Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Denver Co

Pleasant Stay

Posted 18-Jan-2017
Enjoyed my stay will stay again told all my friends
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Bad experience, dirty room

Posted 12-Jan-2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Staff, room cleanliness, breakfast food.
We had to checkout of the hotel 1 night early due to the poor conditions of the room. Our 1 year old kept finding more and more filth (used tampon applicators) under the furniture and eventually found a wall outlet where the cover had fallen off, exposing the electrical wires. The staff was hard to get a hold of. Some of them were lounging around the lobby while I waited for 5 minutes for someone to help me at the front desk. They advertised free breakfast, but it was not much more than coffee and oatmeal packets. I requested a refund for the 3rd night from Extended Stay, but they said they could not help me as I had booked through Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Jan-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you being our guest and sharing your observations. We value comments, both positive and negative, as they help us to improve our services. Please accept our apologies for oversights in the servicing of your room. We aim to exceed expectations - especially cleanliness of our facility and guest suites, and we hope you will consider us again whenever your travels bring you to our area. Thank you, General Manager
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

You pay for what you get

Posted 06-Jan-2017
All was great expect. Dirty tub and hotel room floor, which is gross considering its the extended stay which leaves me to believe they never sweep. They answer the hotel phone literally from the time I checked in till the time I checked out. Which was annoying considering the snow. I had to walk all the way to the front desk to ask for a remote control that was never in the room. Heated worked fine all night. My only good experience. Just stay away.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jan-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Our goal is to provide excellent service, so we apologize this was not your experience. Your concerns have been shared with the management team, and we are following up to determine where we went wrong and how we can enhance our service to our guests. Thank you for choosing us for your stay. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
1out of 5
by A verified traveller

Unsanitary, had to leave, would not refund

Posted 18-Dec-2016
Horrible experience, horrible items found in the room, horrible cleanliness. Contact me directly for details of what was found in the room. It's too deplorable to even type.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Dec-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your concerns. I am so sorry to hear you had some issues during your recent visit. Our front desk staff is trained to handle all guest issues promptly and professionally. We would have welcomed the chance to do so in your case. I am sorry to hear you had to leave us early. We assure you we will do all we can to make sure each guest has a pleasant experience moving forward. We hope to welcome you back so we can have the chance to earn your trust back in the brand. General Manager
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from US

Pimps hookers and meth

Posted 01-Dec-2016
Got to the room, was disgusted. Room was filthy and I felt Like I should probably have my gun. Decided to get dinner and a new room. Probably the trashiest place in this part of town. LOOK AT OTHER OPTIONS.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Dec-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kris, We are sorry our accommodations and service did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing clean, comfortable accommodations and a safe environment for our guests, and we apologize if you felt this was not the case. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance to provide the hospitality you deserve. Sincerely, General Manager
3out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from US

Posted 26-Oct-2016
Staff wasn't ever at desk.room was very convenient with a small kitchen.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Oct-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback of your stay at Extended Stay America - Denver - Tech Center - Central. We are happy to know that your overall visit was pleasant and you liked your room with a kitchenette. Having said that, we are sorry for the service issues you experienced with our front desk staff. I have addressed your concern with my Front Desk Manager as well. We would love to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
3out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveller from US

A Satisfactory Stay

Posted 26-Oct-2016
Location: Comedy Works comedy club. Shopping center. Downtown Denver
I say that our experience with hotel was "satisfactory" because we spent very little time in the hotel itself. The Good: The hotel was close to everything we needed and everywhere we wanted to go. We got a lot for the price we paid - a big room and comfortable pull-out couch. The Wifi was satisfactory - not too slow, not very fast. The staff (I can only speak about the front desk) was friendly and accommodating. The Bad: The smoke detector was on the kitchenette table instead of installed on the ceiling. I personally did not like that the bathroom sink was not in a separate room like the toilet. I wasn't aware that the "Hotel" was closer in style to a Motel than a hotel. I generally don't like staying in Motels. The Ugly: It got cold both nights we stayed and both of the heating units were not fully operational - one would turn on and off for no apparent reason at times through the night and the other one simply didn't come on at all. The walkways in front of the hotel units were dirty and I clothes on the ground, in front of more that one unit. So if you are looking for a low cost, no-frills, near the city place to stay for a few days then this is the place.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Oct-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you liked your comfortable room as well as our affordable prices. However, we regret that your stay was not perfect. We will take this as an opportunity to improve our offerings, and we thank you for sharing your concerns. Our maintenance team will ensure the heaters in your room are functional. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to see you again and have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Houston

Don't stay here!

Posted 17-Oct-2016 on Orbitz
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It's in a shady part of Denver. The room wasn't clean, dishes left in the dishwasher from previous customers. The microwave was dirty, Noone cleaned it from the last customers. The only thing I liked about the room was it had a loveseat to where you could watch tv. But it had feet print all over it. The sheets weren't clean looking. Had stains.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Oct-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the less than clean suite you described in your feedback. We have a very conscientious housekeeping team and clearly they missed some important steps, for this I am sorry. We can certainly do better and we hope you will select our hotel again in the future so you can have the type of stay you expect and deserve. Thank you, General Manager
2out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 12-Oct-2016 on Hotels
Wi-Fi wouldn't work, front desk was no help and called me dumb essentially. Bathroom was gross and non windows opened
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Oct-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We were thrilled to have you as a guest and appreciate your feedback. I am very sorry for the Wi-Fi and cleanliness issues you experienced on your recent stay. Your comments will be shared with our team as we continue to improve our services. We hope this experience will not deter you from future stays as we'd love to have another opportunity to provide an outstanding visit. Sincerely, General Manager
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Denver, CO

Worst stay ever!

Posted 12-Oct-2016 on Orbitz
Location: Close to 25 and 225 freeway.
The hotel is good looking from outside, disaster from the inside. Avoid this hotel safe your money safe your night and sleep in your car if you have no other option than this one!
Comment from Hotel Management
14-Oct-2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and sharing a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location but we are very sorry for not meeting your expectations overall. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future. Sincerely, General Manager