Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom New Jersey

Disappointed!

Posted 18-Oct-2014
Pros: As mentioned above, the view of the marina.
Cons: It needs to be updated and cleaned. They could start with better, cleaner bedding.
Location: Nice view of the marina.
I expected a nice, clean room - something like a Holiday Inn Express. Instead, the room was run down and not very clean. I stayed one night, only because it was late, and checked out early the next morning. The only good thing I can say about the experience is that I had a nice view of the marina.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Oct-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sorry to read that your room was not clean and in poor condition during your stay with us. Please know that as this hotel's manager, I will be working with my housekeeping staff to conduct deep cleans of our rooms to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 14-Oct-2014
Quiet location, nice staff, towels a little too rough, had to wash the utensils before use.
Comment from Hotel Management
17-Nov-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am pleased to read that you appreciated our quiet location and friendly staff. Still, please accept our apologies that the utensils had to be re-washed before using. I will be sure to meet with my staff to review our cleanliness procedures to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travellerfrom Port Washington NY

Had to take out my own garbage, no clean up.

Posted 02-Oct-2014
Pros: Location, clean and quiet.
Cons: More information about extended stay hotels before booking a room. Services are limited.
Location: Location was perfect for my trip. nice area and safe. 20 min. to the city and easy access to freeways.
Had to pick up coffee maker and glasses at the desk. they would not deliver them to the room. No pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Ray - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and your clean, quiet room. Still, I apologize that our staff did not deliver your kitchen supplies to your room and that we do not have a pool for our guests to enjoy. Your comments will be helpful as we continue to improve our guest experience. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom GDL

Posted 01-Oct-2014
The hotel's rooma has bad smell, and not so clean
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Oct-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies regarding your experience with us. I will make sure to meet with our housekeeping staff to ensure that the rooms are being maintained to our cleanliness standards. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by WFfrom 广州

地理位置不错

Posted 25-Sep-2014 on Hotels.com
住了11晚,整体感觉还可以。酒店的位置不错,出行较方便,门前就有公交到down town,到附近的超市也很近。房间装修后感觉还比较新,但毛巾和床单觉得洗得不太干净。要自备日用品,没牙膏、牙刷、拖鞋提供。冰箱有漏水,电炉有一边坏了,微波炉没转盘,其它都还可以,希望酒店注意下这些细节。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 25-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Philadelphia, PA

reasonable location, but room was musty

Posted 25-Aug-2014
We were looking for a place to stay while moving our freshman son into UC Berkeley. We booked late, so this was the best-value location we could find on the way, that was halfway between Oakland Airport and the Berkeley campus. So far so good. Though the lobby is nice, the room seemed quite old & tired in terms of furnishings and surfaces. And, there was a musty smell in the room, especially in the bathroom. We tried to air it out, but didn't seem to make that much difference. And, the breakfast included in the price was pretty sad: nothing fresh, everything pre-wrapped, and not even cream for the coffee, just artificial creamer. Overally, the room was tolerable; and overall this was a reasonable value and pretty convenient location (though a bit out of the way, since we needed to go thru tunnels under the water to get to Alameda from the freeway). Though it wasn't a terrible experience, we woudn't stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Sep-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our location convenient. Our grab and go breakfast is designed to be something you can grab as you are going out the door and off to work, or flights, etc. and be able to carry along with you. We apologize that it did not meet your expectations. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kikifrom Los Angeles

It was noce

Posted 25-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
I had a last minute trip to oakland to help my mother and was feeling stressed so I wanted a hotel that was going to be relaxing. In one of the other reviews they mentioned their room had a view of water & I immediately thought that would be relaxing for me. The location was very nice & quiet. Checking in the front desk lady was clearly not excited to be at work & I was surprised when she asked me if I needed any plates or anything. To my surprise they no longer keep your room stocked with kitchen supplies you have to request it from the front desk. Thankfully it wasn't too awkward to carry my plate, cup & fork along with my luggage. The cleaning folks hadn't cleaned everything thoroughly which I found the next day. There was an old bar of soap in the tub & dirty tissue under the bed. Definitely didn't like that & had me wonder what else hadn't been cleaned. Overall I relaxed, slept incredibly well, woke up to beautiful view of boats & water. I was pleased & would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
08-Nov-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Kiki - Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive quality service and that your room was not thoroughly cleaned. We will review your feedback with our housekeeping staff to make sure your experience is not repeated. We also apologize that you had to carry your kitchenware, our staff should have offered to deliver the clean dishes to your room. We will work with our staff to make sure we are always providing our guests with quality service. Still, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here in our lovely, quiet location and we were able to suit your needs. Thank you again for posting your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveller

This traveller left a rating score only Posted 19-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 16-Aug-2014
Smoking smell at non smoking room. Holes on blankets. White Hairs on the sheet. Not ours. Bugs... Too much noise from refrigerator ......
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Aug-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am disheartened to read of the the cleanliness issues and the odor in your room. Please know that I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to share your feedback with them and to review our cleanliness standards so that this does not happen again. As well, I will be working with my front desk staff to ensure that we are better informing all guests of our non-smoking rooms policy. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.