Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Bay City MI

Good overall for the price

Posted 18-Oct-2014
were a little disapointed the room didn't have a mini fridge or microwave. Also the towels were a bit worn but overall everything was fine. Room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the pool and whirlpool. Excellent breakfast in the morning too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Old and High Priced

Posted 14-Oct-2014
Cons: Disappointed. It's old and tired. Definitely in need of some good updates. Room decor is old and tired Move smoking area away from entry way.
Location: Traverse City MI, arrived late, left early
Playing cards in the breakfast room with permission from the staff, other table of ladies in there also. When they left they were instructed to turn off the TV and return remote to front desk, we had to request remote if we wanted to finish watching the football game! Really!! I understand returning the remote but turn the tv off while others are watching . . . .who does that?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Neat and clean

Posted 14-Oct-2014
We were very pleased with the hotel staff. The room was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Wyoming, MI

Up North trip !

Posted 09-Oct-2014
Pros: It was clean, everyone was helpful and it was close to everything!
Cons: The Computer, should be able to keep in touch!
Location: The water sites, went to old Mission lighthouse, went shopping for gifts for Grandkids and us, and saw the sites!
Was happy with the staff, especially Cindy, very nice and helpful, but was upset that the 1 and only computer I could not use! I have never been to a Motel or Hotel that did not allow their guests to see there E-mail, Facebook, or even get on ESPN to check on scores, Cindy did try but said the Mgr. Jon set this Com up this way! Everyone uses Facebook now days I don't understand!
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our staff and most notably, Cindy. She is a key member of our guest service team and I have passed your comments on to her. All of our staff members continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and it’s nice to receive positive feedback. Our business center computer is in a public area and email accounts are accessible; however, due to issues we have had with guests viewing inappropriate material on the social media sites, we have had to block those. We thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Pam W. GSM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Sonoma, California

Very Bad Quality!

Posted 16-Sep-2014
Pros: The staff are hard working and pleasant.
Cons: Put some money into updating the decor!
Location: Traverse city is a beautiful area. We ate in some excellent restaurants.The hiking was easy, the climate in Sept cool, the forests and lakes stunning.
We booked this hotel based upon the good reviews. I can't imagine why there are good reviews. The owners decided years ago to stop making any improvements or updates to the rooms. The wallpaper was old and depressing along with the decor. The lighting fixtures had rust in places. My husband called the free breakfast a science experiment. He took a bite of a patty at breakfast and had no idea what he was eating. However the bed was comfortable, the night clerk was nice, and the cleaning staff were professional and hard working. It is a shame the owners lack of upkeep leave their workers with such a depressing place to maintain. I personally will never go to a Quality Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Sep-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We value your feedback and appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. Thank you for your kind words about our pleasant and hardworking staff. Each member of my staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guest’s experience is more than just a pleasant stay and it’s nice to receive positive feedback. I will share this with them. I am sorry to hear that our breakfast and your room did not meet your expectations. We offer a variety of breakfast items, including but not limited to: make-your-own waffles, yogurt, and muffins, which are all purchased from a Choice Hotel approved vender, G.F.S. I’m happy to announce that between December & June of this year renovations on our breakfast room were completed, and the ground floor rooms received new carpet, vanities, & sinks. New carpet was installed in the ground floor hall, all rooms received 32” LED or LCD TVs, and 80% of the rooms received new beds. Over the next year, the other 20% of rooms will receive new beds, the second & third floor rooms will have new vanities & sinks installed, and other room upgrades are also being planned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Pamela W GSM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Michigan

