Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Seal Beach, CA

Nothing fancy

Posted 17-Aug-2017
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: Tables and chairs in lobby so eat bkfst
Location: Only visited family
Staff very accommodating. This is a minimum service Extended Stay. If you wanted to outfit the kitchen, you had to ask for it (NOTHING-not even a coffee maker in room). If you wanted clean towels you had to bring your dirty towels to the front desk and get clean ones! If you wanted room tended more than every 8 days, it was extra. I know this kept the rates down so I do understand all of the above. BUT VERY UNUSUAL as we have stayed at Extended Stays in many different areas of USA As to the facility -- no tables/chairs to eat bkfst - just sofa and balancing food on your lap. No restroom for guests on main floor-had to ask at desk and were taken through hotel laundry to the staff bathroom. BUT when I come North to visit my sister again I WILL STAY at this facility as it is VERY close to her home and convenient for her to pick us up
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Aug-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Although you liked your overall stay, we apologize that you were unhappy with our hotel policy as well as our facilities. I will share your feedback with my management. On a positive note, I am glad to read our location was perfect for your needs and this aspect will bring you back to our property. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from oakland

Posted 17-Aug-2017
It was great the room was clean and the location was perfect for our family.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Aug-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Joe, it was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay America and thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to read you and your family enjoyed our facilities and service provided to you. Please visit us again the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Horrible Stay

Posted 24-Jul-2017
It was a nightmare! Upon arrival we were told that they couldn't accommodate us. The reservation had been done four months in advance and at 6:00 pm we were told to find another hotel. No one notified us until until 5:59 pm via email...too late. Several guests arriving after us were being accommodated. How unprofessional! We were traveling with our children and were being told we could not stay there. After a long ordeal, we were accommodated. No one should undergo this very uncomfortable situation.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jul-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are terribly sorry about the issues you experienced with your reservation, and even more that we did not appropriately correct the situation. Your experience is not indicative of the service we train our associates to provide. We have shared your feedback with the entire team as we take your comments seriously, and our training will be revisited to ensure this does not happen again going forward. We truly regret the inconvenience caused, and please give us another chance to make it up to you on your next visit to our area. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Maui

Convenient location

Posted 19-May-2017
Pros: Location is nice, close to shopping and restaurants, access to the freeway.
Cons: Front desk, breakfast, use of tableware.
Location: Target, In and Out Burger, Safeway, and several good restaurants are within walking distance. Downtown Alameda, with several good restaurants is close
Hotel was clean for the most part. The parking lot is too small. The hotel is used by contractors and business people visiting the area and is busy every time we visit. The front desk is not manned from 11pm to 7am which is not great. The breakfast is packaged muffins and coffee. The coffee isn't bad but the muffins are a waste. You have to ask for plates, glasses, and silverware. I guess people were stealing them, so you have to kind-of check them out at the front desk. Not very convenient and a bother.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-May-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda. We are happy to know your stay with us was goo, but I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced while you were here. I have shared your concerns with the respective teams in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Danielle

Bad check-in experience

Posted 12-May-2017 on Hotels
There was a lack of professionalism and process when we checked in. The front desk agent just kept telling us "whatever you'd like" which could be a "customers first" approach, but not to the types of questions we're asking. Usually, when you check into a hotel, you need the name of the reservation, their ID, card, etc. Telling us "whatever you'd like," leads me to believe that there is no process and/or the agent simply did not know nor care. Next, we get into our room, and there was a HORRIBLE odor coming from the kitchen - specifically the fridge. We hand't even had a chance to set down our things and already needed to change rooms. The stench left me thinking the entire hotel was dirty, and for lack of a better phrase, it just felt "icky" staying there. Although we were able to quickly change rooms, we were not offered an apology or anything to let us know that we were still valued. With a bad check-in experience from start to finish, it sets the tone for the duration of our stay. With a better experience from the start, I believe I would have had a more enjoyable experience and provided a better review.
Comment from Hotel Management
14-May-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Danielle, thank you for being our guest. We apologize for your unpleasant experience with our front desk associates and for the cleanliness issues you encountered with your first room. We have shared your concerns with the appropriate staff members, and we are taking appropriate measures to ensure these issues are not repeated. We encourage you to try us again in the near future as I am confident you will enjoy a better stay. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

