Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Del Mar, CA

Pick Another Hotel!

Posted 02-Jan-2015
Pros: The hotel, room, and facilities were decent. So all of the other negatives that ruined our stay made it a shame.
Cons: Housekeeping training, customer service training, accurate listing as to what is included and not included on Expedia. New front desk staff!
Location: Poor location for tourism. Little nearby. Metro over a half mile walk. Taxi from the airport is expensive. Free Shuttle doesn't run before 7am.
1) Location: Far away from the city center for tourists and little to nothing decent near the hotel. The nearest metro is over a half mile walk and through unprotected intersections. With tip, a taxi from the airport was 40 Euros. 2) Customer Service: Poor and not Expedia Friendly. 3) Nothing is included!! You pay extra for breakfast, Internet in the room, AND the fitness and pool facilities. The hotel wanted 20 Euros a day per person to use the fitness facilities and pool. The free shuttle from the airport never picked us up even though scheduled. The free shuttle didn't take us back to the airport as they do not operate before 7am! 4) Housekeeping and Room Service: Had to wait beyond the norm for everything. Housekeeping failed to replace toilet paper and other consumables on a regular basis and even took our room key one day! It was obvious housekeeping does not use a checklist. Hint: Housekeeping involves more than just cleaning the room!
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom c.t.

Ricca colazione al buffet

Posted 06-Dec-2014
Una notte in camera un rumore di tipo meccanico mi ha impedito di dormire e ho dovuto chiedere il cambio di stanza alle 4 del mattino.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Hard to find

Posted 24-Nov-2014
The only concern was that it took me 2 hours to find the hotel from metro station. A sign to help people find it would have been nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Dec-2014 by Carmen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating! We hope you find us easily next time. WE look forward to receiving you back soon. Best regards The Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice hotel, but too dark inside

Posted 06-Nov-2014
Pros: Rooms are nice and modern
Cons: Use higher voltage lights, and let the water pressure be a bit more so people can take a nice shower!!
Location: It is in a residential area, but 10 minutes walk to the main mall, and about 20 minutes bus (or taxi) to downtown. Take the bus and avoid taxies.
Hotel is very nice, but for some reason they avoid turning up the lights. Rooms are dark too with low voltage lights, and the water pressure is horrible. It is as though they are trying to save on utilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Dec-2014 by Carmen, Hotel Management
Dear John Thank you for choosing to stay at Sheraton Madrid Mirasierra Hotel & Spa. We always make sure that all our rooms are perfectly prepared before the arrival of our Guests. However, we are very sorry if, in this occasion, it has not been done properly. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon and we must thank you, once again, for the trust you have placed in us and the time you have taken to send us your feedback. Yours sincerely, The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sylviafrom East Sussex

First trip to Madrid

Posted 31-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
Our first visit to Madrid and to visit relatives nearby. We had a lovely stay the room was comfortable and clean and the staff helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Carmen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating! We are glad to learn that you have a great stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Best regards The management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martinfrom Åhus

Dyr service

Posted 22-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
Fint men lite slitet hotell. Väldigt bra och trevlig personal. Tråkigt att hotellet tar helt orimligt betalt för allt extra, till och med wifi som kostar 28€ för 24h!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Torbenfrom Haderslev

Lækkert hotel, dårlig service.

Posted 21-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
Vi boede her fire dage, og det store værelse og hotellet er lækkert. Spa afdelingen er også fin. Dog lidt irriterende, at man skal have badehat på. Vi havde bestilt afhentning i lufthavnen med hotellets shuttlebus, men den kom aldrig. Også selvom vi ringede og rykkede fire gange. Så efter to timers forgæves venten, måtte vi tage en taxa til 30€. Hotellet ville IKKE kompensere os på nogen måde, så vi er naturligvis ikke tilfredse med serviceniveauet. Det tager iøvrigt ca. 30 min med Metro til centrum. Metroen er man ret afhængig af, da området omkring hotellet består af beboelsesblokke. Der er meget få restauranter.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marie m famfrom Stockholm, Sweden

Not for families travelling with kids

Posted 21-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was not for families travelling with children. They advertise the pool and SPA area, that was one of the reasons why we picked this hotel, however, kids are not allowed to enter the SPA more than two hours. First the staff told us that the area was available during five hours, for kids, but when we went there they declined the kids to enter. Not service minded although we were given wrong information all the way. Easy access to subway but a bit far (app 20 min to city center, 45 minutes with bus) Hopefully better during high seasons! I will choose another hotel next time...
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Carmen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Madrid Mirasierra Hotel & Spa and for taking the time to share your comments with us. Please allow us to give further clarification to the points you mentioned on your message. Our Hotel follows a policy that only allows children over 16 years of age to enter to the Spa for security reasons, at any time, as it appears on our web page. As we have few requests for children to enjoy the facilities, we have decided to allow the entrance from 3pm to 5pm, Please accept our sincerest apologies for de misunderstanding. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at Sheraton Madrid Mirasierra Hotel & Spa with the assurance that you will experience only the highest standards. Best regards, The Management
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Glasgow

OK hotel but didn't live up to expectations.

Posted 20-Oct-2014
Pros: Spacious rooms
Cons: Yes, running hot water would have been good!
Location: Outskirts of Madrid in quiet location.
No hot water in room had to switch to another room which was a bit of a hassle after a long day travelling with a five year old.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Oct-2014 by Carmen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sheraton Madrid Mirasierra Hotel & Spa, Guests opinions are one of our best tools to improve. We always make sure that all our rooms are perfectly prepared before the arrival of our Guests. However, we are very sorry if, in this occasion, it has not been done properly. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon and we must thank you, once again, for the trust you have placed in us and the time you have taken to send us your feedback. Yours sincerely, The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Carlosfrom Passo Fundo Rs

Valeu!

Posted 19-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
Próximo de metrô! Então Tdo é mais fácil!