Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Tennessee

Quarters Inn

Posted 22-Jul-2016
My experience was good, I was not pleased that their Channel Guide showed there were 5 HBO channels. However, only one worked. I spoke to the manager, she stated the technician was notified. The rooms were great. The breakfast wasn't great. The coffee was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Jul-2016 by RK, Hotel Management
We are glad that your overall experience with us was good. We are happy to hear that you was satisfied with our room. We understand your issue with some of the channels. We had contacted our cable service and they sent the technician next morning to fix it. We apologize for that. We hope to see you again. We appreciate your time for taking this survey.
5out of 5
by A verified traveller from Atlanta, Ga

good location

Posted 01-Jul-2016
Pros: The cleanliness of the room and the attentiveness and good attitudes of the staff
Cons: Can't think of anything...they are doing as really good job!
Location: Seems like it was good and central location to Nashville!
Very pleasant...hotel as advertised. very cordial and helpful staff and very clean lobby, dining area and room! A very good value!
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jul-2016 by RK, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back. Thank-you for staying with us.
2out of 5
by A verified traveller from Arlingtom, TN

It wasn't what I expected.

Posted 28-Jun-2016
Pros: Location wasn't bad for the price I paid
Cons: Add toilet seat cover/lid. Vacuum the floors each day. Continental breakfast.
Location: Location was close to both malls and all restaurants we wanted to visit. So location was good. Not the best part of town but definitely not the worst.
The bathroom didn't have a toilet seat lid and being the bathroom was so small we had no place to lay things when taking a shower. The hotel staff, although very nice, didn't change the sheets, pillowcases or vacuum th carpet after our first of two nights. Also, the continental breakfast consisted of powdered donuts, cereal, coffee, juice and milk. It ok at best.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jul-2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We will try our best to take care of the issue you had with the toilet seat. We apologized for the unconvience. Thank-you for your feedback.
1out of 5
by A verified traveller from NC

Never again

Posted 10-Jun-2016
Pros: Hardly anything.
Cons: Location cannot be improved. Right on a busy street at the Interstate. Lots of loud motorcycles, emergency sirens, traffic. Toilet, outlets, TV, WIFI.
Location: Nuff said.
That Febreeze smell. AC was cold, but cover rattled. Light bulbs out, replacement dim. Hot & cold reversed on sink. Toilet loose, rocked, had to shim. Shower curtain too short, flooded floor. Electrical outlets worn out, dangerous. WIFI out the last morning. Most noisy place we ever stayed. Sirens all night, loud neighbors. Mandated room cleaning. Housekeeping spoke no English. Pitiful TV reception. We took the smell home with us on all our clothing and my CPAP machine. The negatives so far outweighed the couple of positives we would never book there again. Bed was decent. Fridge was cold and larger than usual.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Jun-2016 by GM, Hotel Management
We aplogized for the experience you had with your room. We will take more care towards our electrical outlets. Our housekeepers might not know english but, are very trained in housekeeping skills. Thank-you for your feedback.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Ocala, FL

The Hotel

Posted 02-Jun-2016
Pros: I like that it was updated with new furniture, paint, moldings, etc.
Everything went well for the hotel stay. from checking in to checking out. I have no complaints except the fridge didnt work.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Jun-2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your feed back. We do apologized for the issue with the fridge. We will make sure to replace the fridge for our value guest.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from tennessee

False advertising

Posted 10-May-2016
The hotel is in a bad part of town. There were people yelling and partying outside our room all night and car alarms going off. The breakfast is not at all as advertised. There was cereal and some bananas. The rooms were nice and updated however our toilet would not flush properly and we woke up to several inches of water on the bathroom floor that was seeping on to the carpet. Luckily our bags were on the table. Not what I expected from the description online
Comment from Hotel Management
20-May-2016 by GM, Hotel Management
We apologized for the unconvienent that you had face during your stay at our hotel. We will try our best to correct the problem you had faced.
5out of 5
by ROLLIN from Tennessee

Stay in Nashville

Posted 18-Apr-2016 on Hotels
Going to airport. It was close and convienant.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Jun-2016 by Hotel manager, Hotel Management
We apreciate your comment. Thank-you for your time.
4out of 5
by A verified traveller from Wisconsin

Location was good, had a few issues with the room.

Posted 13-Apr-2016
Pros: Convience of parking by the room. The king size bed.
Cons: The electricity in the rooms and to make sure the rest rooms are in working order.
Location: It was near the highway, so it was noisy during the night. We did order in our dinner.
We tried to use the outlet to recharge our phones, they were so loose, the plugs fells out. Then the toilet was plugged and ended up running over. Road noise was easily heard and people walking around outside during the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-May-2016 by GM, Hotel Management
We appreciate your business. We are located on a busy intersection. We will try our best in correcting the issue you had faced. Thank-you!
4out of 5
by kelly

Posted 08-Apr-2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Jul-2016 by Hotel manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your stay review. Thank-you.
3out of 5
by A verified traveller from Missouri

Noisy hotel

Posted 04-Apr-2016 on Orbitz
This is a ok hotel. I have seen worse but the worst thing is it is close to a rail road, airport and busy road. If you are a light sleeper, you are not going to get much sleep with all the noise. Room is not very insulated and can see alot of daylight around the door. Overall, the room was decently clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-May-2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank-you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was. We are located on a busy intersection.