Ratings based on 4,460 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Cincinnati

Hidden Gem

Posted 22-Mar-2017
Pros: I loved the rooms. I was especially touched by the level of warmth and kindness extended from the doormen, bell hops, front desk and house cleaning.
Location: The location is perfect! A block off Michigan Avenue next to the John Hancock Tower and ideally located for fine dining and shopping.
I was very pleasantly surprised with my stay at Raffaello Hotel. The rooms were very nicely updated and spacious and I could not have been happier with my stay at the Raffaello Hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Cincinnati

Chicago Shopping

Posted 21-Mar-2017
Pros: Very nicely updated. The staff, from the doorman, bell hop, front desk & cleaning crew were all very nice. Great first impression!
Cons: If I had any complaints it is that the elevators are small to handle the loads during busy times.
Location: Just a block off the Magnificent Mile next to the John Hancock Tower one could not be better located.
I was very impressed with the Raffaello Hotel. I typically stay at the Drake, Omni and Sofitel but the Raffaello Hotel was a great value and very nicely appointed and would definitely recommend the Raffaello Hotel to anyone. It appears to be recently updated, comfortable and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Mar-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay with the Raffaello Hotel. I'm glad to see that we are your new home away from home when Visiting. Thank you for your compliments to our hotel staff, as we do strive to give our guest the best customer service experience. I am disappointed to see that you found the elevators too small for your needs, but happy that it did not deter from you overall experience. It means a lot to us that you would recommend our hotel! We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again the next time you are visiting Chicago.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Oklahoma City, OK

Hotel was way too hot with unhelpful employees

Posted 14-Mar-2017
Pros: I liked how close the hotel was to the attractions in the city. I also loved the Donuts on the ground floor of this building. They were excellent!
Cons: Better customer service
Location: This place was right downtown with lots to do within walking distance. Great location.
We stayed the weekend at this hotel and we were pretty displeased with it. We got into town on a Thursday evening at around 9:30 pm. The hotel personnel tried to find our reservations and couldn't because he said the internet was down. Then when he found them, he said he couldn't make keys so we decided to grab some pizza and wait out the technical difficulties. We had to leave our luggage at the hotel so the staff decided to put them on a cart and give us tags. The bag handler didn't understand the point of a bag tag and wanted to keep all the tags so we had no reason to identify them when we came back. He also had a unique aroma to him that reminded me of marijuana. When we came back, we finally got rooms to go to that were 75 degrees and extremely small. We decided to turn on the A/C, warm air came out. The front desk informed us that they did not have the A/C turned on so we resorted to opening the window when its 19 degrees outside. They did not seem to care for the people that are staying at this hotel. Everything else with this hotel was fairly acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Mar-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Your feedback is very important to us. We thank you for sharing this constructive information to let us know how we are doing. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our location and the Glazed and Infused donut shop in the lobby. However, it is upsetting to us that we did not exceed your expectations with the customer service. We assure you our number one concern is the satisfaction of our guests. If given an opportunity in the future, we will do our absolute best to change your impression for the better.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from S

Never Again!

Posted 22-Feb-2017
After being a loyal fan of this hotel, I will no longer have anything to do with it. We reserved a grand suite for three days. When we arrived at 11:00 pm we were told the room was sold (it was guaranteed late arrival). We were downgraded to a small room on the third floor facing the alley for that night. The room was loud and we were awakened by dumpsters being moved between 4-5am. We were also told another room would not be available until after checkouts and cleanings occurred. I'm mad because after a long trip, getting downgraded to a small, loud room and being inconvenienced for another day until a room was ready, I expected the room for that night to be complimentary. We were given the difference between the grand suite and the dumpy room. I'm disappointed with Expedia "Gold" and the hotel for how this was resolved.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Feb-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to see that you did not have a better experience with us and i apologize on behalf of the staff that you did not get your guaranteed room type upon check-in. If you have not already, you should receive a reimbursement for the room-type differential. Management has taken the necessary measures with the staff, and I am glad our management team was able to move you to your originally guaranteed guest room for the remainder of your stay. We sincerely hope you'll stay with us again so that we may exceed your expectations in the future.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from S.W

