Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified travellerfrom Port Macquarie

Great views from this place

Posted 23-Feb-2015
Pros: Position.
This hotel is perched on a ridge with great views from the restaurant and pool area. Property is a bit tired and "old motel" style, but was clean and comfortable. The Duty Manager was very efficient and helpful. When we arrived at the restaurant the waitress advised that she was the only one working and apologised in advance for any delays. However there weren't any and it was fine. A glass of red wine that tasted decidedly "off" was quickly replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Very clean and close to charlestown

Posted 25-Nov-2014
Pros: Comfortable bed and room very big and clean
Cons: Check out could be improved with provision to drop room key rather than cue up to hand back.
Quiet and comfortable room with aircon and tea making facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2014 by Dominique, Hotel Management
Dear "A verified traveller": Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are trying our best to service our client and give them a great experience. Thank you again for sharing it with us all, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Melbourne

Good but needs improvement

Posted 07-Nov-2014
Pros: Good location. Clean room & pillow choice.
Cons: Bathroom standard & restaurant service.
Location: All good - very close to shops but far enough to be little quiet.
This is a good average hotel at the right value. Our room was ok, however the bed is on the soft side (after 5 nights, my back was a little less healthy), however we were happy with pillow choice. The bathroom was sub-standard - issues with tiny toilet seat, sticky bathroom door and part shower screen, otherwise clean. We only had one breakfast, it was not very busy but we still received inattentive service.
Comment from Hotel Management
27-Nov-2014 by Dominique, Hotel Management
Dear Glenn, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short and I am very sorry about that. As you mention we are a good average hotel at the right value, our pricing structure is designed to compensate for our perceived flaw adn that should be noted. Sincerely Dominique
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Grantfrom Brookvale

OK for the price I got.

Posted 31-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is OK, but a little old in comparison to some of its competion
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Nov-2014 by Arlene, Hotel Management
Dear Grant: Thank you so much for the feedback. We are trying our best to service our client and give them a great experience. We would be brand new build this would be reflected in our prices hence why you had such a good deal. Thank you again for sharing it with us all, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Night Project Workerfrom Sydney

Just Perfect!

Posted 26-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
I worked all night and needed a sleep before driving home to Sydney. The team at Mercure where able to do a custom booking - 9am till 5pm - and a very quiet room so I could get a good day's sleep! Thanks guys.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Nov-2014 by Arlene, Hotel Management
Dear Night Project Worker: Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are trying our best to service our client and give them a great experience. Thank you again for sharing it with us all, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Sydney

Nice Hotel. Good location for us.

Posted 20-Oct-2014
Nice hotel. All staff we came across were very friendly. Clean and comfortable. We stayed here as it is minutes away from our friends. Enjoyed our stay. Unfortunately, not warm enough to have a swim as pool looked very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Oct-2014 by Dominique, Hotel Management
Dear Rod: Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are trying our best to service our client and give them a great experience. Thank you again for sharing it with us all, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Clean friendly and good service

Posted 05-Oct-2014
Pros: Friendly and efficient service at a very good price.
Very positive experience and met all our requirements
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Oct-2014 by Dominique, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveller: Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are trying our best to service our client and give them a great experience. Thank you again for sharing it with us all, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Central hotel, reasonably close to city.

Posted 04-Oct-2014
Pros: The proximity to the wedding venue & a good breakfast.
Cons: Room maintenance.
Location: N/a
As we were in a hurry to get to a wedding, we didn't have time to request a room change & as it was only for 1 night it would have been a waste of our time anyway. We were on the 2nd floor ,with no lifts,( I have MS )next to laundry & stairway.(It was very noisy) The coffee machine & toilet were faulty as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Oct-2014 by Dominique, Hotel Management
Dear "Verified Traveller" I am really sorry that you did not like our hotel, you would have told you on booking about your difficulties to negotiate stairs we would have given you a complimentary upgrade to a more suitable room for your need. Unfortunately what we do not know, we cannot act upon and try to ensure that each and every one of our guests has the best experience possible. The same apply for the perceived toilet and Nespresso coffee machine deficiency, we can only fix things on the spot to make our client stay comfortable if we are given the courtesy of a phone call. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SJfrom N Qld

Good Value

Posted 02-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff , good location, comfortable rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Oct-2014 by Arlene, Hotel Management
Dear SJ: Thank you very much for the great feedback. We are trying our best to service our client and give them a great experience. Thank you again for sharing it with us all, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, D. Reghenzani
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Gold Coast

Basic

Posted 18-Sep-2014
Pros: The location and the staff were good
Cons: the room cleaning should be checked
Location: Good location for Newcastle
I travel a lot but one key point I want in a room is quiet and not paper walls and a clean bathroom which is not what I received.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2014 by Dominique, Hotel Management
Dear Tony: Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Charlestown. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Dominique Reghenzani General Manager Mercure Charlestown