Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by J from Chicago

Dirty Hotel

Posted 16-Jul-2014 on Hotels.com
Dirty rooms, dirty pool with algae growing not open although advertised as such, and slow service. Would not recommend.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

Outbound trip

Posted 06-Jul-2014 on Hotels.com
The room was pleasant and clean. The hotel is undergoing renovations right now. With the ongoing renovations, I thought the price was high. The pool did not appear to be useable at this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laurie from Phoenix, Arizona

Pretty good

Posted 01-Jul-2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very large and updated. Bed was very comfortable. Quiet neighborhood. Good night sleep. Not much around for restaurants or night life. Breakfast next to office was nice. Would have liked a room refrigerator and microwave. Only store close by was Kmart, but they don't have cold food. Absolutely NO internet there. Had 2 bars and was not close to office. Took laptop to office to use and still just 2 bars. Couldn't even check emails. Also could not get any cell service at all...for at least 50 miles.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Sep-2014 by Priyank, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about you experience at our hotel. We are sorry that we didn't guide you about the grocery stores, attractions and shopping mall in our town. We apologize for that. We have lots of outdoor adventures in Russellville. There is a trail in walking distance from the hotel and different adventures like waterfalls, hiking, biking, kayaking and many more is within 10 miles radius of our hotel. Our hotel even have a restaurant and cocktail lounge on site for our guest. We hope to see you again at our hotel so that we can show you what our town has to offer. We will check the internet connectivity speed and we apologize for that. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 23-Jun-2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller from Lindsay, OK

Posted 21-May-2014 on Hotels.com
Motel was clean, staff very friendly. Beds were comfortable enough. Bathroom needed a lot if work. Old tub and sink. Pieces of ceiling falling off. If bathroom was updated would be good place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Sep-2014 by Priyank, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We will take your advice into consideration and will implement on it. We hope to see you again. Thank you for choosing us for your hospitality.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by mandy from new york

Very budget stay

Posted 13-May-2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed in some pretty budget places before, and this place was on the lower end. It was under construction at the time, and just seemed to be a bit sketchy, even for our standards. Very basic continental breakfast. Staff was friendly. I was scared to leave our full packed car just from the looks of the place, but it was fine. Its right off the highway so convenient location. Lots of restaurants around it. But something about it was a bit off.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2014 by Priyank, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Sorry that the renovation process of one of our three buildings bothered you. We are upgrading our rooms so that you have an enjoyable stay in future. I thank you on behalf of our staff. We take pride in them. We are glad that you later you felt safe for staying at our hotel and we further assure you that you will not have any problem of stealing, breaking in or vandalism at our hotel in future. We hope to see you again in future.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2014 by Priyank, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We apologize if the renovation process of one of our three buildings bothered you. We assure you that you will have the best hospitality experience at our hotel in future, I thank you on behalf of our staff. We take pride in them. We are glad that later you found our hotel to be safe and we further assure you that you will not have any fear of any stealing, breaking in or vandalism at our hotel in future. We are glad that you found the location of hotel to be convenient and so do other guests and keeping that in mind we really want to make our hotel with best amenities and services. We hope to see you in future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 12-May-2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

left immediately

Posted 07-May-2014 on Hotels.com
The pictures online were not true to the hotel stay. My safety felt jeopardized.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2014 by Priyank, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you didn't feel safe at our hotel. However, we do have security camera and we never had any problem of break-in, vandalism or stealing. Sorry, but the pictures online are taken at the property within last 6 months and they are up to date. However, the renovation work of one of our three buildings might have bothered you. We apologize for that if that was the case. We hope to see you in future when our motel renovation work is complete, so that we get chance to render our hospitality towards you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bobby from Bossier City

Get what you pay for

Posted 28-Apr-2014 on Hotels.com
You really do get what you pay for... The good news first. The bed was soft/comfortable. The AC kept the room cold. The TV worked. There is a lot of construction at the hotel. Hopefully the are doing a little remodel. The ceiling in the bath was falling and water stained. Most of the plugs didn't work. There weren't any chairs to sit in while I ate dinner. The breakfast was cereal or waffle. It was a one night stay.... Thank goodness.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2014 by Priyank, Hotel Management
Thank you Mr.Bobby for taking time to let us know about your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience you had. We are glad you found our beds comfortable and the AC and TV worked well. We are upgrading our rooms so that in future you have the best experience of hospitality at our hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Adam from Oklahoma City

Good for quick overnights

Posted 28-Apr-2014 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for. I paid $59, and expected a medium quality hotel with a clean, safe room and a door that locks. That's exactly what I got, along with extremely friendly and helpful hotel staff. If you're popping into town for a quick overnight stay, and want someplace inexpensive to lay your head, this is a good pick. If you're in town for a week and want nicer amenities, go to a Holiday Inn or something.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Jul-2014 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you Mr. Adam for giving us chance to show you our hospitality. We are glad you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We take pride in our staff but at the same time we keep that urge to be more professional and understanding to our guest's needs. We will be happy to see you again in future.