Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Comfy Hotel, Excellent!

Posted 22-Dec-2014
It was a surprisingly cosy hotel with friendly staffs and superb comfort room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom malaysia

Nice pool and gym

Posted 21-Dec-2014
Nice view from hotel and Strategic location in town area which is close to all its interesting places.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear deeb, Thank you for staying at Pullman and for writing a kind review for your recent stay here. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will continue to choose Pullman as your choice of accommodation in the future. We look forward to your future arrival to Pullman Kuching. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Great hotel with awesome views and easy access to

Posted 20-Dec-2014
Great staffs, clean room, nice view, great mall in the hotel and very near to kuching central attraction.
Comment from Hotel Management
23-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your review for Pullman Kuching and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comments with all our team members as a way to motivate them to strive harder in delivering great service for all our valued guests. We sincerely hope that you would come back to Pullman On your next visit to Kuching, Sarawak. Once again, thank you for your review and for your patronage at Pullman Kuching. We hope we could have the pleasure of serving you again. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

The hotel itself is beautiful staff terrible

Posted 19-Dec-2014
Pros: The facilities and furnishing were excellent
Cons: Providing better service rather than focusing just on getting the dollars
Location: Location is good to access points of interest
It appears staff are ore interested about getting the dollar rather than providing the service, this is very disappointing for the brand name Pullman that has such a great reputation. It is unfortunate such a lovely hotel (physically) lacks character and service from the staff
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, I would like to express my gratitude to you for taking the time to review Pullman Kuching for your stay with us recently. Your feedback to us is highly appreciated. I would also like to express my deepest apologies for the service gaps by our staff during your stay here. I shall bring this matter up to all respective Department Heads for their further action and to stress this matter to their fellow staff. We are very concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests and your feedback is very important to us. Once again, thank you for your review and please rest assured that we do not take this matter lightly, and we will do our very best to improve on our services for our valued guests. May you have a wonderful holiday ahead. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Singapore

Convenient location

Posted 19-Dec-2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Less manual internet reconnection required by guests. Housekeeping to ensure all mugs are washed, don't use frayed towels, replace used toiletries.
Location: Walk along the Waterfront, take a sampan across the river to the Fort, Orchid Garden, shop at the Main Bazaar, visit the Old Courthouse.
Good location with easy walking distance to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Hotel lobby is very spacious with many seating areas. Room is spacious and there's room for improvement with housekeeping. The disappointing part is with the internet connection. By the end of the day, you would have memorized your password to the network because of the constant re-connecting required.
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear Ser, Thank you for taking the time to review Pullman Kuching. We are pleased to hear that you fin our facilities to your liking, with the exception of the WiFi connectivity in our rooms, that was not up to your expectations. Please allow me to express my heartfelt apologies. I shall highlight this matter urgently to the particular department for their further action and rectification. Any inconvenience caused is very much regretted. I truly hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to Pullman Kuching and we hope we could have the pleasure of serving you again soon. Season's greetings and best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh, Guest Experience Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom JB

Good location with untrained staff for check in

Posted 16-Dec-2014
Pros: Good Location, river view, and can see sun rise.
Cons: Toilet facility, pools
Location: nearby river, Chinatown, "old street", seafood restaurants just next door (top level), museums
It was prepaid in full by month ago to reserve the rooms. The reservation clearly stated check-in time is 2pm, however when we arrived by 2:30pm to the hotel, we was told rooms not ready but can sit & wait with "welcome drink". While seniors, kids sitting & waiting, served with horrible "welcome drink" in lobby waiting for rooms availability (which I am not sure why I paid in full in advance for a rest, and end up restless for such horrible drink), we decided to leave our luggage for the hotel to keep and walk out for lunch. By 3:30pm after lunch and checked with hotel reception, we was told only one room available, we was asked whether we do mind ? In the reservation it stated a room is for 2 persons, and we have senior, kids, total 3 generation of family members, it is illogic to ask us to play refugees role to fill up the room. The question itself does not make the situation better but worst. And that does not end the story, in the next morning, one of the room toilet have problem for flushing, it reminds me that I had the same experience, same hotel in another location, not sure if this same standard of facility apply to all locations. We do understand in some peak period especially holiday session room may fully booked, however, our staying period was not holidays and even it is in Christmas time when we stayed in other hotel, we was treated with respect to serve with high tea refreshment while waiting for rooms availability for waiting time of only 30mins.
Comment from Hotel Management
21-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear Max, Thank you for taking the time to review Pullman Kuching and my sincerest apologies for falling short on our services. I am truly sorry that you had to experience such services from our staff and please rest assured that I will bring this matter up to our Front Office Manager as well as the General Manager for their further action. Once again, my deepest apologies and we hope that this experience will not alter your confidence in Pullman Kuching. We hope we could have the chance of serving you again in the near future. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Convenient location, new hotel n value for money

Posted 16-Dec-2014
Convenient to all food n entertainment ! Shopping complex in same building
Comment from Hotel Management
18-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear George, Thank you for your review for your recent visit to Pullman Kuching. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. I will share you comments with all our team members as a way to maintain our level of services for our valued guests. We truly appreciate your feedback to us and we look forward to your future arrival to Pullman Kuching. On behalf of the management and staff at Pullman Kuching, we would like to wish you a very Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom PJ, Malaysia

Nice Hotel close to the Kuching City

Posted 13-Dec-2014
Nice Bed and room ambient. Excellence!. Friendly hotel staffs also.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear C.E, Thank you so much for your review and for your patronage at Pullman Kuching. We are delighted to receive such positive response from our guests. I will share your comments with all our team members, as a way to maintain our services for all our guests. We hope we could have the pleasure of serving you again soon and thank you once again for reviewing Pullman Kuching. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Penang, Malaysia

Worth the money for the stay!

Posted 09-Dec-2014
Pros: The room and bathroom size. Good food for the breakfast!
Cons: The parking ticket guy is always not in.Sometimes though we have stamped the ticket but still required to pay as he is not there.
Location: Visited the mainbazaar, Chinese Museum and temples around. One good place for eating is 'TopSpot' - look for restaurant no25! Good food and cheap!
The children love the ambience and its tv channels. Clean and strategic location..
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear Mimi, Thank you for your review for Pullman Kuching and we are delighted to hear that you find our services and facilities to your liking. I will share you comments with all our personnels and management team, so that we would be able to strive harder in maintaining our level of service for our valued guests. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope we to welcome you back again soon. May you have an enjoyable holiday. Kind regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Penang, Malaysia

Nice hotel at city center

Posted 05-Dec-2014
Friendly & helpful staff, fast check in and out. Good & tasty foods/breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
13-Dec-2014 by Pullman Kuching, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you so much for your kind review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share you feedback and comments with all our team members as a way to maintain our level of service. We hope we could have the chance to serve you again in the near future and we look forward to your arrival to Pullman Kuching. May you have a wonderful week ahead. Best regards, Borhan Bin Salleh Guest Experience Manager