Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Love location

Posted 29-Jan-2015
We have booked this room for the second year. We love the location it's at because it's close to the entertainment that we go to. The staff is wonderful, friendly and polite. The only thing that we were not happy with is all the hammering, drilling loud noise they started at 6:30 on Saturday morning. I was not happy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travellerfrom Fort Worth TX

Lovely suite vs Construction

Posted 23-Jan-2015
Pros: Upon complaint at checkout following a.m., front desk DID offer valet cost refund & possible remuneration via her contact with Expedia (no word yet).
Cons: Staff rating would have been 4+, had front desk mentioned construction issues and at least offered us some alternative choice(s).
Location: Specific reason for travel & limited timeframe didn't allow opportunity to sight see. The location served our needs very well.
Lovely suite; perfect for families with differing needs. Arrived late so missed evening nosh, but breakfast satisfied all our varying appetites -- proteins, oatmeal/dry cereals, yogurts, sweets/breads/waffles/bagels (ok they weren't NY bagels), dee-licious OJ (and other juices) and more. Attendant & pleasant staff in the dining area; efficient & helpful valet parking guys; friendly housekeeping. Had our stay been on the opposite side of the building, we would have had a 4.5 star review. Unfortunately, booking online didn't warn us of MAJOR construction happening directly across the street (completely gutted bldg). But, more importantly, front desk check-in made ZERO mention our particular room was not only on the side of the building facing construction, but that our particular suite was on the 8th floor, DIRECTLY across from the construction occurring primarily ON the 7th-8th floors. Yes, blackout curtains shielded us from GLARING work lighting but did nothing to muffle N O I S E ... all night long!! Crash, bang, boom, beep, beep beep backing up. Not a happy camper. While I realize construction "happens" and while ongoing, surrounding landscape suffers. Supposedly a pet friendly accommodation, the only patch of ground for our 4 small dogs was covered with construction debris and could only be accessed by climbing over a 2 foot wall. Walk them on the street, you might suggest? Um, no, the homeless out-numbered our 2 & 4 footed party of 9.
Comment from Hotel Management
26-Jan-2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing about your recent stay at our property. I am sorry to hear your peaceful stay was cut short by the construction in the area as our goal is to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Although your night of rest was not as peaceful as we had hoped, I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast. Additionally, we have refunded your valet parking charges and contacted Expedia. A hotel representative should be in contact with you soon! We apologize for the delay and appreciate your patience. We hope you had a safe trip home and look forward to hosting you again soon should your travel bring you back to Houston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 11-Nov-2014
Location: The rail system was only steps away from the hotel. Visited Hermann park had a great time
GREAT LOCATION !!! The staff was friendly and helpful. The suite was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was good and plentiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Nov-2014 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our downtown location as well as our spacious suites and complimentary breakfast. I will be sure to share your comments with our team as well! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Houston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by Chelseafrom Houston

Stayed here for a girl's night out!

Posted 24-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
This place was great! It's in walking distance from the downtown outdoor mall. Nice rooms, very clean, comes with complimentary hot breakfast. A great place for groups of 5 or more to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property and your visit to the downtown area. Our complimentary breakfast is just one of our many amenities offered. We hope to see you again on your next girl’s night out downtown!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Anyufrom Shreveport, La

It was okay

Posted 14-Oct-2014 on Hotels.com
I book this hotel cause it was within walking distance to the Toyota Center. The corner next to the hotel's valet parking (only parking available for the hotel) was homeless central no matter what time of day. Our first night there there was incredibly loud banging coming from somewhere (construction?) that woke me up several times. I did like that the hotel was close to the Toyota center and other things to do. I would probably stay there again if the room rate went on sale again.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share about your recent experience at our property! We are located within walking distance to many downtown venues including the George R Brown Convention Center and the Toyota Center. As the 4th largest city in the U.S., Houston, like many other large cities, has a vagabond population that some may find unsettling. The City of Houston is working to improve this situation and create a better atmosphere for the people visiting the area as well as those who call the area home. Part of this effort includes a special task force that maintains a presence in the downtown area as well as providing assistance to those living in less fortunate situations. Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Houston!
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share about your recent experience at our property! We are located within walking distance to many downtown venues including the George R Brown Convention Center and the Toyota Center. As the 4th largest city in the U.S., Houston, like many other large cities, has a vagabond population that some may find unsettling. The City of Houston is working to improve this situation and create a better atmosphere for the people visiting the area as well as those who call the area home. Part of this effort includes a special task force that maintains a presence in the downtown area as well as providing assistance to those living in less fortunate situations. Once again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Houston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 21-Sep-2014
They upgraded me to a suite for no reason. Loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Oct-2014 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our property! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your upgraded suite during your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Houston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveller

Better than expected

Posted 04-Sep-2014 on Hotels.com
The Residence Inn located in downtown Houston was better than expected! The hotel staff was always friendly and very helpful with tips about getting around the city. The room was spacious (we had a suite) and the kitchen had plenty of utensils and cookware. Every morning there was a great breakfast (more than just a continental style) with plenty of options. The hotel is next to the train, which makes for easy travel to the museum district! The only downfall is the surrounding neighborhood (but it is what you would expect from any hotel downtown).
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing about your stay at our property! I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found your suite accommodating to meet you and your family’s needs. We do have a full hot breakfast offered seven days a week! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Houston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Houston

Nice place to relax

Posted 02-Sep-2014
Loved everything from the staff to the room...Will be coming back for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
22-Oct-2014 by Julie, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback about your experience at our property! Our team will be thrilled to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Houston!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Donaldfrom Lufkin, TX

Nice hotel, but don't do weekends in Downtown Hous

Posted 18-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
Overall the hotel was very nice, very friendly staff. The room was immaculate, with modern furniture. Really loved the layout, had a roomy, spacious feel. My biggest compliant is not with the hotel, but with downtown Houston. Absolutely boring, most of the shops and restaurants closed or closing early. There was really nothing to do downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
03-Jan-2015 by Julie, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing about your stay with us! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your spacious suite as well as our friendly team. They will be happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as well! Although many businesses do close early and on the weekends, there are some restaurants and attractions within walking distance of the hotel that remain open on the weekends and in the evening. We hope to see you again when you visit Houston!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveller

Posted 05-Aug-2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Oct-2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for review our hotel! We truly appreicate you styaing with us and look forward to your next visit! Ryan Frederick General Manager