Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from toronto

Beautiful boutique hotel situated on the beach

Posted 20-Feb-2017
The Anantara Seminyak was an amazing experience for us. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. The rooms are unbelievable and we had a spectacular view of the ocean. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay at a quiet, luxurious spot in Seminyak.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-Feb-2017
Great location and very fine view. We had a enjoyable vacation there.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice enough hotel but requires updating

Posted 10-Feb-2017
Balcony door was broken so had to wait until next day before it was fixed. No discount on that night. My partner also got food poisoning from the breakfast. For what you pay you would expect more.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by Asti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. Please allow me to apologize for the adverse encountered during your stay. I trust that we have took immediate action by moving the room allocation on the first night also discount of 50% in food and beverage while the room was being prepared. In regards to the food poisoning, we are taking this report very seriously. My associates has offered a doctor, even their escort to the nearest hospital for further examination which was refused. On operational side, after receiving the comment, our F&B team has gone through to check whether any other guest reporting the same which we did not find. I sincerely hope by the time you read this respond your partner has fully recovered.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from 東京

全室スイートタイプで朝食がとても美味しい

Posted 04-Feb-2017
ビーチが目の前にあり、全室スイートタイプのホテルです。 スタッフも親切でホテル内で長く過ごすことを考えているかたにはオススメです。 朝は砂浜のビーチを多数の欧米人がウォーキングしています。 朝食は最上階のレストランからビーチを眺めながらになります。ビュッフェとオーダーの併用で好きなものをオーダーができます。デザートもオーダーでき、パンケーキやグレープはとても美味しかったです。 ビーチフロントビューの部屋からはサンセットが見ることができ、他のところに足を運ばなくても良いです。ただし、夜も波の音が聞こえるので、それが気になるかたは気をつけてください。
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Feb-2017 by Asti, Hotel Management
Dear K&E, Thank you for your generous feedback on your recent stay. It has been a pleasure to host you in the property and glad to know that we have been exceeded your expectation. We look forward to welcome you back.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Boston, USA

Terrible experience

Posted 25-Jan-2017
Pros: I liked the fact that there was a jacuzzi in our room ( even if in the first day it was not working and on the second day there was not hot water)
Cons: So many things!!! Especially the food, service and the installations
Location: The Seminyak beach was polluted in this time of the year. I've learned that during rain season the tide brings a lot of trash to the beach.
I and my husband spent a weekend in the hotel, thinking that it would be a very romantic Several reasons why I and my husband did not like the hotel: 1) Service in the swimming pool was terrible! The button to call the waitress was not working! It took me 30 minutes to order a beer! 2) The Swimming pool is really small compared to other hotels! Also, we couldn't relax because the entire day there were children from 10 to 15 years doing swimming competition and splashing water to all other customers. Honestly, with the preposition to be a romantic hotel and based on the size of the swimming pool you should not accept children from this age 3) jacuzzi was not working - 4) water was cold - believe it or not! Cold bath and cold jacuzzi is not something nice! 5)we found a cockroach in our room!! ANd when I arrived home there was another cockroach in my suitcase!! 6) Service in the breakfast is terrible 7) the swimming pool has missing tiles - people could get hurt 8) just Asian food in the dinner! Although I tried, I'm still not used to Asian food! Hotel should consider other options! 9) Food is very expensive (this is ok), but quality of the food is average - Other resorts in bali have amazing food for cheaper price
Comment from Hotel Management
30-Jan-2017 by Asti Dewi, Hotel Management
Dear Nathalia Cló, Om Swastiastu. Thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback. I am concerned to learn about the adverse experienced you have encountered which regrettable have left you with some negative impression on our resort. Please accept my sincere apologies and to thank you for your feedback hence improvements can be looked into the areas concerned. Please be rest assured that we do not taken this comment lightly especially in regards to the insect found in your room. Our contracted pest control comes two times a week to do the treatments and during rainy season like now we even increased the number of treatment to ensure all areas are are covered. I sincerely hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back, hence we could offer you the service and attention that you have come to expect from Anantara. With kind regards, Asti Dewi | Director of Rooms
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from Burlington, Ontario

A three star hotel at best

Posted 17-Jan-2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: Horrible location. Nothing to do nearby.
We were extremely disappointed with Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort. The location is terrible, and the hotel did not live up to the rating it had been given. The rooms were dated, damp. The pool area was bad and there was no private access to the beach. The public beach had a lot of garbage on the shoreline. Staff made some attempt to clean up but really needed a grooming machine. We ended up cutting our losses and left with 5 fully paid nights. Glad we did. We found a much nicer accommodation although a refund would have been nice. Not possible when booked via Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Feb-2017 by Asti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time to write us feedback following your recent stay with us. Please accept my apology for the adverse encounter and for not been able to met your expectation. Bali is not picturesque for the last few months with continuous rain, high tides carried the trash to the shore and winds. We are working closely with local community as well as the government to clean the mess although it seems unavailing. In the other hand, we are happy to inform you that hotel renovation will be commencing soon. We are now in the middle of finalizing our mock up room. Hopefully by the end of this year we will be able to show the new Anantara Seminyak Bali.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Melbourne

Great experience

Posted 18-Dec-2016
Lovely hotel, good location on the beach. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and the food was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Feb-2017 by Asti, Hotel Management
Deat Aleena, Thank you so much for your generous feedback. Happy to know that we have exceeded your expectation in regards of the location, facilities and services. We look forward to welcome you back.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from 東京

ビーチに面したホテル

Posted 12-Dec-2016
ビーチに面していて、街も近く、立地はとても良いです。4階にある朝食のレストランからの眺望が良く、ビュッフェとメニューの両方から注文ができるのが良かったです。スパのメニューも充実していて、ホテルの割にリーズナブルで質の高いエステでした。2人で部屋を貸切で受けられます。
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Feb-2017 by Asti, Hotel Management
Dear Ken, Thank you for your gracious feedback. It is my pleasure to share your positive feedback regarding location, breakfast with a view and spa. Your feedback has been shared to our associates and looking forward to welcome you back.
5out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Sydney

Great hotel, right on the beach

Posted 11-Dec-2016
Amazing staff and always very friendly. Nicest hotel on the beach
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Dec-2016 by Asti Dewi, Hotel Management
Dear Emma, Thank you for your gracious feedback. Happy to know you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you back.
4out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from London

Nice hotel on the beach. Although beach is public.

Posted 11-Dec-2016
Great experince. Staff on top of it at all times. Great breakfast,dinner. Spa OK. Could definitly get cheaper spa in area. Hotel experience was very good. No complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Dec-2016 by Asti Dewi, Hotel Management
Dear GB, Many thanks for your feedback. It's been a pleasure to host you at the property and learn that you enjoyed your holiday. Looking forward to see you soon!