Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller

Nice for the money.

Posted 24-Jun-2015
Pros: Comfortable, no interruptions, quiet, pleasant staff.
Cons: Parking lot could have been cleaner, looks like it is not a priority.
Nice overall. Very quiet. Staff was accommodating to meet our requests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

If the price is low, it's because there's no perks

Posted 10-Jun-2015
Pros: I had a room with a lock, where I could sleep at night.
Cons: Earlier check-in time. A bathroom trash can. Front desk should provide details abt breakfast, check-out time, and room at time of check-in.
Location: Have to drive some while to get to the traditional tourist-y things.
Water doesn't drain well in tub No trash can in the bathroom No hairdryer, microwave, or coffee machine No continental breakfast (although they have coffee in the lobby at all times, which is nice) I didn't get an invoice, because I booked through Expedia. Overall, the building seems a little out of shape, but not a bad place to rest your head. The location seemed good; safe. The check-in time was 4pm!!! And checkout is at 11am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Disappointed

Posted 29-May-2015
While rooms are clean - everything else about this place - location, facilities, noisiness, room temp - were abysmal
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Posted 25-May-2015
Pool close , water park was close that why we when to this hotel ! Restaurant close ,
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Our apologies, to make sure all of our guests have a good experience, we are required to maintain the Waterpark to standards set by the state. Unfortunately we had a mechanical malfunction which did cause us to close the waterpark as swimming conditions were not safe. We had attempted to contact all guests arriving that weekend to let them know that we had experienced a problem, and unfortunately might have missed you. Again our apologies and we hope you will allow us another opportunity.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Closest we could find at a reasonable rate.

Posted 18-May-2015
Pros: I didn't except for one woman who was stocking the breakfast buffet as we turned and left. She was very friendly and honest about the selections.
Cons: Not enough characters to mention the list of required improvements.
Location: Not applicable we were moving on.
Price was no excuse, I will pay a lot more to avoid this type of situation in the future. Check in was agonizingly slow and I was the only one checking in. Hotel in dire need of overhaul. Room not clean and had a bad odor - locker room bad. Amenities, what they had were sorely lacking. Don't even think of the complimentary continental breakfast, nothing there and cheap Kroger paper plates to use. People sampling the cream cheese from the knife, ahhhh gross. Again, I guess I got what I paid for. Be warned, lots of folks just hanging out in the lobby and hallways - very sketchy.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Our front desk staff is currently being trained on how to quickly expedite check-ins to avoid any delays when checking-in, and how to appropriately select rooms that are identified as "inspected" by housekeeping. Red Lion Hotels maintain a standard that a Continental Breakfast should be available daily to all guests, and these items do change according to availability. We apologize if you weren't able to find a specific breakfast item you were looking for. The guests tasting the cream cheese with their knives is not up to our standards. We would have been happy to change out the utensils and cream cheese upon notification of the problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveller from Evansville, IN

New Years Eve package with coco keys

Posted 02-Feb-2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful. The breakfast that went with the room was good.
Cons: Have better food for New Years Eve.
Location: There were stores and a mall near by.
Staff was very friendly helpful. We got the New Years Eve package with Coco Keys. The buffet provided for New Years Eve was terrible. The menu was not the same as advertised. The kids loved Coco Keys. The game room and all of the entertainment was good. My advise if you want good food on New Years Ever, order in or go out.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the CoCo Key Water Park. After reviewing information on the New Years Eve Buffet, it appears that someone had inadvertently posted the prior years menu without notifying the Water Park staff, the chef, or the kitchen. Our apologies that some of these menu items were not to you expectations. However, the staff did prepare Salmon, Shrimp and other items, which we hoped would exceed the expectations of the incorrectly advertised buffet menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by CHANELLE

Posted 19-Nov-2014 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We hope your stay was enjoyable, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ataul from Dayton

great hotel, great rate

Posted 19-Nov-2014 on Hotels
it was a very nice place, I'll certainly be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review, we look forward to a return visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by joshua from poplargrove illinois

good hotel

Posted 31-Oct-2014 on Hotels
I was a little sceptical about the hotel because all the reviews were bad ones. The staff went out of there way to join the two rooms together. The rooms looked nice and clean. Overall the staff and hotel was nice and clean. Only complaint I have is the eggs for the breakfast bar. The tasted very creamy. Almost like a paste.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We enjoy hearing good experiences that guests have had, and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Each chafer of the scrambled eggs served on the breakfast bar is prepared individually, and sometimes mixtures can vary slightly. Many guests love them, while other guests can have different tastes. Our restaurant does offer a breakfast menu with other options should you return and want to try something different.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveller

Nice Hotel....for a sauna

Posted 27-Oct-2014
The staff was really nice. Location was great too. The room looked nice. From the website you see this amazing looking four star hotel with a bar downstairs and indoor water park for an AMAZING price! This has to be too good to be true. Well it was. The room did look nice, however, IT WAS SOOO HOT! It is the end of October and the room was 79 degrees!!!!!! We put on the air when we first got there and came back about 5 hours later and it was 77degrees! I didn't get any cooler than that all night. At 3:30am i couldn't sleep because it was so hot that i went downstairs to ask if there was anything i could do to help cool the room down and the front desk told me that the air conditioners in the rooms are old and needed to be replaced. They said they couldn't do anything to help me. I then went to take a COLD shower because of the heat and i realized that the knob to turn the water on was broken and just placed on their to look like it worked. So i had to take the knob off and twist the water on myself. Lets just say, their nice room looks nice, but really needs some repairs. Also, the bar wasn't open at 11pm on a Saturday night, but was open at 2pm earlier that day. If i'm going to drink i would prefer to do it at 11pm instead of during the afternoon.....thank you very much..... i was not satisfied with the price i paid for the quality of the room and experience that i received.
Comment from Hotel Management
28-May-2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We have hired executive housekeepers to inspect all rooms prior to guests arrivals, who will ensure the room is up to our guests expectations and the Red Lion standards, and to adjust the climate control accordingly. Should they discover anything not working properly, the room will be put out of service until the issue can be addressed. On weekends, the bar is typically open from lunchtime through 2:00 am. Unfortunately they can close early if there is not enough business to justify the cost of the labor to stay open. This weekend may have experience low occupancy forcing the bar to close early.