Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Fantastic hotel close to the main sights

Posted 25-Jul-2017
Pros: The hotel met all my expectations and then also surpassed them.
Cons: Nothing the hotel has done a great job.
Location: The hotel has lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and is within walking distance of all the major sites.
This is the best 5* hotel I have stayed at this year. The room was absolutely beautiful it had recently been redecorated and the way it was set up was not like your average 5* hotel room. The bed was on a raised area from the living area below accessed by stairs and there were 2 bathrooms. This gave the room the feeling of space meant that my girlfriend and I never felt on top of each other. The bed was very comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep. The hotel supplied a number of free things in the room (such as large bottle of water), which was a nice touch, as well as the paid minibar. In addition the facilities of the hotel such as the bar were excellent and we enjoyed a nice evening with a couple of drinks in the bar. The staff were very helpful and attentive and there were more than enough to deal with all the guests and in fact the were so attentive we felt that we were the only guests staying. As for location of the hotel it really is excellent and we were able to walk to the major sites very easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from london

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted 09-Jul-2017
Pros: Everything, honestly could not fault it
Location: Within walking distance of all major sites, staff provided a map and recommended some places to visit, which was great.
This hotel was great, loved the location and the breakfast, also enjoyed lunch In the Buddha Bar restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds were so comfortable, really liked our room. Breakfast was a great selection, loved the Hungarian sparkling wine, a nice addition!
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Sharon, Thank you very much for choosing the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace and sharing your great review with the Expedia community. I am happy to hear that you had a great time with us especially highlighting the central location, our lavish buffet breakfast service and the special Asian dishes served in our world famous Buddha-Bar Restaurant. It is nice to hear that our team went above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one, I will definitely share your kind comments among them. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our property. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Very bad condition and smells bad

Posted 05-Jul-2017
Staff were rude Management were clueless Rooms were in bad shape Service was slow and bad
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Mazen, Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry to note that your experience was not fully exceeded your expectations and let us apologize for any issues you have had during your stay. We aim to provide a reliable quality and a perfect service, therefore we appreciate all guest feedback both positives and also less satisfied opinions. I regret to see that the maintenance condition of your room was not reaching the level we expect from a 5 star property. Our Chief Engineer was immediately informed and the mentioned issues have been already corrected. After receiving numerous positive feedback about the kind and professional service of our team I’m quite disappointed to read your opinion about your general impression. Again, we really appreciate your sincerity in sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 04-Jul-2017
Best highlight was the toilet. Room service OK. Bad service from one member staff out of 3. Lebanese restaurant better than the oriental restaurant. Decent location. Bad experience with locals
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Appreciate your time and efforts to share your comments on Expedia platform. I regret to hear that your stay was not as comfortable as we all expected, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. I'm glad that the hotel's very central location together with the special technical options offered by the Japanese toilet seats and the great service of our Roomservice team lived up to your refined taste. Regarding your note on the service level of our team let me inform you that this is certainly not indicative of the high level of service for we are known and which we strive to deliver each and every guest that walks through our door. As you can read so many very positive reviews already listed on public forums, I hope you agree your stay was far from typical. The Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace always aims to deliver the utmost in service and convenience. It appears we were not able to satisfy you on this trip. We hope despite your actual experience you will let us take another chance and we will have the chance to welcome you back for an improved stay. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Florida

Nice hotel in mid town BUT

Posted 27-Jun-2017
Pros: Large and clean rooms. Staff friendly.
Cons: Improve lighting or change interior color
Location: Almost anything one desires.
An excellent Hotel. But, all interior of the room is jet black and red. It may have award winning interior- But not practical. Poor lighting in the room. Hard to locate your own clothes in the closet. It is all black interior with one light on high ceiling. Access to their best and renowned Resteraunt is not from the Hotel but you have to from outside street. Wow!
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Jul-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear SKK, Thank you very much for choosing the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace and leaving your constructive feedback about your recent stay with us. We are happy to learn that our uniquely designed and clean rooms together with the impeccable service of our team lived up to your refined taste. Glad to see that all in all you had a great stay with us, however I am sorry that the hotel interior design was a bit darker than you expected. We are operating a unique hotel with Asian influenced design. The dark red-black-gold colours together with the dim lighting and with the chill-out Buddha-Bar music are the essential elements of the Buddha-Bar concept. For our valued guests who prefer brighter ambiance we are more than happy to provide extra lamps in their room upon request. For your kind information our Buddha-Bar Restaurant is accessible from the main pedestrian street - the Váci Street – and as well from the hotel through the passage bridge on the first floor. Again appreciate for sharing your concerns and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Great hotel right in the centre of everything

Posted 05-Jun-2017
Cons: Spa could be bigger
Location: Perfect location for everything
Great staff very very helpful and polite. A truly wonderful experience
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Jun-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear MB, Thank you very much for sharing your kind words with the Expedia community about your recent stay at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palalce! Delighted to learn that the central location and the attentive service of our team contributed to an amazing experience. We sincerely hope to have the chance of welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from UK

Great hotel, centrally located

Posted 20-May-2017
Personal attention, great hotel. Rooms were excellent. Quietest and most comfortable we've been in. Pillows were fantastic. Toilet quite something else! Really well located with plenty going on around. Restaurants were great, and dj brilliant. Definitely use them again
Comment from Hotel Management
25-May-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear John, Aprreciate your time and efforts to share your feedback on Expedia page. I'm happy to note that the hotel with its facilities and services lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments regarding the attentive service of our team is highly appreciated, we hope to have the chance to meet you soon in our property. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from cambridge

Right in the centre

Posted 29-Apr-2017
I really enjoyed staying here! The hotel was beautiful very nicely decorated and rooms clean and comfy. Close walk to to near by restaurants and shops. Very friendly staff and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-May-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Melissa, Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic feedback with us! It is so inspiring to learn that the staff was providing you with an attentive and welcoming service and we are happy to read that the unique interior and our clean and comfortable rooms lived up to your refined taste. I am glad that the hotel and the team exceeded your expectations and hope you will come back and see us again in the near future while on business or on holiday visit in the city. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel, comfortable if a bit shabby

Posted 28-Apr-2017
Could do with lick of paint, but warm staff, beautiful bed and pillows. Would stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
04-May-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you very much for rating your recent stay with us. I was glad to read your opinion about the friendly and helpful service of our whole team, I'm happy that you found the rooms well designed and comfortable. We have noted your slight criticism about the painting condition of the walls. As a part of our yearly maintenance works we have already started to repaint all corridors and hotel rooms to keep the hotel maintenance on the highest level. Hope upon your next visit you can enjoy the benefits of our continuous efforts and we are very much looking forward to your future stay. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Perfect location and stunning design

Posted 24-Apr-2017
Grand historic palace with completely renovated modern rooms with sleek contemporary design. High tech features including sound and lighting system. Very comfortable beds and spotless housekeeping. You can walk to everything in the historic district but Metro is steps away. Staff is helpful and responsive but very formal.lovely upscale restaurants on site.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Apr-2017 by Sofia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to read your fantastic feedback about your recent experience with us. We are delighted to note that the unique design and the great amenities of our rooms lived up to your refined taste. We are extremely grateful for your kind comments highlighting the professionalims of our highly qualified staff. We aim to provide a perfect ambiance and service for all of our guests and we are happy to note that this time we had a chance to live up to your expectations. We sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity to host you at the Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace. With kind regards Zsófia Nádor Rooms Division Manager