great location

Posted 12-May-2017
Pros: location, in house laundry, quietness
Cons: pipe cleaning in shower/bath--- very slow draining maybe a few more items for the complimentary grab and go breakfast
Location: plenty of restaurants and walking areas in alameda quick trip to San Fran, oakland hills, berkely ect...
For our needs the location of this hotel was perfect. Mornings were started with complimentary coffee and a nice walk along the marina. The only issue i had to mention was the slow draining shower. But overall I would stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-May-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Oakland - Alameda. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us and that our central location worked well for your needs. I have shared your concern in regard to your bathroom with my maintenance team to ensure it is fixed immediately. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you all back soon! Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller


Posted 25-Apr-2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New management
Location: Location is nice and target shopping center is walking distance. Too bad management and hotel operations tainted the entire experience.
Pre-paid for a garaunteed non-smoking room and they gave me a smoking room. Never received any dishes or cookware to use kitchen. They did not have anymore left in the hotel. I received no housekeeping the entire duration of my stay even after I had a conversation with Management. With all of this the hotel would not offer any sort of compensation for my stay for poor service. He was not even cooperative with Expedia who tried to work on my behalf.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Apr-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the disappointing stay you had with us and for the service issues you encountered. We take comments like yours very seriously, so we are looking into where we went wrong and making changes to our processes to better serve our guests. I truly hope this unfortunate situation will not prevent you from staying with us again. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Portland, Oregon

Never Again

Posted 18-Apr-2017
Pros: Tough question. The floor plan seemed well designed.
Cons: Overall cleanliness needs a BIG improvement. This hotel needs better management.
Location: It's located in the heart of the San Francisco Bay Area 20 minutes from the city. What can I say?
We stayed at this hotel in Alameda, California, for one night. Our room was dirty. The carpets looked old and dirty. There was grime on the window panes. I found a long black hair under my pillow. The pillow cases and sheets were yellowed. There was dust and dirt on practically everything - the telephone, TV remote, alarm clock, bathtub fixtures, bathroom sink, carpet, and desk and bureau tops. The room had a rank odor. The bedding smelled as if someone who needed a bath had already slept in them. The floors in the hotel hallways were dirty. The interior of the elevator had not been cleaned in a long time. There were no wash clothes or a hairdryer in the bathroom. I observed at one point one of the hotel cleaning staff walk through the lobby wearing a surgical mask. I travel a lot and this was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Never again with this company.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Apr-2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Tom, thank you for your evaluation. We are sorry we failed to provide you the clean room that you deserved. We take the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously, and steps are already underway to ensure revisit of our deep cleaning procedures. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us that chance in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Minnesota

Don't Bother

Posted 11-Apr-2017 on Orbitz
Cons: This hotel needs to get on board with supplying every room with what they promise - dishes, utensils, ice trays, dishsoap, washcloths, hair dryers...
You'd like a kitchen, right? That's what we all like about Extended Stay. But this won't doesn't come with dishes. Not a bowl, not a fork. Not a coffee maker. No blow dryer or washcloths either. What's the point? Go camping - you'll have more fun. And don't rely on the 'complimentary breakfast' because it's instant oatmeal or a packaged muffin - not a stitch of whole food, not even real cream for your coffee. I was able to acquire a few things over time from the staff. But if you stay here, prepare to go without for at least your first day and ask for everything from the front desk - no rooms are automatically supplied, I was told.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Apr-2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you being our guest and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Our front desk always communicates details on our amenities during check-in, and it appears as if we missed sharing this information on your arrival. To ensure cleanliness for every guest, we keep the dishware at our front desk and our team is happy to deliver them to the guest's suite. Being an extended stay hotel, most of our guests often bring their own bath amenities such as hairdryers and toiletries. These items are available and complimentary at the front desk at any time. Your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure our front desk communicates this more clearly going forward. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.   Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by patricia

First time here

Posted 10-Apr-2017 on Hotels
Check in was fast and easy. The young man at check in was nice and friendly. The hotel was in a good location and it had a nice view the room was nice and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Apr-2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
patricia, we are so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us at Extended Stay America- Oakland – Alameda. Thank you for letting us know that you were pleased with our staff, location and your room. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to many more visits from you. Sincerely, General Manager