Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from sydney

Posted 23-Jan-2018
Very quiet. Short walk away from the main centre of byron. No lights on the gravel road though so was a hard walk for elderly parents. Clean, quiet caravan park. Ideal for families or couples wanting to escape the bustle of byron but still be near by
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jan-2018 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thanks Una We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Glen Villa Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Position and staff were perfect

Posted 17-Jan-2018
The condition of the accomodation compared to price was really really disappointing the laundry and kitchen facilities of the resort use that term loosely were really good the position also is very good staff were very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Jan-2018 by A.Beech, Hotel Management
thank you for taking time out to provide us with some feedback. We will pass this on to the Directors of the Park.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Hervey Bay

Tired...

Posted 18-Dec-2017
Pros: Position
Cons: New Buildings
Location: Great
Buildings are getting old now but still demanding high tariffs due to proximity to town. Clean but that is about all I can say in the positive. TV was the size of a Tablet/IPad and the air conditioner is loud and in the bathroom not the living room? Never again for the price when comparing other motels in town and their asking prices being similar.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Dec-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback Kim. We will get our maintenance department to check the airconditioner. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations but still hope you had a positive Byron Experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Philadelphia

Comfortable home away from home

Posted 02-Dec-2017
Pros: Location was perfect. We could walk into town or to the beach, but were out of town enough that it was very quiet.
Our little cabin was so comfortable and cozy. We wish we could have stayed longer because it was the perfect place to unwind after a day of hiking, swimming, or shopping in the beautiful Byron Bay area.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Dec-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thanks Amanda for your 5/5 rating. We are glad you enjoyed the park as much as we enjoy trying to meet our guests' expectations. We would love for you to stay again when you are next in Byron. The Glen Villa Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from sydney

Posted 12-Nov-2017
Great location , walking distance to town and the beach, very quiet and peaceful
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Nov-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thanks Annie for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Glen Villa :) The Glen Villa Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sunshine Coast

Absolutely disgusting room which was not clean

Posted 07-Nov-2017 on Wotif
We had booked for 3 days into a cabin. Arriving late on the first night to find an extremely dirty bathroom, floor, shower curtain that stunk like wet dog, hair in our bed just to name a few of the issues. Was upgraded the following morning after being told we couldn't be refunded, to then being placed in another dirty cabin with sand all over the kitchen table, dirt and sand all over the loungeroom chairs then on deciding to pack up and leave that morning. Tried to get refunded for the two nights that we did not stay only to be told we couldn't get a full refund for them. PATHETIC AND DISAPPOINTING. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Nov-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Hi Kara We are extremely saddened that we were unable to meet your expectations. We certainly tried to rectify any concerns you had with the state of the cabin - offering a full refresh, relocation to another cabin or the upgrade to the 1 bedroom cottage. Having personally inspected the cottage before you relocated, I unfortunately did not notice dirt and sand all over the table and chairs and we were not made aware of this once you moved in. At an average of $143 per night for a 3 night weekend stay in Byron Bay, we feel that our accommodation is great value for money considering the close proximity to the town centre and the quiet nature of the park. As you checked out at 2pm, as you can understand, we were unable to offer a refund for the Saturday night as the cleaning team had already finished for the day and the cottage could not be re-sold. We do pride ourselves in offering our valued guests a positive Byron Experience and are sorry we didn't hit the mark this time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Mandurah WAust

Close to town the beach yet very private and quiet

Posted 05-Nov-2017 on Wotif
Found proximity to all town facilities excellent The accomadation apartment was great for a single person stay The staff were friendly and helpful as was the Wildlife haha I would definately be returning
Comment from Hotel Management
10-Nov-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thanks for your lovely feedback Chris We are certainly proud of our park and are pleased to be able to share it with you. We look forward to seeing you again. The Glen Villa Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Location

Posted 31-Oct-2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Location: Excellent location
Great location quite park and only 5 minute walk to the shops and beach. The staff were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Nov-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
by Ella

Good value for money and great location

Posted 26-Oct-2017 on Hotels
This was a great base to explore Byron Bay. It was clean and comfortable and in a great location to walk to the centre. We had a fault with our bathroom door and they immediately upgrade us to a bigger cabin. We would definitely stay again - great value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Nov-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking time out to give us valuable feedback Ella. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to rectify the issue with your bathroom door as it is always our intention to offer our guests with a positive Byron experience!! We look forward to seeing you again soon. The Glen Villa Team
4 out of 5
by Alicia

Posted 23-Oct-2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Nov-2017 by Annalise, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 4 stars Alicia We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Glen Villa Team