Ratings based on 806 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Idaho

Large Hotel Not a lot to do

Posted 24-Jul-2015
Pros: Room service, bar service, and mini bar service was excellent. The selection and food at each restaurant was fantastic
Cons: The quality of the activities and the activities that are included with the price, check in service, balcony privacy for first level guests.
Location: The location is remote. If you want to do an excursion they were all about 20 minutes away the Hard Rock was very secluded.
We traveled here for our honeymoon. The all-inclusive portion of the trip was primarily alcohol and food. We were hoping there would more activities included in the "all-inclusive" part. All the excursions cost us resort credits plus a 20% service fee. The staff was friendly however, when checking in we didn't feel very welcomed it all felt very generic and transactional. The restaurant food was amazing, the room service food was not all that great. The activities that were included (for example bike ride) were very run down. Most of bikes did not look safe and worked like junk. I certainly think that for the cost we should have been provided more activities with better quality. The pools were nice and there were plenty of options to choose from especially if one pool was over crowded. The water slide was not working the entire time we were there and we were looking forward to giving that a try. The bar service at each of the pools was always excellent and relatively quick considering the amount of quests. The resort itself was extremely large and it took a very long time to walk to get anywhere. There was a regular transit service but guests are required to sit and wait at a station if they wanted to be picked up with no idea of when the next cart would show up. Our room was great the size was awesome and the beds were cozy. I would recommend bringing bug spray the last few nights we were there we had about ten mosquito's in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller from Madrid, Spain

Un All inclusive de verdad!!

Posted 23-Jul-2015
El servicio, los animadores, la comida, la habitación, TODO perfecto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Puerto Rico

La habitacion preciosa. Cerca de la playa y Rest.

Posted 21-Jul-2015
Fue mi primera reservación através de Expedia. El servicio de Excelencia!!! Me senti confiada en todo momento. De ahora en adelante será con Expedia.com Gracias, Wanda L.😀
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Atlanta

Beach is Great

Posted 20-Jul-2015
The beach is great, there are more chairs than guests and there are plenty of even shaded chairs available. They also have an exchange process for towels and the staff removes towels that are place holders for people after 30 minutes. So no waking up at 6 am to claim your spot... what a relief. The staff is awesome!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller from miami florida

Posted 16-Jul-2015
comes into the room and was well dirty was the fourth 5110 block 5 will never forget, hairs in the bathroom, debris on the floor in very bad end and bad cleaning service.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2015 by HRHCPuntaCana, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay in our hotel. We were pained to read that you had some inconveniences with the room you were staying in. We did inform our housekeeping department to ensure this doesn't occur again. Thanks again for the comments and we hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 14-Jul-2015
The staff was always do friendly and welcoming. Honestly made me consider working at a hard rock hotel seeing how much they enjoyed their jobs!
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2015 by HRHCPuntaCana, Hotel Management
Hey Rock Star, thank you for the lovely comments about your stay! Our Hard Rockers will be excited to read about your positive comments! Come and Rock with us soon! Rock On! “This Review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana.”
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 09-Jul-2015
Need to work on the food... Didn't like the food at all except breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2015 by HRHCPuntaCana, Hotel Management
Hey there thank you for the honest feedback, we'll be sure to share it with our team so we continue to improve. “This Review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana.”
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 08-Jul-2015
Not what I EXPECTED. would not be going back. EXTREMELLY BORING, nothing to do in the night time, only one club where you need to pay to get in in addition to the all inclusive package and pay for drinks separately. English ONLY RESORT, meaning there is no Spanish music, I Will not be going back
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2015 by HRHCPuntaCana, Hotel Management
Hello thank you for the candid feedback, we were dismayed you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our Vibe Manager has been made aware of your comments to ensure that we include more spanish music and nightly activities. We hope to have the chance of welcoming you back so you can see the changes. “This Review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana.”
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Los angeles, CA

Nothing as expected nor portrayed.

Posted 07-Jul-2015
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: The tram system was horrible; we waited for over 20 minutes for a ride and decided to walk almost everywhere the whole week we were there.
Location: On our last day we decided to walk down the beach and check out the other resorts. All of the other hotels had water activities.
Our overall stay was terrible, from the minute walking in to the minute walking out. We tried to stay optimistic the whole time, but it was very hard. We heard so many great things about this hotel as we stayed at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya the year before. We wasted two hours between waiting for the vacation planner to use our credits until all excursions were booked. Our vacation planner was so slow, very confused and did not know much. We tried 4 restaurants and the service was terrible. Two nights we waited over an hour to get our food. Not one even came back to refill our drinks and no apologies were extended. Just as we were getting up to leave to go to another restaurant the waiter said 5 minutes and the food will be out. We booked at the cabana on the beach as discussed with our vacation planner. Once it was the day to use the cabana, we went to the central pool to check in and they said no you have the cabana here at the pool. We clearly stated we wanted the beach. After a two hour dilemma they finally let us stay at the beach cabana. However, they then charged me two times. There was another hour wasted trying to get that taken off. For the money we spent to stay at the Hard Rock, we were very disappointed and would never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2015 by HRHCPuntaCana, Hotel Management
Dear Jen, We want to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while you were with us. This is in no way our norm and we shared your comments with our Vacation Planners Manager and the supervisors along with our Executive Chef. We're always aiming to improve in all we can and your comments will definitely help. Thank you for your time and we hope you'll give us another chance. “This Review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana.”
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Los Angles, Ca

Never again.

Posted 06-Jul-2015
Cons: Hospitality
Our overall stay was terrible. We tried to stay optimistic the whole time, but it was very hard. We heard so many great things about this hotel as we stayed at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya the year before. We wasted two hours between waiting for the vacation planner to use our credits until all excursions were booked. Our vacation planner was so slow, very confused and did not know much. We tried 4 restaurants and the service was terrible. Two nights we waited over an hour to get our food. No one even came back to refill our drinks and no apologies were extended. Just as we were getting up to leave to go to another restaurant the waiter said 5 minutes and the food will be out. On our last day we decided to walk down the beach and check out the other resorts. All of the other hotels had water activities. It would have been nice to have water activities provided in front of our hotel at the beach. By the time we figured it out it was too late. Would have been nice to go parasailing or on the banana boat. We booked at the cabana on the beach as discussed with our vacation planner. Once it was the day to use the cabana, we went to the central pool to check in and they said no you have the cabana here at the pool. We clearly stated we wanted the beach. After a two hour dilemma they finally let us stay at the beach cabana. They then charged me two times. For the money we spent to stay at the Hard Rock, we were very disappointed and would never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
16-Jul-2015 by HRHCPuntaCana, Hotel Management
Hello Jennifer, It was unfortunate to read your remarks about our hotel since we're always trying to provide excellent service. We absolutely hope you'll give us a second chance so we can show you the improvements. “This Review was responded to on behalf of the General Manager of Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana.”