Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Great location; decent hotel

Posted 22-Oct-2014
This hotel is in a great area right off the freeway. Close to the airport, food, and a gas station as well. The hotel itself is exactly what you pay for. The rooms are a decent size but don't have a mini fridge which would be nice. Overall I am satisfied with my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from quebec

Good, cheap-what I expected...

Posted 20-Oct-2014
Pros: Value/Money
Cons: Cosmetics in common areas
I read a lot of the bad reviews and really for me it comes down to value/money. If I had paid a lot more I may have been more critical. My room was clean, comfortable and roomy and I found the breakfast more than adequate(I wasn't expecting a four star hot breakfast with a custom omelet guy lol). The staff was friendly, no issues there. Cosmetically the carpet in the halls were pretty nasty and everything looked like it could use some updating but the room was totally fine. The proximity to the airport was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate your feedback. New In room and hallway carpets are already ordered and will be installed soon. We hope to see you again in future. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 19-Oct-2014
Pros: Improve accomodations and don't rent rooms under construction area
Cons: Better shuttle service and friendlier front desk
Location: never had time
Shuttle service was bad. Waited 2 hours at the airport waiting for shuttle. To top it off shuttle driver drove right past me didn't even stop and shuttle was empty. Called the front desk for the 3rd or 4th time and she finally had to get a shuttle from the Sheraton to pick me up I finally did get to hotel after 2 hours of waiting to go 2 miles. Room we got there must of been construction going on so hallways looked bad with paint on carpet and carpet in room was dirty overall the housekeeping dept did a good job of trying to make the room look good. Front desk was helpful but very rude as was shuttle driver in the am taking us to airport she was very rude and not friendly at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel rennovation nightmare

Posted 07-Oct-2014
Pros: Airport shuttle at 4:30 a.m.
Cons: cleaner carpets, notification that renovations were in process, discounted price.
Location: Lots of hotels but very few restaurants nearby
Hotel was being rennovated and all walls were stripped and patched. Drilling and sanding going on a Sunday evening up until about 9 pm, carpet was so dirty that I had to wash my feet before bed. Airport shuttle was late, but got me there on time and the driver was super nice. Not my favorite visit to Salt Lake!
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Our hallways were being renovated as per the guests feedback. We removed old wallpapers, and applied new texture as per latest industry trends. The hallway renovation is completed and walls are back in place now. We hope you will decide to stay with us again and your stay will be much better. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Hotel Stay

Posted 07-Oct-2014
Pros: the size of room was nice. closeness to airport, gas station and downtown were convenient.
Cons: Breakfast and construction should be done by 5:00 pm.
Location: No food places had to leave the area.
The room was large and clean but not frig or microwave and no way to watch movies and tv quality was poor. The breakfast was terrible. Hotel was under construction and work was being done at 8:00pm at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and are working on it. We have revised our breakfast menu and provide hot breakfast now. We hope our future guests will enjoy our breakfast. We also hope that you will decide to stay with us again in future! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Close to airport and about 10 minutes to down town

Posted 07-Oct-2014
The room was very adaquate, the bathroom on the small side. The breakfast was average. We will go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it and will continue to provide better services to our guests. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

I will never stay in a hotel of this chain

Posted 06-Oct-2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: At least was close to the airport.
It was under construction and not noted during reservation. There was no near by parking available and forced me to find a parking space elsewhere. Internet was down. Kept loosing electrical power all night. The room was noisy and could hear all traffic. Not able to rest all night. Pillow cases can use a replacement or better laundry service. Staff failed to do wake up call (Good thing I used my phone as a backup) since the constant loss of power made the room alarm clock unusable.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We are starving to provide better services to our guests. As part of that, we are doing some upgrades. However, the impact is kept minimum and during limited hours only. We apologize that the storm caused power outages few times that night but that is occasional and impacts whole area. Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Indianapolis

Not happy!

Posted 02-Oct-2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: close to airport but very limited on places to eat.
No soap, cleaning towel still in room on floor outside bathroom, missing pillow case, and minimum of 3 power outages in room overnight effecting alarm clock.
Comment from Hotel Management
05-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We will discuss the feedback in our staff meeting and will avoid such issues in future. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again in future! Sincerely,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

location was good. Hotel was in serious disrepair

Posted 01-Oct-2014
TERRIBLE condition. although it was a hotel, it felt more like a very poorly kept trailer park. Furniture, bed in room were completely worn out. Frankly, if I would have had time, I would have left and gone somewhere else. Hotel shuttle to airport (located with 2 miles of airport) did not run from 7:45am to 9:15am
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Oct-2014 by DJ, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize for the bad experience you had during your recent stay. We will assure that we are doing necessary upgrades and in your next visit, you will find a satisfactory stay experience. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 28-Sep-2014
It was perfect for a one night stay for what we needed to do.