Ratings based on 5,102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Amazing Hotel

Posted 19-Nov-2014
This trip was booked as a once in a lifetime trip, as such we decided to go for what we perceived as one of the best hotels. Sure enough the Waldorf lived up to it's exemplary reputation. The hotel location was ideal for all of the must see things in New York with bearly a 10 minute walk to all. The hotel itself was amazing and the service was of the highest standard as was the suite we stayed in, with all mod cons whilst still retaining the charm and character of that of a hotel with the vast history it has. A thoroughly enjoyable trip, made even more so by our choice of hotel. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Columbus, Oh

Posted 17-Nov-2014
We stayed her as a surprise to my mom for her 70th birthday and had a comfortable stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, particularly for the age of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Chicago

visiting my son, all just fine

Posted 17-Nov-2014
big negative of waldorf is that the incidentals and food are so expensive compared to reasonable room rates
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Nov-2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Roger, Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback regarding your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria. We are so pleased to learn that you were impressed with your stay overall! We do our best to provide world class service in line with our value and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to the city in the future for business or leisure. My best regards, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

classic landmark

Posted 17-Nov-2014
Pros: Nearly everything except the restaurant and bar service
Cons: Hallways need to be painted
Location: Very central
This hotel is an old classic landmark and is filled with historical photos throughout. The main public areas are lovely and the rooms are good. However the hallways need to be painted, there is peeling decal on certain elevators, scuffed baseboards. Staff service in the Bear and Bull, and the lobby restaurant was terrible. Both areas seemed to be short of staff and no one checked on our table to see how everything was or if we need anything. Housekeeping staff was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom California

Hotel is all hype.

Posted 12-Nov-2014
Pros: The name but what's in a name?
Cons: Renovate the rooms.
Location: Walking distance to 5th Av, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall.
Our room was disappointing - paint of bathroom door is peeling. The toilet was constantly running so I didn't get good sleep for 2 nights. I reported it the next day - manager sent plumber to fix the problem and mgr gave us $80 credit.. Still the problem was not fixed - still running and very annoying. Since it was our last night, we just grind and bear it. The room also has no thermostat for AC so it was uncomfortable during the night. My friend has to request electric fan. The reason given us was because the hotel is 'historical'. No amenities in the room either like coffee maker. Very disappointing for a hotel that is Waldorf Astoria.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Nov-2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear Elsie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We regret you were disappointed in our service and amenities and hope you give us another opportunity to provide the level of hospitality you deserve should you return to the city in the future. Many thanks, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Hotel is located perfectly.

Posted 12-Nov-2014
The staff was very friendly and the restaurants were magnificent.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Nov-2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
Dear MSpar, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! It is wonderful to read your review and find that you were impressed with the service you received, as well as our various fine dining opportunities. We hope for the chance to welcome you back to the Waldorf in the near future, and thank you again for your feedback. My best, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Overall - a positive experience

Posted 10-Nov-2014
Gorgeous hotel w/ outstanding staff. Room was a bit underwhelming, but bed was extremely comfortable and we appreciated the 'blackout' shades.
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom uk

Disappointing - paid for the name

Posted 06-Nov-2014
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: Room condition. More choice of food options
Location: Quiet end of city but this actually caused problems getting taxis to travel over from major sites due to traffic
So disappointed in this hotel. Basically paid a high price for the name and reputation. Dated rooms and expensive to eat or even drink in. No free wifi in room and no tea or coffee making facilities, only available on request. Room very hot, aircon not working properly, resolved by opening a window !!! Bath a disgrace. So so disappointed. Complained on check out and was given 1 free night but I would have preferred to be told before our stay that their were room quality issues and I would have booked somewhere else !! Needs a renovating quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Nov-2014 by Siobhan, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as your host during your recent trip to New York City. We are always looking for ways to balance fair pricing with the luxury accommodations and service we offer. We regret you were disappointed in our service and amenities and hope you give us another opportunity to provide the level of hospitality you deserve should you return to the city in the future. My best regards, Siobhan Delaney Assistant Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Dundee

Great location and style.

Posted 05-Nov-2014
Pros: Art Deco style, with comfortable rooms. Staff friendly and knowledgeable about getting out and about.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Great central location. Max. 10 mins to Grand Central Terminal and great shops etc.
Timeless classic. Great hotel, with fab location.
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Antwerp, Belgium

Prestigious name

Posted 05-Nov-2014
I had dreamt to stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Great location, but found the rooms very very average and old-fashioned. Maybe old-fashioned hotels are not my type.