Ratings based on 479 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom London

Spacious rooms

Posted 11-Dec-2014
Pros: Nice breakfast and big room
Location: 2 big shopping centres are nearby
Stayed in the King Hilton Guest room, the room was very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We booked breakfast with our room and the choice is very good for both hot and cold options. Location wise its off the motorway and easy to get to by cab from Dartford station. If you like shopping then both Bluewater and Thurrock Lakeside shopping centres are nearby. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Dec-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom norwich, norfolk

close to shopping area

Posted 09-Dec-2014
Cons: restaurant need a proper improvement.
food service is quite terrible. restaurant not opened for the other hotel guest because there is a special function going on last weekend. we ordered in service dining and waited for our order to come for almost 3 hrs. waiting. i was so mad and in the end we received our food but wrong order of food. i will never do in dining service in hilton.poor communication between staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Dec-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am disappointed to read that we did not completely satisfy you on your recent stay. We are sorry that the food was not to your standard and took a unusual length of time to arrive. Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom melbourne

Busy "commercial" hotel

Posted 15-Nov-2014
Pros: Clean comfortable am Nd spacious roo
Cons: Food in the restaurant. It was really not very good at all.
Location: Just passing through.
No assistance at the door with luggage, staff had wrong address and therefore could not link to my Hilton Honors and seemed a little disinterested in trying.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am disappointed to read that we did not completely satisfy you on your recent stay. We are sorry that you felt that the staff did not help fully when trying to link your HH account with your booking. I will be sure to address this with the front office team to ensure that it will not happen in the future. We hope to welcome you again soon, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travellerfrom Yorkshire

Great value hotel close to London

Posted 11-Nov-2014
Pros: Excellent value, especially double double rooms
We have stayed in this hotel a few times with our teenage children, either to visit a relative in SE London or as a base for London marathon. A double double room sleeps four in comfort as the rooms are very large. The rate is always very good value. However, this time the communal areas seemed to be looking a little tired and were not as clean as previously
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am pleased that the location met your needs whist visiting the area. We appreciate that you return year after year and we look forward to you coming back again next year. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to your future stay, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

One night stay family of five.

Posted 05-Nov-2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast and mattress.
Location: Shopping
We had one night away as a family break, two rooms one double and one triple room. Not a bad break but for the money would had wanted a better night as it was room only!. The double room we stayed in had a terrible mattress ever time you moved you could hear the springs which kept us awake most of the night, then at 10.30 the fire alarm went of for an alarm test-I know this needs to be done but there was no prior notice on booking in or on the fire plan, good bye relaxing morning. As for the triple room there was no bedding for the sofa bed, this had to be requested at reception but was dealt with very quickly. The Hilton wanted to charge £16.00 for breakfast on booking online or phone. Yet on arrival this was reduced to £10.00 !! special offer we were told,shame really if the cost was more reasonable maybe but when you read the reviews breakfast doesn't really come top of the bill. So we decided to go else where, still spent similar money but far better-Come Hilton your missing a trick. Anyway would we stay again? Don't think so for now, but with some deals and better breakfast then maybe.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am sorry for your disappointment with the hotel. Unfortunately when an alarm is activated at this time of the evening it is not a test, it could be anything from a real situation or a guest tampering with the detectors in the room.. We would always wish to ensure every guest happiness and we are sorry that we have not done this on your visit. Thank you once again, Yours sincerely, Mahmut Aslan, Deputy Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
3 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom spalding

Bed was rock hard

Posted 03-Nov-2014
After traveling 150 miles to get here it Was a nice night at the hotel just a shame the bed was rock hard! Stayed at a cheaper hotel the following night and was much comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am disappointed to read that we did not completely satisfy you on your recent stay. We are sorry that you felt that the bed did not meet your expectations. As a hotel we are unable to provide beds that appeal to all guests as we would wish to. Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom m

Dreadful

Posted 03-Nov-2014
Baby cot had a massive hole that our baby could crawl out of. Expedia hadn't advised the hotel that I had already paid so they wanted to take payment twice. The air conditioning wouldn't work in our room and it was an unusually warm day in October. Our room was roasting and made worse with the fact that you can't open the windows. I advised reception about the hole in the cot and our air conditioning. A different baby cot was brought to our room with a slightly smaller hole in it and no one bothered to come to fix our air conditioning. (Even though the guy in reception said that he would) I felt very sorry for the staff. Too much work and not enough of them. Don't waste your money on staying here.
Comment from Hotel Management
07-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am very disappointed with your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are very sorry that you feel this way about the hotel. We hope that you will be visiting the hotel again soon, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Bordeaux

Nice hotel, shame about the Wifi

Posted 31-Oct-2014
A good hotel in a good location. A good sized room for four, handy sized swimming pool and wide choice of options for breakfast. Initial issue with being charged extra for our free breakfasts was only resolved by showing copies of booking e-mail. The hotel chain really needs to consider its frankly ridiculous charge of £14.99 per day for Wifi!
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs. I am delighted that all problems have been resolved and this did not make any problems fo rthe rest of your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Hilton, Dartford

Posted 26-Oct-2014
Pros: The roon we was given
We stayed for one night, will be staying again. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom bouzy la foret france

Hotel with easy acess

Posted 24-Oct-2014
Cons: staff who speak French
Location: Bluewater center excellant
Good family room for 2 adults and 2 children; pity you can't regulate the heating
Comment from Hotel Management
04-Nov-2014 by Mahmut Aslan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your recent visit here at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am delighted to read that you had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton Dartford Bridge. I am pleased that the hotel met your needs. I am sorry that the air cooling system did not meet your requirements, however the hotel does not state that it offers air-conditioning in the room areas. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Yours sincerely, Mahmut A, Deputy Hotel Manager at Hilton Dartford Bridge