Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from los angeles

Bad place to stay

Posted 05-Sep-2014
Worst place to stay...everything is delapedatet ....cabinet doors falling off...no Wi-Fi .....notified them 3 times ....nobody fixed it.....just would never stay there .....
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you experienced with your cabinets and our Wi-Fi. Please know that I will be meeting with my maintenance staff to share your concerns so that we can work to resolve these issues. As well, I am so sorry that my team was not responsive to your maintenance requests. I will be meeting with my entire staff to review customer service standards and the protocol for handling requests to ensure that this does not happen again. I really appreciate you bringing this to my attention. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from oklahoma city

I stayed here 2 nights while in town visiting.

Posted 04-Sep-2014
Check in:easy! Hotel was clean, room was clean. In my opinion, very well kept older facility. Very convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Darryl - Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your clean room and our convenient location. We are also pleased to hear that you experienced an efficient check-in. Thank you again for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from M

Dirty Hotel

Posted 02-Sep-2014
My room smelled like smoke, there was small chunks of glass on the floor, the door lock was broken, the curtains let an abundant amount of light in and they did not swap out clean towels or show any kind of room service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Denver CO

OK for a 1 night stay

Posted 02-Sep-2014
Pros: The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood and the room was very quiet and was able to get a good rest.
Cons: I don't know how you can change so that people would not smoke in the rooms.
Location: I came to Colorado Springs for the Baloon Classic and found that the hotel was 5 minutes from Memorial Park very convienent location.
Overall the hotel was clean, the staff were very pleasant and helpful when asked questions. The only thing that I expericenced was, I booked a non smoking room and the room reaked with smoke. I turned the air conditioner on and you can smell the stail smoke come out. Other than that I did not have a bad experience with my stay. It is understandable that altough the hotel has rules, they are not always followed.
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Patricia - Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced a smoke odor in your room; however, we are glad that you found our hotel to be clean and enjoyed our helpful staff. We will review our odor control procedures with our housekeeping staff to ensure our rooms smell fresh. We will also continue enforcing our no-smoking policy. Thank you again for your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from New Jersey

Mediocre hotel

Posted 02-Sep-2014
Pros: Location near the airport was convenient.
Cons: The rooms should be fumigated and completely renovated.
I was looking for a clean, budget hotel near the airport. My room was abysmal. First of all, I requested a non-smoking room. When I entered the room, the stench of entrenched cigarette smell was horrific. I immediately reported it to the hotel manager, and all I got was that it was, in fact, a non-smoking room. The refrigerator didn't work, the WiFi signal was too weak to access, the furniture was old and beat up, and there was a dead bug under my freshly made bed sheets. To add insult to injury, rooms are only cleaned once a week as this is an extended stay facility. Even though I eventually switched to another room, conditions weren't much better. No, I will never stay here again...
Comment from Hotel Management
20-Sep-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Al - Thank you for your recent review. The situation you described regarding the condition of your room and the level of service you received is truly regrettable. Please accept our apologies. We will work with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to address the issues in your room. We will also review your comments with our staff to make sure we are always providing our guests with quality service. Thank you again for your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from salina ks

Terrible place

Posted 21-Jul-2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I booked 2 separate nights here through expedia. The first night I kept the reservation. They told me they didn't have the second reservation so I checked out and left. The rooms were small, dirty and uncomfortable. Asked for an extra pillow and they didn't have one. No shampoo, soap or towels. Elevator didn't work. Free wifi didn't work. Non smoking room reeked of smoke! Would not recommend this place to anyone!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Expectations

Posted 15-Jul-2014
For it to be a non-smoking room all of my clothes smelled like smoke. I had to wash my clean clothes when I got home. Needs to have better repairs done to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
19-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I sincerely apologize for the odor in your room. In response to your feedback, I have placed a work order to make sure all the exhaust vents are working properly and that air is circulating well in our hotel to prevent your experience from being repeated. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller from phoenix, az

Not the Best experience

Posted 06-Jul-2014
The price for the hotel was cheap, but its obvious a lot of people are living there. Sadly, many are druggies. The walls are so thin you can hear the baby above you crying. One night I heard an awful fight take place in the room above me. Another night there were gun shots fired near by. Not in the best part of town. also my room was non smoking but there were cigarette burns on the bed spread. my toilet backed up, and the maintenance lady was in quickly to take care of it. The staff was very helpful and friendly in the week I was there. If you need a cheap place to stay, it will work, has a small kitchenette, but, if you want quiet, you won't find it there.
Comment from Hotel Management
15-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Berta - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us; however, we are glad that our staff provided you with quality service. We will be working with our housekeeping staff to make sure that all of our bedding is meeting our standards. We will also be reviewing your comments with our entire staff to ensure we are properly addressing noise issues in our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We do hope that you will return to our hotel in the future and notice a significant improvement in your experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller from Denver, CO

Avoid at all costs!

Posted 01-Jul-2014
Pros: The young man at the front desk was very polite. Poor guy - he didn't have much to work with!
Cons: Most everything.
Location: Not a bad location. Near airport.
This is an extended stay hotel. The kitchen cabinets were completely empty. If you want dishes/eating utensils/cookware - you have to go to the desk to get them. There was no dishsoap, Kleenex, etc. I was told there is no coffee, no ice and when I asked for an extra washcloth - there were none. The carpet is stained, the curtain had a hole in it which was 'fixed' with clear masking tape. The bathroom sink was pulling away from the wall. Sheets were so thin you could see through them. They had good shampoo and conditioner - but you couldn't open the packets without scissors! This place shouldn't even be rated .5 (instead of 2 stars).
Comment from Hotel Management
11-Jul-2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sandy - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are very sorry to read that you had an unpleasant experience with us. Let me apologize that you were not informed that dishes were available upon request and that we could deliver to your room. In response to your feedback, we will be working with our front desk staff to make sure they are properly informing our guests of our available amenities during check-in. We are also disappointed that your room did not meet your expectations. We will review your feedback to make strides towards improving our hotel. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We do hope that you will return to our hotel and notice a significant difference in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travellers
by A verified traveller from Denver

Good facilities long-term, great view of mountains

Posted 01-Jul-2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi
Location: Already did
Staff was very friendly, nice location, good restaurant facilities nearby. However, one reason I stayed there was for free wifi, and when it wouldn't work, I was told it was 'down' and they didn't know when it would be working again. It never did work the whole time I was there, which I was quite unhappy about.