Ratings based on 109 verified reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 30 Sep 2019
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 27 Aug 2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 19 Aug 2019
The building and gardens are very beautiful and well kept. The pool/jacuzzi were nice and the gym is average (old equipment) but perfectly fine for just going once or twice. Check in and out very quick and the room was quite nice. The bathroom and shower were the best part of the room, the room itself did get warm at night and the fan provided (although good) was very noisy to sleep with. There is plenty of free car parking. Breakfast is great but lunch and dinner options seem very limited and expensive so we ate out. It’s a shame they didn’t have another restaurant or a few more options on the menu. There was a wedding every day of our stay which wasn’t too bad but you could see everything revolves around the wedding and there were people everywhere and standing/drinking in the reception and hallway like they had no where to go after the wedding in the evening. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 9 Jul 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 6 Jul 2019 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by a verified traveller

A very disappointing stay

Posted 24 Jun 2019 on Hotels
We stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is lovely and in a fantastic area. Unfortunately there was a wedding on the Saturday and Sunday of our stay. This resulted in very poor service. My nephews first birthday meal was ruined as one meal did not arrive at all and then the bar was so busy and rowdy that it took a long time to be served and was completely inappropriate for 2 young families. Areas of the hotel were not cleaned after the wedding had finished, toilets were a disgrace and glasses left everywhere. We were woken on many occasion through the night with wedding party guests. This is a lovely hotel if there are no weddings or corporate events, but if there are I would definitely avoid.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

AWFUL!

Posted 5 Jun 2019 on Hotels
Wotton House is a very attractive country house turned hotel but the management is hopeless and offers no direction to the staff. As we arrived, a large wedding was taking place which completely took over the house leaving no room for other guests. The staff was overrun with complaints about the noise and lack of service. Our rooms were small and had no view. Even following the wedding, there was a lack of staff to serve basic hotel services. Rooms were not made up at 4pm, the bar would not serve cocktails as management had determined they aren’t profitable. The dining room has rather a cafeteria feel about it which is a pity because the food at dinner was ambitious and rather good. The service at breakfast was dire. We were told we could not have an expresso drink, although we’d had one the previous day. A buffet is available and the staff takes great pains to deny that other items can be ordered although we were told by the service staff at dinner that options other than the buffet are available. I took all these complaints to the management upon checkout and have subsequently received an email from the manager’s assistant saying they were sorry. I had prepaid my accommodation costs and no refund was offered. I was comped the cost of one dinner which I don’t think is a satisfactory response to the multiple issues that arose during my stay. The management appear to be totally unaware and/or uncaring of the experiences of guests. .
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 3 Jun 2019
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 27 May 2019
The gardens were beautiful! We really enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. The breakfast was also excellent.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 1 May 2019
The gardens are simply amazing. Beautiful terraces for good weather, a wonderful historic house. Dining room was the least interesting part; very dull.