Ratings based on 735 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Swaffham

Very unhappy

Posted 20-Sep-2017
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: Fixing broken TV & shower
Location: Catch the ferry
TV did not work & took 10 minutes of fiddling with wires, plugs ect. The shower head flew past my head and after dodging it, the clip holding it on was broken. So he shower I was looking forward to before driving to Germany had to held in one hand. A knackered, third world shower then gave a pisspoor shower. Be happy if I was back in Afghanistan, but not in Ramada, Dover. The girl at the desk seemed disinterested! But restaurant staff brilliant.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear James Thank you for your review and feedback therein, it has been most helpful. I only wish it had been for more positive reasons. With hindsight I wish you could have brought these issues to my attention at the time so they could have been rectified, however, both housekeeping and the maintenance team should have resolved these prior to you checking in, so please accept my sincere apologies for their failings. I do hope that one day in the future you might give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us as these issues are not our normal standard. Once again, thank you for your feedback, it has been most appreciated Kind regards Neil
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Stavanger

Not the best experience

Posted 13-Sep-2017
Booked for Saturday night to get early morning ferry but maybe unlucky that they put us in a ground floor room with s wedding party going on till late. Also was overcharged in restaurant and then went through a real experience as they tried to refund correct amount of cash to my card and also removed the service charge they applied as in my opinion this should be at my discretion
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and feedback therein. I am sorry for the problems you encountered, this was not our intention to make your stay memorable for the wrong reasons. I will discuss your comments about the wrong bill amount and the service charge aspect. This is discretionary and you were quite right to ask it to be removed if you didn't want to pay it. I am truly sorry for what you encountered and we will review all that you have said in order to prevent it from happening again in the future Kindest regards Neil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from york

Posted 05-Sep-2017
Convenient for the port. Nice restaurant but very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Hussein Thank you for your review and kind scores-these are very much appreciated. I have noted your comment about the slow service and I will discuss this with the kitchen and work out why this happened and attempt to alleviate this from occurring in the future Once again, thank you for your feedback, it has been moist helpful Kind regards Neil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 02-Sep-2017
Great location for Dover town. Also has a gym 👍 and close to a local superstore. very quiet location too.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and the 4 stars-these are very much appreciated and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again when you are in the area Kind regards Neil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Nuneaton, Warwickshire, England

Posted 31-Aug-2017
Comfortable hotel, good facilities. Ideal stopover to / from port of Dover
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Phil Thank you for your time in giving me your feedback following your recent stay-this is very much appreciated and I hope we will be your hotel of choice when you are using the Port of Dover again in the future Kind regards Neil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from somerset

Stop over night before ferry

Posted 26-Aug-2017
We initially booked this hotel as it had air conditioning although was more expensive than the premier inn in Dover.Yet there wasn't air conditioning only a fan. As you could open the window this was okay. we had a Groupon code for evening meal which was excellent and made it very good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear J Thank you for your review and kind comments about the dinner you enjoyed. I have noted your comment about the air conditioning and this is something that is being planned in all the rooms that currently do not have this facility. Should you be planning to return in the future, please let me know and I will ensure you have a room with this if the refurbishment work hasn't yet been completed Once again, thank you for your feedback, it has been most helpful Kind regards Neil
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Bucks.

Good hotel for a stopover near Dover Port

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Pros: Location and facilities.
Cons: no problems!
Location: Only c 3 miles to the ferry port.
Relaxing one night stay before being picked up the following morning by coach to the ferry for a river cruise holiday. Being able to park the car there during our trip was a bonus. Reception staff all very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Roy Thank you for your review and kind comments-these are very much appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I hope we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from todmorden

Posted 24-Aug-2017
Lovely. And good food. Thanks. Unfortunately you are now spoiling that experience by asking me to write more than I wish to.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Chloe Thank you for your review and I really appreciated your kind words and the food I hope we will be able to look after you again in the future! Kind regards Neil
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Warwick

A trip to France

Posted 23-Aug-2017
Pros: close to the ferry port
Cons: 24hour bar!
Location: catch a ferry
The hotel was fine, it was clean and tidy and I was only there for 4 hours to sleep. Disappointed to find the bar was closed. The staff were helpful but my room was small. Fine for a night but not for several. Got some sleep and left.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Mr R Thank you for your feedback and kind comments-these are most helpful. Whilst the bar shutters would have been down, the night manager would quite happily serve you a drink, perhaps if you are staying again in the future you can let us know and I will ensure that this happens if you are arriving late Once again, thank you for your comments, they have been helpful Kind regards Neil
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel convenient for Dover Ferry terminal

Posted 23-Aug-2017
Pros: The restaurant was good, there is a bar as well and a small Costa coffee.
Cons: The rooms need to be refreshed/refurbished and the cleaning could be improved.
Location: It is conveniently located to reach the Dover Ferry Terminal by car.
I booked a one night double room the night before a early ferry to France. I had a voucher for the room and upgraded to the suite king. The room was alright, the furniture and decoration were a bit dated. The bed was definitely not a king size bed and was not comfortable at all. The cleanliness was average in the room and in the bathroom. I am happy I had a voucher because the room is overpriced for what it was. We did not have breakfast because it was in extra and we left so early. We had diner at the restaurant and the food was very good and the atmosphere very nice there.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2017 by neil, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and the constructive feedback therein-this is very much appreciated as are the kind words about the food and restaurant. I understand your comments about the décor and we have already started refurbishing the hotel because of this reason. Perhaps should you return in the future you will get to enjoy the improvements Once again, thank you for your review it has been very helpful Kind regards Neil