked and their sister hotels were also fully booked. I went on their website and saw that they had at least five rooms available, which I pointed out to them.
Eventually, they agreed to let us sleep in the single bed on the first night. They wouldn't provide a roll-away bed or extra blankets. After much back and forth, they finally agreed to move us on the second night to a room with a double bed at $50 EURO extra per night. I asked them for a breakdown for price per night on an invoice. They would not provide one.
After leaving feedback with the hotel, I got an email from the Rooms Division Director which confirmed that the hotel was "ALMOST" fully booked meaning they had rooms available but didn't want to give them to us. They didn't apologize for my bad experience and once again wouldn't give us an invoice.
As the other reviewers mentioned, there is very loud construction in this hotel. The morning that we were going to check out, we woke up to very loud drill right into the wall of our room. We were very glad to be done with them.
This hotel is really nothing special - very minimal with poor lighting/space. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-May-2017 by Mercedes Garcia, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Balmes Hotel. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. Regarding the invoice, we apologize if you haven’t receive one yet but as I explained yesterday, you reserve a room though Expedia which was already prepaid, therefore, Expedia has to provide you with an invoice and not the hotel. In any case, we are sure they will send it to you shortly since we already email them regarding this matter. As per the size of the rooms we regret your disappointment however we would like to point out that we have different room categories at disposal and all accommodations are thoroughly described on our website. You reserved a single room and that day we were fully booked and ,we do not provide rollaway beds since there is no space to fit it in a single room. We are however happy to know that thankfully we had availability and were able to provide you with alternative accommodation the following day. For coming occasions, we would like to offer you a personalized booking guidance through our front desk agents, to make sure you make a reservation for the accommodation that best meets your needs and wishes.
Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.
Rooms Division Director