Bed Bugs

Posted 22-Feb-2017
We arrived and I was told I had to put down a $100 deposit I respected that. But as the night went on my boyfriend felt something bite him, small bug came out of his pillow. We thought it was a bed bug so we dusted the bed off and then we were about to lay back down again anoth bug emerged from my pillow this time so we slept on the couch bc when all of this happened it was about 4 something in the morning so I woke up the next day went to the front desk showed them the pictures and videos they moved me to another room but wouldn't give me my money back. So they gave they said they have to have some inspector guy come in and look and tell what type of bug it was regardless I didn't care it was a bug period. So today is the 21st of February and I haven't received a email or anything from the hotel trying to accomendate my stay. I rented out a grand delux suite and got bumped down to a delux suite it was crazy bc I live out of town and this weekend was the only free time I got from work to come visit him.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Feb-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
I have been in contact with the hotel management regarding the details on your review, and I am understanding that you have received communication from management with regards to your stay. We take these situations very seriously, resulting in a slight delay in getting back to you so that we can fully investigate your claim. But i am glad to see that management was able to assist you in resolving the situation. We sincerely hope you'll choose to stay with us again in the future so that we may exceed your expectations.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Chicago

ONE NIGHT GETAWAY!

Posted 14-Feb-2017
Pros: I liked the whole facility, and will definitely be returning to the Drumbar for cocktails whether staying at the hotel or not. Early evening is best.
Cons: Shower curtain needed! The shower is half open with glass near the head, but shower water spatter finds its way to the floor and makes it slippery.
Location: Lakefront is two blocks away, Oak Street Beach one block north, North Michigan Avenue one block east, Rush St. two blocks away, Gorgeous area.
We wanted to escape 'life' for 24 hours on a weekend and discovered Rafaello. It was a perfect destination with numerous clubs and restaurants within walking distance. Very safe area next door to the Hancock Center. Self Park was a block away and reasonable with in and out privileges which we wound up not needing. One bedroom suite was spacious, very clean and very quiet. Furniture and furnishings in excellent condition. New 48" Samsung HD Flat Screens in living area and bedroom. Staff was very professional and pleasant. 'Drumbar' on the roof level is an exceptional boutique club with genuine mixologist cocktails that you will not find anywhere else, and priced very reasonably. AND, front desk comped us a round when we arrived without asking. Remarkably tasty cocktails and very well crafted. We will be staying again and have already re booked for another night or maybe two nights this spring. Great experience, no complaints, highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Feb-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your five star rating! I'm so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay(cation) and found your guest room accommodations comfortable. I'm happy to see you enjoyed the location and greatly enjoyed the rooftop bar. I will refer your feedback to management about the shower situation. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again when you return in the spring!
4out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveller

Charming hotel

Posted 24-Jan-2017
Pros: Room and quaint lobby
Location: Everything Michigan Avenue has to offer. Close to Northwestern Hospital.
Lovely, quiet hotel, close to Michigan Avenue. Nicely sized room and layout, newer fixtures.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Jan-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your guest room accommodations and our intimate lobby, as well as our convenient location. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again very soon.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from St. Louis

Great Staff

Posted 23-Jan-2017
Pros: Location and convenience of access to downtown Chicago
All of the staff and help that we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The check-in process only took a few moments and when we inquired about parking or dining the staff provided great feed back and information. Very good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Jan-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely review! i'm glad to see you enjoyed the location. Thank you for your compliments to our staff! We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again the next time you are visiting Chicago!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from G

Posted 17-Jan-2017
Birthday weekend. Beautiful room & beautiful views!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Jan-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star rating and for choosing the Raffaello for your birthday celebration. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the views and your guest room accommodations. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

It's nice hotel with great location.

Posted 16-Jan-2017
I will reserve a room in this hotel when I get back to Chicago again.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Jan-2017 by APedro, Hotel Management
Thank you for your five star rating! I'm glad to see you enjoyed the location and we are excited to have the pleasure of hosting you the next time you a in Chicago. Thank you for choosing the Raffaello!