Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Washington

Posted 23-Mar-2015
It was a good hotel for the price. Nice staff and good food for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
25-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travellerfrom Osoyoos

Easy access from Highway and met expectations

Posted 22-Mar-2015
Pros: Easy access from and to the highway. Good options for breakfast - clean.
Cons: Rooms could be updated - carpet was pulled up by the door (likely from a dog who had previously stayed in the room).
Location: Close to the highway. Spent the night relaxing and off to Ocean Shores the next day.
Easy to get to from the highway; reception staff good and advised us about the continental breakfast. The breakfast had a number of options which was great. A number of trucks were parked in the adjacent lot, but there was no noise, and everything was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
24-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location & staff. We have enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you will return again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Washington

Didn't feel safe at all

Posted 11-Mar-2015
Pros: The rooms were clean (except for some stains on the comforter)
Cons: Definitely don't check two women on the backside of the hotel in the dark.
We checked in at 10pm, just my daughter and I and the front desk clerk gave us a room on the back side of the motel and it was dark and a bit unnerving. We got into our dark room and it was so noisy we could hear conversations in the other rooms. There were men coming and going all night, knocking on doors, being loud and at 3am we called the front desk because someone was sitting in their car right outside our door with their music absolutely booming. This hotel did not feel safe at all - especially on the back side. I know it was inexpensive, and I didn't expect high class, but I didn't expect to feel so unsafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear about the disturbances you experienced during your stay. Our guests safety is extremely important to us and we appreciate you informing the front desk of the situation. We have recently installed all new lighting throughout the entire property, and we do have 24 hour video surveillance. We also welcome any other suggestions you may have. Thank you again for writing, and have a wonderful day!
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom Olympic Penninsula

Not the quality I expected.

Posted 03-Mar-2015
Let's start off with the good stuff: the staff members were wonderful and accommodating. The breakfast was fine. They needed many more tables since several people had to eat their breakfast standing up. The rooms are another matter. The mattresses are terrible: saggy and stale smelling. The center of the room was clean, but the mirrors had splatters I assume were from soap or toothpaste. The rubber bathtub pad had mold. The metal recess for toilet paper was filthy. It was not a pleasant room in which to spend the night. I will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Cindy M-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please allow me to apologize for the housekeeping staffs failure to uphold our usual quality. I can assure you that this room standard is not typical, and certainly not acceptable.The housekeeper and housekeeping manager have already been counseled on the state of this room condition to ensure that we do not make these mistakes again. On a lighter note, we do have some new mattresses on order, and I am pleased to hear that the staff was friendly to you!. Thank you again for your time, and for bringing these very serious matters to my attention. We hope you will reconsider returning. Thanks again, and have a wonderful day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice Hotel - Adequate Accomodations

Posted 02-Mar-2015
Location: Perfect for going to the state fairgrounds in Puyallup, a 15 minute drive with little traffic. However, Fife has NOTHING.
Hard to know what to say about this hotel. It was clean, it was quiet, and the food in the breakfast was good. It's just that the room is a 3 star room, not a 5 star room.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Please let us know what you would like to see improved in our rooms, we appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveller

"Okay," But Not Worth the Price

Posted 02-Mar-2015
Pros: Their free breakfast was great; wish the eggs were a bit warmer, but otherwise good.
Cons: I didn't like feeling like I was rushed to get out the door. Please don't tell people that there's someone waiting to get the room after you!
I picked this place because of the location near the bus stop I was getting off at. I had a non-smoking room, but people seemed to be smoking in front of my door all the time. One of my table lamps did not work, but it wasn't needed. The bed was okay, kinda rickety, though. The sheets had been cleaned but I could still see stains, and there was a burned hole in the top blanket. Their internet connection is terrible and spotty at best. I had picked this place for the free internet, but it would've been nice if it actually worked. I also felt rushed to get out of my room because there was a guy waiting for it since 7am that morning. I had been photographing a concert the night before and there was no way I was going to be getting up early (I had found out about the waiting guy at their free breakfast, which is a good selection). Check-in is supposed to be 2pm, but while it's good to check in early, that should only be if the room is ready! I did not appreciate the guy lurking outside my door every time I stepped out that morning. They had him waiting in a room next to mine until I left, and I could've sworn I heard impatient knocks on the wall from that guy. I've paid much less for other rooms in the past and they were of better quality and cleanliness.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn & Suites, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Quality Inn & Suites. On befhalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We will look into the room issues that you have mentioned, and counsel the staff to ensure better performance in the future. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy the breakfast. Thanks again, and we hope that you will reconsider returning so that we can have another chance to provide you with a clean, comfortable room, and exceptional customer service. Have a wonderful day!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Canada, BC

Craft show Puyallup

Posted 01-Mar-2015
Pros: Nice parking behind the building. Well lit. Easy access to the rooms.
Location: This time my wife visited the crafts how in Puyallup. Casino across the road, I did not visit the place however.
We enjoyed 2 nights in your hotel. Breakfast is absolutely fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the breakfast. Please stay with us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travellerfrom Olympia, Washington

Great place

Posted 16-Feb-2015
It has been a very very long time since I have really enjoyed the stay at a hotel, let alone a extremely clean and relaxing room. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you will return again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Posted 10-Feb-2015
Cons: The bed was a little too loud.
Location: Very convenient casino right across the street.
For less than $65 dollars a night, the stay was well worth the money. The room was clean (it was a smoking room so I was even more impressed). Everything was well kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the room condition. Thank you for stayimg with us, and please visit again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified travellerfrom London

Easy access and reasonable

Posted 28-Jan-2015
Pros: It was ok since I was there to just catch my sleep. Location was ok. Easy access from a freeway. Reasonable.
Cons: Cleaning rooms is absolutely necessity for running a hotel.
Location: Emerald Queen casino is just across the street.
When I arrived at the hotel, the parking lot was occupied by many trucks and commercial vehicles. I am a solo/female traveler, and felt a little umcomfortable in this surroundings. Some female staff at a desk made me feel a little less uncomfortable, though. I stayed for 2 nights there, but my room was not cleaned around 3:30pm when I returned. No sign.
Comment from Hotel Management
12-Mar-2015 by Quality Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that your room had not been cleaned in a timely manner. We will be notifying our housekeeping staff of this incident so that we can improve our performance in the future. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you visit again someday!