Ratings based on 171 verified reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Baton Rouge

Posted 14 Oct 2019
The property was very clean and conveniently located to the town square. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with any questions we had.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 4 Oct 2019
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18 Sep 2019
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Florida

Posted 10 Jul 2019
This is a beautiful hotel in the center of Cortona. The room was spacious, good air conditioning, lovely breakfast and the staff and the manager were very nice. Unfortunately for us we had a night of interrupted sleep as some young Italian men checked in late at night, went out, came back in, went out came back in and decided to shout and holler each time down the hallway and outside our room throughout the night and early hours of the morning. The manager wanted to upgrade us the next night which was very nice but we decided to check out a day early.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

A delightful stay in Cortona

Posted 25 Jun 2019 on Hotels
This is a beautiful historic hotel steps away from the famous piazza and right in the heart of Cortona. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was delightful and the common areas very beautifully done with painted wall details and comfortable soft seating. Breakfast was bountiful and served in another lovely room. I have been very happy each time I have stayed in the San Michele.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Beautiful, outstanding, a constant favorite

Posted 16 Jun 2019 on Hotels
Hotel San Michele is not only my favorite in Cortona, it’s one of my favorites in the world. The modified 16th-Century Baldelli Palace, it is gloriously picturesque and very comfortable. The staff are generally remarkable and are outstanding at making guests feel both welcome and constantly at home- they deserve lots of credit for how well they do that. You can’t expect the sort of cold but predictable uniformity of a Hilton here though; it is wonderfully quirky from room to room, with some for example having different bath and shower arrangements, layouts, some with grand windows onto via Guelfa and others having huge original hardwood beams running through it. Above all, it is unique. Appreciate the history and comfort of Hotel San Michele, and feel as if you have blended into the rich history of this beautiful comune. It is a remarkable treat.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Great location and service

Posted 15 Jun 2019 on Hotels
A fabulous hotel in a great location. Cortona can be loud at times but this location is in the heart of things yet surprisingly peaceful. Great staff and wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

A delightful visit to Cortona

Posted 13 Jun 2019 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay at San Michele. The hotel is located in a palazzo just off the principle piazza. It is as comfortable as it is beautiful. The young service staff was charming, knowledgeable and helpful. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated, the breakfast bountiful and served in a room decorated in an historic manner under a wooden beamed ceiling. We loved every minute of our stay.
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 30 Apr 2019
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Boulder, Colorado

Posted 22 Apr 2019
We loved the patio and view of the valley. The stairs to our room were interestingly steep enough 😁. Even though the tub had a Jacuzzi, it would have been nice to have a shower. Location was beautiful and perfect.