Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great location, but don't stay here for the food

Posted 12-Jul-2016
Lovely staff, especially Thomas, the Concierge. Location is great, near train station. Small room, but it's the food that's the biggest challenge. Powdered eggs are not acceptable in any restaurant, especially the Waldorf. Lunch and dinner were equally disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Jul-2016 by GRM-WAEdi, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your review and I am delighted that our central location perfectly suited your needs and that you were thoroughly satisfied with the service you received from our team. I apologise however, that you were disappointed in our food and this will immediately be passed on to our Food and Beverage Management team to review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Madrid

Posted 08-Jul-2016
Pros: A destacar la amabilidad y eficiencia del personal, que nos ha facilitado mucho la estancia.
Cons: Los ascensores necesitarían una renovación.
Es un hotel fantástico. El servicio estupendo. La habitación muy espaciosa y cómoda. El desayuno muy completo.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Jul-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Mari Carmen, Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I very much hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Essex, England

Lovely Stay in a Lovely Location

Posted 02-Jul-2016
Stayed at the Waldorf for my mums 50th trip to Edinburgh and it was wonderful. It was the kind of place that is luxurious but the staff and atmosphere doesn't feel daunting or ostentatious. Also booked my mum a spa treatment for the morning and the staff were incredibly helpful. She had a wonderful time and there was even a nice birthday plate set up in the room for when we arrived. We also opted for breakfast which was very nice, the pastries and fresh fruit especially. Overall very pleased with our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jul-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Lucy, Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted that it was everything you wanted such a special occasion to be and that we were able to make the stay that bit more memorable. Please do come back soon! Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Seattle

Excellent closure of a Month of touring Scotland!

Posted 17-Jun-2016
Welcoming staff, beautiful quiet room, delicious breakfast, excellent wait service. Tops five stars for our stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Jun-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Arvida, I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback and please do come back soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Stonehouse St Lanarkshire

Beautiful,stylish and very elegant Edinburgh Hotel

Posted 04-Jun-2016
Pros: You feel you are having a real high end treat of wonderful old fashioned courtesy, service and style in a very elegant& beautiful situation.Breakfast!
Cons: Offer of a walk in shower as husband has a disability. Didn't think to ask about this and just assumed three would be one. Check towel rail.
Location: Situation right on the corner of Princess street, overlooking the castle and fabulously located for all the Edinburgh shops and places of interest.
We wanted to treat ourselves as were up for a major award - which we won! It had to be near the EICC and on comparing prices with Expedia we had felt the difference in price would be worth it because of the Waldorph Astoria's fabulous reputation. Staff were very good a reserving a disabled parking space and both parking and delivering the car to us next day. Check in was efficient and helpful. Our premium room was of a very good quality and the room, bed and bedding were very luxurious and clean. We had hoped for a large shower cabin as my husband finds getting in and out of a bath difficult but this was a shower over the bath and although spotlessly clean it was small and the towel radiator was not working. Will know the next time to request if possible a walk in shower. Had hoped there would have been a bottle of water in the Roma's in MacDonald Hotels. Room service to bring water was excellent. Breakfast was absolutly wonderful. Real quality Scottish ingredients proudly named, very well cooked and kept hot. A superb choice and the selection was just amazing including the breads, pancakes and croissants. Lots of fruit and fruit juice choices too. There was even smoked salmon! Waiting staff were very charming and efficient. Lovely to sit in the Peacock lounge after and watch the world go by. Check out was busy but efficient and it was lovely to have staff on the door say goodbye to us both.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Jun-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Jean, Thank you for your wonderful and comprehensive review of your time with us. I am absolutely delighted to read such a full account of how you enjoyed all the aspects of your stay and it seems we made an impression in all of our facilities. I very much hope that we can welcome you back on the back of this for another wonderful experience. Best regards Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from UK

Superb hotel in an excellent location

Posted 31-May-2016
Pros: Location and the staff
Beautiful hotel with excellent staff. The lobby area and restaurants are stunning. Staff could not do enough for us. The room was large with a huge bed and great walk in shower. Very quiet even though in the heart of Edinburgh
Comment from Hotel Management
31-May-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Lee, Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially the staff. Please do come back soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from dundee

Great hotel who seem to get everything right

Posted 28-May-2016
Great hotel. Excellent rooms and staff. Central location, Galvin restaurant serves great food and try the burger in the bar, one of the best in Edinburgh. Beach boys concert next door in the Usher Hall . Perfect stay. 'Wouldn't it be nice' to stay here again. 😀
Comment from Hotel Management
31-May-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Roy, Thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Scotland

Beautiful views, great room.

Posted 27-May-2016
Great city, staff were friendly, facilities open to all hotel residents (was unaware and a great surprise the swim was lovely). The shower in the room wasn't very powerful but that's just being picky. Overall great stay
Comment from Hotel Management
31-May-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Jade, Thank you for staying with us and of course for leaving feedback. I am pleased that you had a positive experience and I dearly hope that we can welcome you back soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Excellent hotel in the centre of Edinburgh

Posted 26-May-2016
Excellent hotel in the centre of Edinburgh with a beautiful view of the hotel . Our room was very large , very clean and the service was great . Food in the restaurant was excellent .
Comment from Hotel Management
31-May-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the restaurant was a key highlight. Thank you for your review and please do come back soon. Best regards, Dale MacPhee General Manager
5out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great location

Posted 26-May-2016
Great location. Courteous staff. Excellent breakfast. Convenient to bus to airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-May-2016 by GMWAEDI, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you back soon. Best, Dale MacPhee General Manager