Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Pet friendly hotel

Posted 16-Dec-2014
The front desk staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned but we did find an item in the room that didn't belong to us hiding under the bed skirt. The pool chemicals were being added during pool use time and we did have to wait to use the pool. The pillows were plentiful and the beds were comfortable. The hotel offers some very nice extras. They are dog friendly and they have snacks available during the evening as well as coffee and tea. I would recommend the hotel to people traveling with pets because they have a very nice area to walk your dog in behind the hotel but I would not recommend this hotel for anyone that doesn't need pet friendly hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Room

Posted 24-Nov-2014
Pros: The cont breakfast was ok and the price was ok .
Cons: I would say for the sake of answering this question a total redue other then the lobby and breakfast room they were good !!
Location: Was fine !!
The door to our room looked like it was kicked in at one time and not replaced the deadbolt was not there was just a black plastic plug in the hold when the handle for it should have been and the door didn't shut tight at all !! The bathroom was very small and when u went to the bathroom to close the door u had to slide in behind the toilet reach over and shut the door the slide back in front of the toilet to use it !! There was no setting for heat you had to just keep turning the knob until u could find a spot where it was ok ( took about 30 mins to do ) so that wasted some of our shopping time !!
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Nov-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. We thank you for staying with us, however, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Looking back on our records it appears you did not have a chance to bring these concerns to the attention of the hotel staff. We are in the process of replacing all doors and doors locks, but please rest assured all rooms are secure and operable. We are sorry you felt the bathroom was too small. We strive to make sure we can offer clean and comfortable rooms to all of our guests. We hope you will allow us another chance to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom MI

Could use update

Posted 25-Oct-2014
Pros: Breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Downtown Traverse City has lots of shops and restaurants. Wineries are nearby. Area is very scenic.
Very thin walls. Guests upstairs arrived at 2pm and we could hear every footstep and dropped items which went on for most of the rest of the night. Tiny bathroom and beds were small (doubles not queens) and uncomfortable. The breakfast was good and staff was friendly but the whole place could use a cleaning and update of the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Oct-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodations for all our guests and I am sorry that you did not experience this during your stay. I am pleased to know that you experienced our friendly staff. They will appreciate the positive feedback. 2/3rds of the hotel rooms have new beds, but unfortunately, your room was not one of those. In addition to these new beds this year we also upgraded all of our rooms with 32” flat screen TV’s and our ground floor rooms received new carpeting, vanities & sinks. Over the next year the remaining rooms will be getting new beds, vanities & sinks and other upgrades are being planned. Thank you again for feedback and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Kind Regards, Pam W GSM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Review of Hotel

Posted 24-Oct-2014
Pros: The breakfast and friendly staff.
Cons: Cleanliness and nicer more modern room decor.
Location: Perfect spot for convenience, but very noisy with the traffic and semi-truck parked outside our room.
The staff were very friendly. The front office, cafe area and pool area was very nice. The rooms could be updated to give a more comfortable and modern feel. The room was not very clean-hair found in bathroom, and questionable cleanliness of the sheets and bedspread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Bay City MI

Good overall for the price

Posted 18-Oct-2014
were a little disapointed the room didn't have a mini fridge or microwave. Also the towels were a bit worn but overall everything was fine. Room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the pool and whirlpool. Excellent breakfast in the morning too.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Michigan

Old and High Priced

Posted 14-Oct-2014
Cons: Disappointed. It's old and tired. Definitely in need of some good updates. Room decor is old and tired Move smoking area away from entry way.
Location: Traverse City MI, arrived late, left early
Playing cards in the breakfast room with permission from the staff, other table of ladies in there also. When they left they were instructed to turn off the TV and return remote to front desk, we had to request remote if we wanted to finish watching the football game! Really!! I understand returning the remote but turn the tv off while others are watching . . . .who does that?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Michigan

Neat and clean

Posted 14-Oct-2014
We were very pleased with the hotel staff. The room was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Wyoming, MI

Up North trip !

Posted 09-Oct-2014
Pros: It was clean, everyone was helpful and it was close to everything!
Cons: The Computer, should be able to keep in touch!
Location: The water sites, went to old Mission lighthouse, went shopping for gifts for Grandkids and us, and saw the sites!
Was happy with the staff, especially Cindy, very nice and helpful, but was upset that the 1 and only computer I could not use! I have never been to a Motel or Hotel that did not allow their guests to see there E-mail, Facebook, or even get on ESPN to check on scores, Cindy did try but said the Mgr. Jon set this Com up this way! Everyone uses Facebook now days I don't understand!
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our staff and most notably, Cindy. She is a key member of our guest service team and I have passed your comments on to her. All of our staff members continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and it’s nice to receive positive feedback. Our business center computer is in a public area and email accounts are accessible; however, due to issues we have had with guests viewing inappropriate material on the social media sites, we have had to block those. We thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Pam W. GSM
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 19-Sep-2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by dlrfrom Clio

Posted 19-Sep-2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, comfortable. Good location on opposite side of the street from Grand Traverse Bay. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Pretty standard hotel breakfast.