Ratings based on 149 verified reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
3 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Horowhenua

Posted 16 Mar 2020
I would like to know why we have been charged $924.05 on our credit card not the $892.80 that it stated on our booking. I have just emailed Castaway asking the question. We paid for meals/drinks at the time when at The Wilsons Bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
16 Mar 2020 by Anita, Hotel Management
Kia Orana, Your processed payment included a 3.5% card administration fee of NZD$31.25. I hope this information is helpful. Kind regards Anita Donnelly Castaway Resort Rarotonga
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Rendsburg

Posted 16 Feb 2020
Don't let the reception area fool you. As a first impression, yes, it could do with a revamp. But go into the resort and it's a real gem. To be fair, some things are a bit tired, but the rooms are clean with everything you need, and the bed was really comfy. The staff are super nice and helpful and the food was always really great. Considering how popular the resort and the restaurant is, it was also very quiet. A really great place to stay!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 17 Jan 2020
Lovely pool side villa with kitchenette. Quiet place, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 17 Jan 2020
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Sydney

Posted 9 Jan 2020
It's on the beach, the staff are great, you can reach great restaurants but I love the resort restaurant. Michelle, Sandi and Apo are gems.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Loved this place

Posted 26 Dec 2019 on Hotels
Lovely place. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Room and bed were super comfortable. Thank you. Also, don't miss the exceptional guitar playing of Anania Browne on Friday evenings.
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 15 Dec 2019 on Hotels
Good spot, rooms recently renovated. Missing a TV screen, and the room we were given was not "pool side" but still happy with everything. and would stay again.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 20 Nov 2019 on Hotels
NO WORDS WILL DESCRIBE THW AMOUNT OF FUN WE HAD AT THE CASTAWAY! STAFF AND THE GUEST WERE JUST AWESOME! DEF WILL GO BACK! I WANT TO GO BACK!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from KALGOORLIE WA

Posted 5 Nov 2019
Great staff, lovely setting, clean rooms, amazing food, great service. Staff very happy in their environment, cannot say enough about this resort. Very welcoming. Will be returning next year
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 19 Oct 2019
Modern decor in the room, the awesome air con and fan, what i didnt like was that was the last night before heading back to NZ