Ratings based on 69 verified reviews

4.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia-verified reviews
4 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 25 Aug 2019
Loved the family run house with all its character. A warm welcome, cosy bar and delicious dinner. Superb area with outstanding beauty.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Prospect, Kentucky

Posted 20 Aug 2019
Our host, John was charming, helpful and informative regarding our drive to the cliffs of Slieve League and other area attractions, and regarding the [olitical and economic issues facing Ireland at this point in its history. He arranged a wonderful horseback ride to a nearby beach for a lovely gallop. The staff are delightful, and Woodhill House is a wonderful place to stay - very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food is excellent. There are walls on the property dating back to the 17th century, and lovely gardens. We will certainly return to Woodhill house on our next visit to County Donegal.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Plano, TX

Posted 23 Jul 2019
John the owner was super nice and helpful! All the staff were great. This is a lovely old property well kept & elegant. We had the large ground floor family room and it was plenty large with ensuite bathroom. The pics on the website are a little dark -- the room is nicer than the pics make it look. The beds were very comfortable. The full Irish Breakfast was generous and the lady was very nice and attentive. This property is in a small quaint town. We chose to leave our car & walk to the town for dinner and there are a couple of great places there (Nancy's was great!). This property has an elegant dinner as well but we were with children and chose not to do the full course menu but the menu looked lovely.
1 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 15 Jul 2019 on Orbitz
It was old, tired and expensive. The only redeeming thungs was a very helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

old worldly and charming

Posted 1 Jul 2019 on Hotels
Woodhill House is a gorgeous country house in a lovely rural location. The hotel is old and charming and the grounds are amazing. Loved our stay here. The breakfast was great too. There is a cosy bar and restaurant (we didn't eat here) and John the owner was friendly and inviting. Will hope to visit again.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 1 Jul 2019
Beautiful gardens to stroll through. The garden rooms are lovely with a private terrace where we dined in the rose garden. Lovely warm service and extra efforts to fulfill our requests. Great time.
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 18 Apr 2019 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Richmond, VA, US

Posted 21 Mar 2019
Lovely grounds, comfortable room, delicious breakfast and most importantly friendly and knowledgeable host. He gave us sightseeing advice that was excellent!
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller from Wexford

Posted 30 Oct 2018
Beautiful woodland hillside setting. House is very old and if you like exposed beams and stone walls you will love it. Breakfast outstanding. Eve8ng restaraunt onsite. Not very modern facilites ie tv .
5 out of 5
by a verified traveller

Posted 15 Aug 2018
Lovely quiet and spacious grounds. Surrounded by gardens. Room is large and comfortable.