Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from salina ks

Terrible place

Posted 21-Jul-2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I booked 2 separate nights here through expedia. The first night I kept the reservation. They told me they didn't have the second reservation so I checked out and left. The rooms were small, dirty and uncomfortable. Asked for an extra pillow and they didn't have one. No shampoo, soap or towels. Elevator didn't work. Free wifi didn't work. Non smoking room reeked of smoke! Would not recommend this place to anyone!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Expectations

Posted 15-Jul-2014
For it to be a non-smoking room all of my clothes smelled like smoke. I had to wash my clean clothes when I got home. Needs to have better repairs done to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the odor in your room. In response to your feedback, I have placed a work order to make sure all the exhaust vents are working properly and that air is circulating well in our hotel to prevent your experience from being repeated. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from phoenix, az

Not the Best experience

Posted 06-Jul-2014
The price for the hotel was cheap, but its obvious a lot of people are living there. Sadly, many are druggies. The walls are so thin you can hear the baby above you crying. One night I heard an awful fight take place in the room above me. Another night there were gun shots fired near by. Not in the best part of town. also my room was non smoking but there were cigarette burns on the bed spread. my toilet backed up, and the maintenance lady was in quickly to take care of it. The staff was very helpful and friendly in the week I was there. If you need a cheap place to stay, it will work, has a small kitchenette, but, if you want quiet, you won't find it there.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Berta - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us; however, we are glad that our staff provided you with quality service. We will be working with our housekeeping staff to make sure that all of our bedding is meeting our standards. We will also be reviewing your comments with our entire staff to ensure we are properly addressing noise issues in our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We do hope that you will return to our hotel in the future and notice a significant improvement in your experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Denver, CO

Avoid at all costs!

Posted 01-Jul-2014
Pros: The young man at the front desk was very polite. Poor guy - he didn't have much to work with!
Cons: Most everything.
Location: Not a bad location. Near airport.
This is an extended stay hotel. The kitchen cabinets were completely empty. If you want dishes/eating utensils/cookware - you have to go to the desk to get them. There was no dishsoap, Kleenex, etc. I was told there is no coffee, no ice and when I asked for an extra washcloth - there were none. The carpet is stained, the curtain had a hole in it which was 'fixed' with clear masking tape. The bathroom sink was pulling away from the wall. Sheets were so thin you could see through them. They had good shampoo and conditioner - but you couldn't open the packets without scissors! This place shouldn't even be rated .5 (instead of 2 stars).
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sandy - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are very sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience with us. Let me apologize that you were not informed that dishes were available upon request and that we could deliver to your room. In response to your feedback, we will be working with our front desk staff to make sure they are properly informing our guests of our available amenities during check-in. We are also disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations. We will review your feedback to make strides towards improving our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We do hope that you will return to our hotel and notice a significant difference in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller from Denver

Good facilities long-term, great view of mountains

Posted 01-Jul-2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi
Location: Already did
Staff was very friendly, nice location, good restaurant facilities nearby. However, one reason I stayed there was for free wifi, and when it wouldn't work, I was told it was 'down' and they didn't know when it would be working again. It never did work the whole time I was there, which I was quite unhappy about.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from H

Pretty decent all in all

Posted 30-Jun-2014
3rd floor facing E. Was quiet. Room had been previous smoking- burn holes in bedspread and carpet. Bed very comfortable. Decent neighbors 4 7 nights. Staff very friendly and accommodating. If u need kitchen stuff they will furnish. A bit noisy in early AM ( Harleys @ 5 am ) Oh well- It could have been Much worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
09-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Kevin - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We appreciate the nice comments about the staff and sincerely apologize for the issues in your room. We are working to remove and replace items in that condition. We are glad that we were able to provide you with a quiet, comfortable stay. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will return to our hotel and notice a significant difference in the future.
1 out of 5
by Melissa from Layton

Dirty

Posted 24-Jun-2014
Believe towels were dirty and not sure about sheets. Would have eaten the fee and gone somewhere else but everyplace was full. Used blankets out of our car. Was supposed to be a non-smoking room but was permeated with stale smoke. Would not have stayed there if we had known they allowed pets. Filthy carpet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Terrible

Posted 06-Jun-2014
We waited at the front desk for about 10 minutes with no service waiting to check in. Also our room had a terrible odor and was not clean. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Rose from Ireland

Cheap, short notice accommodation

Posted 05-Jun-2014
The whole experience was just about okay. I arrive late but had no problems contacting staff to check me in which was great but the room itself was disappointing. It was clean but smelled of stale smoke and the bed was tiny. Two people would have had a very tough time sleeping in it comfortably. At a pinch it was decent enough but wouldn't stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

No good and broken

Posted 02-Jun-2014
The facet in the bathroom didn't work. Manager came knocking on the door in the morning in a panic cause our shower was leaking through the roof. Just not worth the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
06-Jun-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I apologize for the issues you encountered with your bathroom during your visit with us. I have met with our maintenance staff to ensure this issue does not occur in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.