Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Brsitol

Upmarket, on beach, easy walk to shops/restaurants

Posted 20-Mar-2015
Pros: Extensive breakfast. Pools: chlorinated heated+ salt water unheated. Extensive gardens - not crushed by pools sunbathing. Japanese restaurant. Views
Cons: Found the Menus for the restaurants on the last morning as they were outside the main entrance to the restaurants from reception which we never used.
Location: Excellent location as can walk 15 mins to shops and restaurants on mostly flat paved walkway above beach to El Duque or La Caleta. Large gardens and
Would definitely pick this hotel again. Spacious rooms, great views, good food. Pools and gardens well kept. Mini golf was challenging and good quality. Easy transfer by car from airport. Ate out three other nights as we liked to walk to La Caleta and back. On arrival went to El Rincon (Spanish) above the Jade Garden (Italian) in the shopping centre opposite was very enjoyable with a live piano player and good Spanish food. Used the supermarket opposite for some drinks/snacks. Saw Pilot Whales, Dolphins and Turtle on excellent Tenerife Sailing Tours 3 hour sailing boat trip. using hire car, enjoyed kite surfers and market day (Sat) at El Medano. Enjoyed view of Los Gigantes and fantastic beach below Abama hotel (not signed) but you can park by hotel and walk down. Drinks/lunch at Abama beach bar were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom london

Very nice hotel !

Posted 18-Mar-2015
Lovely hotel in all regards. A few more English speakingvTV channels would be useful.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Mar-2015 by Sheraton La Caleta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments of your stay with us. Nice to know you have enjoyed your stay. Regarding the TV channels, our intention is to be able to offer to every guest the opportunity to watch TV in their native language, therefore we have a couple of channels per main languages spoken by our guests. Nevertheless we will take in mind your recommendation. We are looking forward in welcoming you soon. Warm Regards, Rosangel Quezada Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom uk

Good location with good facilities

Posted 16-Mar-2015
Pros: Pools, dining areas, location all good
Cons: Better response to our original booking ie we booked a twin room not a double.
Location: Good location with good restaurants within 15 minutes walk.
We booked a twin room but were given a double. Contacted reception immediately but hotel full and told would investigate the next day. Went to reception end of second day to be told that staff had tried to contact us re moving to a twin room. No missed calls on mobile or room phone. Room had been reallocated. Staff refused to compensate our inconvenience with free Wifi. Very poor customer service response. 5* hotel should have free wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Mar-2015 by Sheraton La Caleta , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting about your stay at our hotel. We apologized for the inconvenience with your room on the first nights. All our guest can use free WIFI at the lobby zone, lobby bar sitting area and the link@sheraton. Nevertheless we will forward your comments to our management team in order to improve our services. We hope to welcome you again to our property. Regards, Rosangel Quezada Marketing Manager Sheraton La Caleta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travellerfrom Leicestershire

Excellent location great outdoors area

Posted 11-Mar-2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The porridge a little hotter for breakfast.
Location: Visit the Torre del Mirador in the evenings for good food and entertaiment
Great location and facilitys very good sevice this is being our sixth stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom edinburgh scotland

Perfect location

Posted 04-Mar-2015
Pros: Very peaceful
Location: A quiet location beside the beach. Go to the beach bar at the beach near Caleta to sit and watch the sunset as the paragliders land.
Perfect place to relax and unwind. While the hotel was buzzy there was always plenty space in the gardens and beside the pool to relax and read .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 04-Mar-2015
Second visit. Great location. Good staff & superior room was fine
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom London

Relaxing

Posted 27-Feb-2015
Spa facilities relaxing. Champagne and chocolate strawberries were a lovely gift for anniversary. The terrace suite has stunning views and prime spot to sunbath, relax, people watch and eat canarian potatoes. Salt water pool refreshing and a very short walk to the ocean. Promenade walk on beach is gorgeous. They make a good aperol spritz.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Sheraton La Caleta, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for posting your holiday experience. We are very pleased to read you have enjoyed the hotel Suite and it’s view during your anniversary. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Regards from Tenerife, Rosangel Quezada Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Perfect location

Posted 23-Feb-2015
We have just had a wonderful week at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel pool areas and lobby are spotless. The location is perfect for walking to the fishing port, where there are 3 of the top restaurants in la caleta. It is also a perfect location for walking along the promenade to as far as las Americas. Siam park is close enough and a lot of fun. There was only one disappointment we had at the hotel, the day before we left to come home, which we didn't expect from a 5* hotel. When we returned to our room by 6pm, to get ready for our evening reservation, we found that our room had not been cleaned. It took half an hour for someone to come and clean it and give us fresh towels, and we felt uncomfortable sat on the balcony whilst they were doing it. We were sent a bottle of cava as an apology, but really didn't think that should have happened at such a high standard of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Sheraton La Caleta, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to post your experience at our property and we apologize for the inconvenience you had regarding the room cleanliness. We will forward your comments to the team in order to keep improving our services. Regarding the overall experience we are pleased to read you have enjoyed the hotel and the surroundings. We hope to welcome you back in a near future. Warm regards from Tenerife, Rosangel Quezada Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

€ 30.00 pro Woche fürs WLAN, sonst hervorragend

Posted 23-Feb-2015
Pros: große Zimmer, schöne Garten- und Poolanlage, hervorragendes Frühstück,
Cons: Internet kostet pro Woche € 30,00 - für ein Hotel dieser Kategorie doch etwas unüblich - in anderen Hotels ist der WLAN Empfang immer inclusive
Location: ...liegt in der Nähe von La Caleta mit hervorragenden Fischrestaurants
Ein toller Aufenthalt in einem wunderschönen Hotel mit KOSTENPFLICHTIGEM WLAN
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Sheraton La Caleta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your post, we are happy to read that you have enjoyed your holiday in our property. Regarding the WIFI, we offer free access from Lobby, indoor and outdoor lobby bar area and at the link@sheraton for all our guests. We hope to welcome you again to our property. Regards from Tenerife, Rosangel Quezada Marketing Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Copenhagen

Book ikke værelse med ekstra seng/opredning

Posted 16-Feb-2015
Pros: Dejlige pools. Rent. Venligt personale - som dog skød ansvaret for de små værelser på arkitekten.
Cons: Ja. Lade være med at vise værelser til tre personer på jeres hjemmeside. Man kan ikke være tre personer komfortabelt på et værelse.
Location: Lige ud til vandet. Dejlig strandpromenade.
Havde booket værelse til to forældre og en teenager. Og betalt for tre personer. En høj pris. Værelserne er alle så små, at personalet selv flyttede sofamøblerne ud på altanen for at få plads til ekstrasengen. Ikke just det, vi havde forventet af et 5-stjernet hotel, hvor vi skulle have det komfortabelt. Hotellet har ingen varme rum om aftenen, hvor det kan være rigtig koldt. Der er åbent ud til det fri alle steder, hvilket sikkert er fint i højsommeren, men ikke i februar. Så vi kunne fx ikke sidde og spille spil noget sted.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Sheraton La Caleta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay in our property. We apologize if you have felt that we have not met your expectations of a 5 stay hotel. Regarding the room size our rooms have a minimum size of 36 mts excluding the balcony. It is true that our extra beds are not the common fold away but normal 90 cm wide x 200 cm long roll away beds, which guarantee a good rest to our guests in comparison to others. Tenerife is an island that normally has very mild winters and the hotel as a resort was constructed to enjoy the most of this pleasant weather the island has. Unfortunately this year we are having lower temperatures than usual which as you mention has been an issue during your stay. Regarding heating system all our rooms are programmed to have a standard comfort temperature of 24º, though due to the chilly weather this might not feel as if it is warm enough. We regret that a solution of extra blankets was not of your like. Please be assured that we have forwarded all your comments, complaints and suggestions to our entire management team and we will work very hard to improve. For the Sheraton la Caleta Resort & Spa, improving its facilities and services is the number one priority, in order to make it match up with its standard and its 5 star service. Warm Regards, Rosangel Quezada Marketing Manager