Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Ontario

Great weekend hotel

Posted 18-Aug-2017
Pros: Clean, spacious rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: N o problems.
Location: It was an easy drive (about 15 minutes ) to the Lakeview Amphitheatre.
We really enjoyed our stay at this lovely property that has a resort feel to it. It was centrally located for us and was relaxing with the great pool facilities. It made our weekend in Syracuse for the Luke Bryan concert just perfect!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Aug-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Mark, thanks so much for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse for your stay. It is nice to read that we met all of your expectations, and you were especially happy with our service and facilities. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit. Thank you, Thomas Olsen, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Cleveland

Will think twice

Posted 17-Aug-2017
Was not expecting to have a restaurant in the hotel and to pay for our food also
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Rose, thank you for being our guest at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse. Although you were overall satisfied with your visit, we are sorry for not meeting all of your expectations. We value your feedback and hope the positive aspects of your visit will bring you back to our hotel in the future. Thank you, Thomas Olsen, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 17-Aug-2017
Nice staff dirty room comfy beds ...............................
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse. It’s nice to know you liked our helpful associates and enjoyed the comfort of our beds. We have also shared your comment with our housekeeping team in an effort to improve our service. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Thank you, Thomas Olsen, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

nice staff, Not the cleanest hotel

Posted 14-Aug-2017
Cons: cleaner rooms
beds were comfortable but comforters were dirty. Even after they cleaned the room after the first night they used same comforter that had either food or tobacco stuck to it , very Gross. Staff was pretty good for the most part
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Aug-2017 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Dear Sam, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are happy knowing your stay with us was mostly enjoyable and that you were pleased with our staff. However, we are sorry to hear about the cleanliness issue with your room. We will share your feedback with our housekeeping staff in order to address this issue. We appreciate you sharing your concerns as this helps us see where improvements are needed. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Thank you, Thomas Olsen General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Syracuse, NY

Charged 3-times never refunded filing a lawsuit

Posted 26-Jul-2017
This is the most frustrating and ridiculous hotel experience I've ever had. I booked a room for one night through Expedia. Upon arrival, the front desk took my credit card and started charging on it. They first swiped $298.55 off my card, and it went through because I get message notification from my bank. Then, they told me they had system failure and it didn't go through, and they swiped again. The second charge was $236.17, confirmed by my bank. They told me both charges would be refunded since I already paid through Expedia. 2 weeks passed, and I didn't get any refund. I went to the hotel and ask for the refund. The lady looked through their system and told me she "don't know why nobody took care of these charges, but you will be refunded in a couple days". I got the refund of $298.55 couple days later, but got a $45 charge at the same time, for no reason. The second refund never happened. I went back to the hotel couple days later. A guy who called himself some sort of manager was at the front desk instead of the lady. He told me that there is no record of any of those charges in their system, so he couldn't do anything for me. I showed him my bank statement which clearly indicates those charges, and he still gave me the same response: couldn't find any record in our system. I haven't had a worse hotel experience. Have no choice but seeing my lawyer. Hope I can get my money back someday.
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Han, we were disappointed to learn about the difficulties you experienced while a guest at our hotel. We offer our sincere apologies and assure you that this is not our normal standard. We hope you will accept our apologies that you were overcharged for your stay. Rest assured, this was not deliberate, and we are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We hope this incident does not hinder your opinion of our brand and look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay. Thank you, Thomas Olsen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-Jul-2017
Staff was great. I wasn't crazy about the pool having to be cleaned while we were there. One of the reasons i picked the hotel was to have use of a pool while traveling.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Jul-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We are pleased you had a wonderful visit to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse, and we thank you for sharing your feedback! It is nice to know you were pleased with your stay and that our team took good care of you. However, I’m sorry you were unable to use our pool this time. We hope the positive aspects of your stay will bring you back to us. Thank you, Thomas Olsen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Metro Detroit, MI

WARM COOKIES!

Posted 11-Jul-2017
Pros: Clean bathroom; clean and spacious room; quick elevator; friendly staff; easy parking.
Cons: The lobby / restaurant / bar area was loud when we arrived. (May have been a party or wedding reception.) It was difficult to hear staff at first.
Location: We were traveling through and did not spend time in town. Easy on/off from expressway but still a quiet room!
I have heard of the famous DoubleTree warm cookies, but I had never experienced them. Our visit was everything we could hope for. Quick check-in (including complimentary warm cookies) and easy access from the parking lot to a door near the elevator. We were tired from traveling and ordered room service, which arrived within 20 minutes of calling. Every staff person we encountered was friendly, pleasant, and efficient. When we went to check-out, we got even more warm cookies! It was a lovely stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jenni, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse. We are pleased to read you enjoyed our traditional DoubleTree cookies and that our associates thoroughly impressed you with their service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Thank you, Thomas Olsen, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Jul-2017
Located near the Carrier plant. Not many other businesses close by. Elevators were a long walk from the front desk when we were carrying luggage.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We apologize for not meeting expectations, as we truly take pride in our service. Your concerns have been shared with our team, so that we may improve our guest's experiences. We look forward to having another chance to welcome you again. Thank you, Thomas Olsen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice, Clean Hotel

Posted 07-Jul-2017
Pros: Clean room, king size beds, quick and polite service.
Location: Enjoyed dinner at the Texas Roadhouse.
We just stayed one night, travelling through but the hotel was very nice, clean and had lots of parking. We didn't get to try the two swimming pools but they looked great.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Jul-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse. We are delighted to know you were comfortable here and that you were impressed with all the aspects of our hotel, especially with our well-maintained property. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future visit. Thank you, Thomas Olsen, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 06-Jul-2017
Very friendly staff. Room was nice, bed very comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Syracuse. We are delighted to read you loved your well-appointed room and that the service you received from our associates made your stay a memorable one. We hope you will choose our hotel every time you are in the area. Thank you, Thomas Olsen, General Manager