Ratings based on 1,005 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Very convenient for downtown SFO

Posted 25-Nov-2014
Pros: Great ambience, very conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and transportation, reasonably priced, clean linen and room, courteous staff! Highl
Cons: The lights in the room could be improved and the 'perfume/freshner' that you use in the corridors could be a lot more classy than what it is now.
Location: We had an appointment on Bush street, which as 3 miles away and we thought this hotel's location was really convenient.
I think as the other prior patrons have mentioned (see reviews in Trip Advisor/Yelp), there was street noise as our room faced the Ellis street- cable cars, trucks loading/unloading, some couple upstairs was 'at it' and we could hear the bed creaking pretty loudly but other than that the facilities, price point, etc. was just apt for the convenience of downtown. Although to be completely transparent- we'd read the reviews about the street noise,etc. and were offered an interior room which would have been quieter according to the staff member- but it was for an additional cost and we only wanted the room for a night, so we chose to take the street view room. My wife loved the street view and we were tired so the noise did not bother us after some time until we were woken up by this wonderful couple upstairs. :) TIP: You can park for half the money in the public parking just next door versus their parking of $45/$50 (for oversize cars). I parked in the public parking for the day we came in and almost 3/4th of the next day and paid $34.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Silverton, OR

Nice place, great location, good price.

Posted 23-Nov-2014
Had the smell of older building inside, but well-maintained and updated nonetheless.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Not that good, definitely not a boutique hotel.

Posted 22-Nov-2014
Smelly room, unclean, noisy, good location. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified travellerfrom Maine

Nice hotel for "economy" business travelers

Posted 20-Nov-2014
This is a small urban hotel with a great location near Union Square and close to cable cars and other fancier hotels. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate. The staff is very helpful. Get a room in the rear and you won't hear any street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Nov-2014
Great hotel. The staff was really nice and welcoming. we will definitely be staying here if we travel to SF again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Philippines

Posted 06-Nov-2014
Excellent location! Good proximity to Muni, BART, cable car, bus stops, shops, and restos. Friendly and accommodating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Southern Oregon

Comfortable. Out most of the day so didn't need mo

Posted 03-Nov-2014
re than was there. TV. Clean bathroom and bedding, free WiFi.
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Nov-2014 by Dimitar, Hotel Management
Dear Traveller, Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased to read that you were happy with your experience with us at Hotel Union Square. We hope to see you next time you are in SF! Best, Dana Andrews Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified travellerfrom San Luis Obispo, CA

Great for a quick work trip

Posted 31-Oct-2014
The hotel was great and the staff was friendly, but I had a really hard time finding their parking lot and ended up having to park overnight in the O'Farrell / Ellis parking structure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travellerfrom Singapore

Hotel close to shopping centre

Posted 28-Oct-2014
Pros: very convenience and staff is polite and helpful
Cons: to provide a small kettle for boiling water
Location: very good location
My family like this hotel very much, because it is so convenience and you can get all type of food here and surrounding all shopping area, and easier access by bus to all famous places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Good location, terrible room

Posted 26-Oct-2014
Not a very functional bathroom, poor lighting, wall unit for heat and a/c very loud, probably due to tiny size of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Nov-2014 by Lennin, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, I am very sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with the room that you were given. Rest assured the issues that were mentioned have been addressed. I hope you still consider staying at our hotel in the future. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. Have a wonderful day. Lennin B. Ledesma Guest Services Manager