Expensive Basic Hotel Across BusyStreet From Beach

Posted 04-Sep-2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and it was close to downtown; we still had to drive to get to downtown but it was not bad.
Cons: The hotel could improve on cleanliness and place refrigerators and microwaves in each room. The rooms need to be updated also. The furniture was old.
Location: The hotel is close to downtown but still far enough where you may want to drive instead of walk. Hated that the beach was across busy street.
For the amount requested per night we expected at least a clean room with fridge/microwave. We received a somewhat clean room, no fridge/microwave; dirty chair and carpeting. We had to have a fridge so we asked for one to be brought to our room and of course, they upped our room charges. However, the staff brought it immediately to our room, which we appreciated not having to wait. The hotel is located across a busy street from the beach; then you must walk a long way to get to the public beach in order to swim. In order for the television to work, we had to use a switch on the wall, then use the remote control to operate the TV. We were not given any instructions to do this, we just tried to turn on a light in the room and the TV came on! If you want a basic room to just use to sleep, this place is fine but overpriced due to peak season in August. But if you want any kind of niceties, you will want to stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Sep-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us. We apologize the room you stayed in did not come standard with a mcrowave and fridge. We hope to one day have the oportunity to be able to put microwaves and fridges in all the rooms. We do have one room type that does come standard with a microwave and fridge. This is our Two Room Suite with a King Bed. Please let us know next time if this would meet your needs. We are situated across from the water, but as you stated beach access is a block away. Unfortunately we don't recommend for people to cross the busy street without using the walking bridge for two reasons: 1. SAFETY 2. Beached directly across form our hotel is private property. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Charlotte, NC

Good beds and shower but over priced!!

Posted 29-Aug-2014
Good location with friendly and helpful staff. Room smelled upon entry with room and facilities outdated though bed comfortable and shower good. Expected more for the price that was paid for the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
31-Aug-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel and for your kind words about our friendly & helpful staff. It’s nice to receive positive feedback. We also appreciate knowing if we did not met or exceed your expectations in any way. I am sorry you experienced a smell in the room and hope you had the opportunity to contact my staff about the issue. We started upgrades this year with all rooms receiving 32” LED or LCD TV’s, the ground floor rooms received new carpet, vanities & faucets, majority of the rooms have new beds, and we added a new 30 seat breakfast area. More upgrades & renovations are being planned for the next 10 months. I hope we will see you again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Pam Weisler GSM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from troy mi

2 Star Hotel

Posted 18-Aug-2014
Tired room & decor. TV in & out. Price bad for class of Motel. Smoking permitted near main door.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Aug-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate knowing if we did not met or exceed your expectations in any way. All the rooms have new 32” LED or LCD TV’s, so I’m not sure why there was an issue with your TV going in/out. I hope you had the opportunity to contact my front desk staff so they could check on that issue for you. We do have room upgrades being planned for the next year and within the past 10 months our ground floor rooms had new carpet, vanities & faucets installed, majority of the rooms received new beds, and we added a new breakfast area and expanded our breakfast selection. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Pam W GSM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Grand Rapids MI

Hotel is old

Posted 18-Aug-2014
Pros: Breakfast was not too bad
Cons: All new carpet, wall paper, paint lighting.
Location: Location was central and convenient
This hotel is old, the rooms are small especially the bathroom. Wall paper needs replacement, lighting is poor. The HVAC system is old and noisy. Everything felt dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Aug-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We utilize our guest feedback to help us evaluate our service and facilities and assist us in implementing any needed changes. We do strive to offer clean and comfortable accommodations with friendly service and appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. We do have room upgrades being planned for the next year and within the past 10 months our ground floor rooms had new carpet, vanities & faucets installed, majority of the rooms received new beds, and we added a new breakfast area and expanded our breakfast selection. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Pam W. GSM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Detroit

It's a place to lay your head at night and rest.

Posted 16-Aug-2014
Pros: The guest breakfast in the lobby was actually better than I expected.The hotel is located near some activities within walking or biking distance.
Cons: Key Cards are defective and don't work! Spray for Gnats! Pillows were too small.
Location: Lots of good places to eat nearby. The bike trail in the back seemed extremely popular for all ages. East Bay beach is right across the street. Golf.
The sink drain ran kinda slow, and there were annoying little gnats that came in through the air conditioner. The bed sheets had some little stains on them that were'nt mine! The key cards didn't work half the time to open the room door. The "Things to do" Guide could use better (More Detailed) maps of the area. The swimming pool is in a small,dark area,not really enjoyable. Management allowed me to keep my bicycle in the room. I thought that was nice of them.