Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Stay for Robotic

Posted 25-Mar-2015
Room was nice. Did not have some things in the bathroom that it said it would. Really liked having a room on the ground floor. Two doors to the room, one that went right out to my vehicle. Super easy to unload stuff and run to your vehicle.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Mar-2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. We are proud to know you enjoyed yur stay with regards to the room type you stayed in. Many guests finds our rooms on the ground floor very convenient with interior and exterior entrances. We are sorry you did not find everything you were looking for in the bathroom. If it was personal items or toiletries, we do have complimentary toiletries at the front desk upon request. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Fenton, MI

Quality Inn - Traverse City

Posted 23-Mar-2015
Pros: This hotel was close to were we needed to go.
Cons: bigger bathroom
Location: It is close to the state beach even if it wasn't beach weather yet. It is just down the street from town and close to restaurants and shopping.
Check in was a breeze. The room was clean, comfortable and quite. The continental breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Mar-2015 by Pam, Hotel Management
Dear Julia We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to complete our online survey. All of our staff members are committed to providing exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and it’s nice to receive positive feedback that they achieved that goal during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us during warmer weather so that you can take advantage of the State Park’s beach & picnic area or the city’s bike trail that is accessible from our hotel. Sincerely, Pam W. GSM Quality Inn by the Bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted 11-Mar-2015
Quality Inn by the Bay is an older hotel without all the "bells and whistles" featured in many of the more upscale hotels. We, however, enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff and our very pleasant and comfortable room. The room, beds, bedding, and bathroom were A+ in comfort and cleanliness.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Mar-2015 by Pam, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We very much appreciate you taking time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel and are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be an A for comfort & cleanliness. We value the feedback our guests share with us. Our staff prides themselves on providing friendly & helpful service for our guests and it's a pleasure to receive positive feedback that we have done just that. Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience. Best Wishes, Pam W Guest Service Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Michigan

Last choice next time.

Posted 18-Feb-2015
Pros: Staff was very nice.
Cons: The complimentary breakfast was a joke, went to Cracker Barrel instead.
Location: It's Traverse City, millions of things to do, beaches, art, biking, boating, Sleeping Bear Dunes.
The room had a funny odor to it, the water closet was almost impossible to use, sized for a child.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Mar-2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your business and sharing your feedback. Please accept my sincere apology regarding the "funny" odor you smelled in your room and the size of the bathroom. We take pride in making sure we can offer our guests a clean and comfortable room. I hope you had a chance to direct your concerns to our staff while you were at the hotel. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you again for your business. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

non smoking means NO SMOKING!!

Posted 19-Jan-2015
Pros: hot tub, inside pool and breakfast
Room stunk as soon as you open the door. Chair railing wasn't dusted, carpet wasn't vacuumed by beds.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Jan-2015 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time in sharing your feedback. We are sorry we failed in meeting your expectations during your stay. We hope you had a chance to mention these concerns to our front desk team while you were at the hotel. We value your business and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to get it right. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jaimifrom Chicago

Great Value and Service

Posted 24-Dec-2014 on Hotels.com
Great value! Expensive high-end hotels charge for breakfast and wifi. Not here! It's free - as are the fruit, cookies and 24-hour coffee and tea. Friendly staff, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by craig

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 19-Dec-2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Pet friendly hotel

Posted 16-Dec-2014
The front desk staff was great. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned but we did find an item in the room that didn't belong to us hiding under the bed skirt. The pool chemicals were being added during pool use time and we did have to wait to use the pool. The pillows were plentiful and the beds were comfortable. The hotel offers some very nice extras. They are dog friendly and they have snacks available during the evening as well as coffee and tea. I would recommend the hotel to people traveling with pets because they have a very nice area to walk your dog in behind the hotel but I would not recommend this hotel for anyone that doesn't need pet friendly hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Dec-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable feedback. We are proud to know you enjoyed your stay for the most part. However, we apologize for missing the item you found under the bed skirt. Please rest assured it is not our standard to miss things butwe thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Donaldfrom kingsley mi

great

Posted 03-Dec-2014 on Hotels.com
great
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Room

Posted 24-Nov-2014
Pros: The cont breakfast was ok and the price was ok .
Cons: I would say for the sake of answering this question a total redue other then the lobby and breakfast room they were good !!
Location: Was fine !!
The door to our room looked like it was kicked in at one time and not replaced the deadbolt was not there was just a black plastic plug in the hold when the handle for it should have been and the door didn't shut tight at all !! The bathroom was very small and when u went to the bathroom to close the door u had to slide in behind the toilet reach over and shut the door the slide back in front of the toilet to use it !! There was no setting for heat you had to just keep turning the knob until u could find a spot where it was ok ( took about 30 mins to do ) so that wasted some of our shopping time !!
Comment from Hotel Management
29-Nov-2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback. We thank you for staying with us, however, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Looking back on our records it appears you did not have a chance to bring these concerns to the attention of the hotel staff. We are in the process of replacing all doors and doors locks, but please rest assured all rooms are secure and operable. We are sorry you felt the bathroom was too small. We strive to make sure we can offer clean and comfortable rooms to all of our guests. We hope you will allow us another chance to serve you in the future. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM