Ratings based on 319 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom WA

OK Motel

Posted 05-May-2015
It's OK motel if you are just looking for place to sleep. nothing else. Crappy mattress topper, light cover sitting on the table. I would spend more and sleep somewhere else
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom colorado springs, co

Ok hotel considering the price of the rooms

Posted 15-Apr-2015
Pros: I liked the fact that you could not get into the hotel unless you had a key card to open the door.
Cons: The hotel could use some TLC. Mostly cosmetic.
Location: The Tacoma mall is about 10 minutes away. Downtown is about 15 min, as is the port of Tacoma and the Tacoma dome.
Hotel is not in the best part of town but close to most things like the mall and downtown. Drove from Colorado and arrived two hours before check in time but they allowed me to check in anyway which was nice since I really wanted a shower. The main draw back I guess was that it looked like people were living in the hotel, not just guests but actually living there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

Posted 16-Mar-2015
The room was clean. The television channels were limited. They have free wifi; though there is an option to pay for faster internet; is it slow. There is a Denny's place and a Mexican restaurant on the corner. They also have a liquor store with some bare essentials. If you are looking just passing through it is a affordable and clean place stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
02-Apr-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness and amenities at our hotel during your stay. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Bothell, WA

Close to WA State Fairgrounds

Posted 03-Mar-2015
Pros: Convenient location and it was quiet.
Cons: Be honest on the website about what is stocked, or not, and if it is necessary to request kitchen supplies, they should be offered and ready at check-
Location: I did not go anywhere nearby, it was easy an easy commute to the state fairgrounds in Puyallup.
I stayed here because of the kitchenette, and have stayed in other Crossland hotels in the past. The kitchen was empty, I had to ask for and go to the office to pick up dishes, utensils, pots and pans, toaster, coffeemaker, and was not given any dish soap or sponge/dishrag. It did have stovetop, fridge, and microwave, but nothing else...and no remote for the TV. I could deal with the fact that the room was "dated", but the website clearly stated that the kitchen was fully equipped, which it was not.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Mar-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not properly explaining our dish policy to you during your check-in. Kitchen equipment is no longer kept in guest rooms for sanitary purposes. However, guests can request dishes at the front desk where they can either be picked up or delivered to their room free of charge. I did meet with the staff, and we will improve on communicating our dish policy to guests to ensure that this issue is not repeated. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom California

Posted 26-Feb-2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Near freeway and dining
Room weren't ready. The stairwells smelled. They and the rest of the hotel is in need of a good cleaning and painting. We had two rooms. One had an alarm clock the other did not. The parking lot was littered with trash and many discarded cigarettes. The bathroom was clean but had very slick floors. The shower floor was unusually higher than the bathroom floor. The TV's and bedding were extremely outdated.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Not impressed

Posted 25-Feb-2015 on Hotels.com
Mattress and cover had cigarette burns. We could smell smoke, the door didn't close tightly, and the walkways were very dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-May-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The cleanliness issues you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with my team to ensure your experience is not repeated. To uphold our company’s high standards we will be sure to inspect guest rooms thoroughly. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

it's okay

Posted 18-Feb-2015 on Hotels.com
Staff rude
Comment from Hotel Management
16-May-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am so disappointed that our staff was not welcoming to you during your stay with us. Please accept my apology. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken with my staff and discussed how every guest should be treated with respect to ensure your experience is not repeated in the future. Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you’re in the area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 11-Feb-2015 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom wa

just horrible

Posted 08-Feb-2015
No coffee pot in the the room, no bath tub, light switchs didn't work. Room was fridged up on check in. Asked the staff for a cup of coffee in the morning was told that he would charge me a dollar and change for a packet, however no coffee pot to brew it in. To top it all off the bed was extremely hard
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Mar-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home so I am disappointed to hear that you were not provided with the cup of coffee you requested. In response to your feedback, I am discussing with my team a way to prevent this from happening to another guest in the future. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Posted 14-Jan-2015 on Hotels.com
Charged for things I was not aware of and phone usage when I never did.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-Mar-2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the billing issues you experienced. I will be working with our staff to ensure this does not occur in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.